Ballard Power Systems Inc. key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Ballard Power Systems Inc. had return on equity of -14.4%, an operating margin of -104.1%, debt equal to 0.0% of equity and a current ratio of 9.86. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2016Dec 2016 | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 28.4% | 34.3% | 30.7% | 21.1% | 20.2% | 13.4% | −16.3% | −21.3% | −31.5% | 5.5% |
| Operating margin | −21.2% | −4.0% | −21.5% | −24.1% | −38.3% | −84.3% | −177.5% | −159.1% | −262.9% | −104.1% |
| Net margin | −24.8% | −6.6% | −28.3% | −36.9% | −49.5% | −109.3% | −211.9% | −173.6% | −465.0% | −91.5% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | −7.8% | −10.6% | −43.0% | −26.6% | −53.5% | −89.6% | −202.9% | −142.4% | −192.1% | −66.4% |
| Return on equity | −16.9% | −6.6% | −13.6% | −14.7% | −8.9% | −10.3% | −14.0% | −16.5% | −39.0% | −14.4% |
| Return on assets | −11.5% | −4.5% | −10.4% | −11.4% | −7.8% | −9.5% | −12.9% | −15.3% | −35.0% | −12.5% |
| Asset turnover | 0.46 | 0.67 | 0.37 | 0.31 | 0.16 | 0.09 | 0.06 | 0.09 | 0.08 | 0.14 |
| Current ratio | 2.50 | 2.61 | 5.48 | 3.56 | 16.40 | 14.78 | 14.06 | 12.25 | 9.25 | 9.86 |
| Debt to equity | 0.4% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| R&D as % of revenue | 23.3% | 20.6% | 28.0% | 23.9% | 34.2% | 59.5% | 109.6% | 96.0% | 135.5% | 59.1% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 3.3% | 2.5% | 10.2% | 13.2% | 12.1% | 12.6% | 41.5% | 40.3% | 37.1% | 9.9% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $601m of assets due within a year against $61m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $601m short-term assets against $31m of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Interest not separately reported. Not assessable.
Moat
Not assessed: fewer than five years of comparable figures in the filings. AI disruption exposure for this industry: Low.
Compare with peers
- Blink Charging Co. statistics
- FTC Solar, Inc. statistics
- Skyx Platforms Corp. statistics
- Orion Energy Systems, Inc. statistics
- Amprius Technologies, Inc. statistics
Head to head: BLDP vs BLNKBLDP vs FTCIBLDP vs SKYXBLDP vs OESX
More: Electrical Components & Equipment stocks compared, Industrials sector, rankings of US companies