undamentalytics Newsletter

Cognyte Software Ltd. key statistics and ratios

In fiscal 2026, Cognyte Software Ltd. had return on equity of -0.3%, an operating margin of 3.3%, debt equal to 0.0% of equity and a current ratio of 1.33. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.

Financial ratios

US$ thousands unless shown otherwise. Fiscal years, plus the last twelve months (LTM) when newer.

Cognyte Software Ltd.: financial ratios, annual
Fiscal year2019Jan 20192020Jan 20202021Jan 20212022Jan 20222023Jan 20232024Jan 20242025Jan 20252026Jan 2026
Gross margin59.2%64.1%70.1%72.1%61.6%68.7%70.4%72.4%
Operating margin4.3%6.0%4.1%2.3%−33.1%−5.8%−1.5%3.3%
Net margin2.0%4.4%3.2%−3.1%−36.6%−5.0%−3.4%−0.2%
Free-cash-flow margin10.1%11.7%12.9%−1.9%−14.5%8.8%10.3%7.5%
Return on equity1.8%4.4%4.0%−5.5%−47.6%−7.9%−6.1%−0.3%
Return on assets—2.5%2.0%−2.3%−20.6%−3.4%−2.5%−0.1%
Asset turnover—0.570.620.730.560.680.720.79
Current ratio—1.831.171.311.301.391.301.33
Debt to equity0.0%0.0%0.0%35.1%0.0%0.0%0.0%0.0%
Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest)37.5x56.8x98.8x55.9xn/mn/mn/m68.4x
Effective tax rate38.2%8.6%17.9%————59.3%
R&D as % of revenue23.1%24.3%29.0%30.2%45.0%34.2%30.9%30.6%
SG&A as % of revenue31.7%33.7%36.7%39.2%49.5%40.1%40.9%38.4%
Capital spending as % of revenue2.3%3.0%3.2%2.5%2.7%2.2%3.0%2.6%
Free cash flow ÷ net income502.0%264.9%402.1%—————

Returns use average equity or assets over the year. Return on equity is left blank when equity is negative or so small that the ratio says nothing (above ±200%); interest cover is left blank above 200 times. Price-based ratios such as P/E are on the valuation page.

Financial health

3 of 3 checks passed · January 31, 2026
What it owns · $521m
Short-term assets $298mLonger-term assets $223m
What it owes, and who funded it · $499m
Short-term liabilities $224mLonger-term liabilities $68mShareholders' equity $207m
  • Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $298m of assets due within a year against $224m of liabilities due within a year.
  • Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $298m short-term assets against $68m of longer-dated liabilities.
  • More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
  • Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
  • Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
  • A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
  • Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Operating income of $13m against $194,000 of interest.

From Cognyte Software Ltd.'s latest balance sheet as filed. Checks are fixed, documented rules (methodology), counted only where the company reports the figures — a dot means the filing doesn't break the item out. Descriptions of reported data, not advice.

Moat

Not assessed: fewer than five years of comparable figures in the filings. AI disruption exposure for this industry: High.

A rules-based reading of reported figures, not a forecast and not investment advice. How the score is built: methodology.

Compare with peers

Head to head: CERT vs CGNTAMPL vs CGNTCGNT vs YEXT

More: Application Software stocks compared, Technology sector, rankings of US companies

Figures from Cognyte Software Ltd.'s SEC filings (10-K and 10-Q). How we read and check them: methodology and data sources. Not investment advice. Back to Cognyte Software Ltd.