Anheuser-busch Inbev SA key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Anheuser-busch Inbev SA had return on equity of 8.3%, an operating margin of 26.0%, debt equal to 83.6% of equity and a current ratio of 0.72. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2015Dec 2015 | 2016Dec 2016 | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 61.5% | 60.9% | 61.8% | 62.4% | 61.1% | 58.1% | 57.5% | 54.5% | 53.9% | 55.3% | 55.9% |
| Operating margin | 32.3% | 28.3% | 30.0% | 30.9% | 30.8% | 20.5% | 25.5% | 25.1% | 23.5% | 25.9% | 26.0% |
| Net margin | 19.2% | 2.7% | 14.6% | 8.2% | 17.5% | 3.0% | 8.6% | 10.3% | 9.0% | 9.8% | 11.5% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 21.8% | 11.3% | 18.7% | 19.0% | 16.9% | 15.2% | 16.9% | 14.1% | 14.5% | 18.7% | 18.9% |
| Return on equity | 18.1% | 2.1% | 11.1% | 6.4% | 13.1% | 2.0% | 6.8% | 8.4% | 6.9% | 7.3% | 8.3% |
| Return on assets | — | 0.5% | 3.2% | 1.8% | 3.9% | 0.6% | 2.1% | 2.8% | 2.5% | 2.7% | 3.2% |
| Asset turnover | — | 0.18 | 0.22 | 0.22 | 0.22 | 0.20 | 0.24 | 0.27 | 0.27 | 0.28 | 0.28 |
| Current ratio | — | 1.07 | 0.65 | 0.52 | 0.83 | 0.82 | 0.70 | 0.67 | 0.63 | 0.70 | 0.72 |
| Debt to equity | — | 171.8% | 160.4% | 173.0% | 136.0% | — | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 92.2% | 83.6% |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | 7.6x | 3.1x | 3.8x | 72.3x | 3.9x | — | 3.8x | 4.0x | 51.3x | 60.0x | 52.0x |
| Effective tax rate | 20.8% | 37.2% | 16.2% | 33.4% | 21.8% | 92.9% | 27.8% | 20.2% | 24.5% | 29.8% | 25.2% |
| R&D as % of revenue | 0.5% | 0.5% | 0.5% | 0.5% | 0.6% | 0.6% | 0.5% | — | — | — | — |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 11.0% | 10.9% | 8.5% | 9.4% | 9.9% | 8.1% | 10.4% | 8.9% | 7.8% | 6.5% | 6.2% |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | 113.3% | 413.5% | 128.2% | 230.2% | 96.6% | 506.0% | 196.1% | 136.3% | 161.5% | 191.2% | 164.2% |
| Dividends ÷ net income | 96.3% | 680.9% | 116.1% | 177.6% | 54.7% | 128.1% | 50.6% | 40.9% | 56.4% | 45.6% | 66.4% |
| Dividends and buybacks ÷ free cash flow | 95.7% | 164.7% | 90.6% | 77.2% | 56.6% | 25.3% | 25.8% | 30.0% | 39.1% | 32.2% | 61.0% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $24.8bn of assets due within a year against $34.5bn of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities Not assessable from the reported split. Not assessable.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Operating income of $15.4bn against $296m of interest.
Moat
Not assessed: fewer than five years of comparable figures in the filings. AI disruption exposure for this industry: Low.
Compare with peers
- The Coca-Cola Company statistics
- PepsiCo statistics
- Coca-cola Europacific Partners plc statistics
- Keurig Dr Pepper statistics
- Ambev S.a. statistics
Head to head: BUD vs KOBUD vs PEPBUD vs CCEP
More: Beverages stocks compared, Consumer Staples sector, rankings of US companies