Chicago Rivet & Machine Co key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Chicago Rivet & Machine Co had return on equity of -5.6%, an operating margin of -4.3%, debt equal to 5.3% of equity and a current ratio of 5.21. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2010Dec 2010 | 2011Dec 2011 | 2012Dec 2012 | 2013Dec 2013 | 2014Dec 2014 | 2015Dec 2015 | 2016Dec 2016 | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 | LTMJun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 19.8% | 21.5% | 22.4% | 23.9% | 22.4% | 21.8% | 24.4% | 22.1% | 21.3% | 17.5% | 17.8% | 19.0% | 11.3% | −1.9% | 3.9% | 14.8% | 11.0% |
| Operating margin | 2.9% | 5.2% | 7.2% | 9.3% | 7.7% | 6.9% | 9.4% | 6.6% | 6.5% | 1.5% | −0.3% | 4.0% | 10.6% | −18.5% | −19.1% | −4.3% | −8.3% |
| Net margin | 2.1% | 4.1% | 5.1% | 6.7% | 5.3% | 4.7% | 6.4% | 5.8% | 5.4% | 1.6% | 0.2% | 3.3% | 8.5% | −14.0% | −20.8% | −3.9% | −8.9% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 6.5% | 8.4% | 4.7% | −1.1% | 1.7% | 5.5% | 5.4% | 4.6% | −0.3% | 4.2% | −0.7% | −4.9% | −6.6% | −9.6% | −3.0% | −5.6% | −5.2% |
| Return on equity | 2.8% | 5.8% | 7.7% | 10.4% | 7.7% | 6.5% | 8.7% | 7.3% | 6.8% | 1.8% | 0.2% | 3.9% | 9.6% | −15.5% | −24.4% | −5.6% | −13.5% |
| Return on assets | 2.6% | 5.2% | 6.9% | 9.2% | 6.8% | 5.8% | 7.7% | 6.6% | 6.2% | 1.7% | 0.2% | 3.5% | 8.8% | −14.3% | −21.9% | −4.6% | −10.4% |
| Asset turnover | 1.21 | 1.27 | 1.35 | 1.37 | 1.30 | 1.23 | 1.22 | 1.14 | 1.14 | 1.01 | 0.88 | 1.08 | 1.03 | 1.03 | 1.05 | 1.20 | 1.17 |
| Current ratio | 10.43 | 8.71 | 9.11 | 7.99 | 8.54 | 7.78 | 8.21 | 8.68 | 7.79 | 11.13 | 11.89 | 10.31 | 12.87 | 8.50 | 5.67 | 5.21 | 3.03 |
| Debt to equity | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 5.3% | — |
| SG&A as % of revenue | 16.8% | 16.3% | 15.2% | 14.5% | 14.6% | 15.0% | 15.0% | 15.5% | 14.8% | 16.0% | 18.1% | 15.0% | 14.8% | 16.6% | 23.1% | 20.3% | 20.5% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | −2.4% | −4.9% | 3.5% | 9.4% | 4.7% | 5.8% | 5.5% | 3.7% | 5.4% | 5.5% | 3.0% | 2.0% | 2.9% | 3.4% | 2.4% | 1.2% | 1.6% |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | 306.0% | 207.2% | 91.2% | −16.8% | 31.9% | 117.7% | 84.8% | 79.6% | −5.9% | 254.2% | −397.1% | −150.9% | −77.9% | — | — | — | — |
| Dividends ÷ net income | −67.0% | −39.3% | −49.8% | 24.6% | 55.4% | 55.5% | 40.6% | 53.4% | 55.0% | 211.8% | 995.8% | 76.4% | 29.6% | — | — | — | — |
| Dividends and buybacks ÷ free cash flow | −21.9% | −18.9% | −54.6% | — | 173.8% | 47.2% | 47.8% | 67.1% | — | 83.3% | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| Quarter | 2024 Q3Sept 2024 | 2024 Q4Dec 2024 | 2025 Q1Mar 2025 | 2025 Q2Jun 2025 | 2025 Q3Sept 2025 | 2025 Q4Dec 2025 | 2026 Q1Mar 2026 | 2026 Q2Jun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 10.0% | −43.7% | 22.9% | 13.4% | 18.1% | 2.7% | 14.0% | 7.8% |
| Operating margin | −11.8% | −86.4% | 5.7% | −5.7% | 0.9% | −15.3% | −5.6% | −14.3% |
| Net margin | −20.8% | −88.0% | 5.5% | −5.4% | 0.9% | −19.3% | −5.3% | −13.7% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | −5.3% | −0.1% | −28.5% | −0.3% | 6.8% | 0.4% | −10.8% | −16.6% |
| Current ratio | 6.02 | 5.67 | 5.46 | 6.77 | 5.97 | 5.21 | 3.67 | 3.03 |
| Debt to equity | — | 0.0% | — | 2.5% | 2.5% | — | — | — |
| SG&A as % of revenue | 21.8% | 42.6% | 21.9% | 19.1% | 17.2% | 23.7% | 19.6% | 22.1% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $13m of assets due within a year against $4m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $13m short-term assets against $2m of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Interest not separately reported. Not assessable.
Moat
Weak moat
How hard Chicago Rivet & Machine's competitive advantage looks for rivals to wear away, judged from 10 years of its own filings: returns on capital, pricing power, profit durability, cash conversion and discipline.
- Returns on capital 0 / 20
Cash operating profit has been a median -6.5% of total assets over 10 years.
- Pricing power 3 / 20
Gross margin has been a median 16.0%, moving by 7.4 percentage points (standard deviation) across 10 years.
- Durability 0 / 20
Operating margin has been a median 2.0%; its worst year was -17.1%.
- Cash conversion 3 / 20
Free cash flow was positive in 3 of 10 years, at a median -2.9% of revenue.
- Discipline 12 / 20
The diluted share count rose 0.0% over five years.
AI disruption exposure: Low. In this industry, the business rests on physical assets, regulated networks or products AI itself depends on.
Compare with peers
- Fuel Tech, Inc. statistics
- Tecogen Inc. statistics
- Aetherion Technologies Inc. statistics
- CPS Technologies Corp statistics
- Techprecision Corp statistics
Head to head: CVR vs FTEKCVR vs TGENAETR vs CVRCPSH vs CVR
More: Industrial Machinery & Supplies & Components stocks compared, Industrials sector, rankings of US companies