CVD Equipment Corp key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, CVD Equipment Corp had return on equity of -6.3%, an operating margin of -7.4%, debt equal to 1.2% of equity and a current ratio of 6.06. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2010Dec 2010 | 2011Dec 2011 | 2012Dec 2012 | 2013Dec 2013 | 2014Dec 2014 | 2015Dec 2015 | 2016Dec 2016 | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 | LTMJun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 36.2% | 36.9% | 36.1% | 37.5% | 41.2% | 38.9% | 33.9% | 42.8% | 21.3% | 14.2% | 17.0% | 18.7% | 25.7% | 21.0% | 22.5% | 28.3% | 24.7% |
| Operating margin | 5.8% | 15.3% | 2.5% | −10.1% | −13.4% | 11.8% | −3.5% | 17.6% | −21.6% | −25.4% | −46.2% | −28.4% | −7.1% | −20.2% | −9.0% | −7.4% | −27.2% |
| Net margin | 3.3% | 12.2% | 2.0% | −3.1% | −8.8% | 8.2% | −0.7% | 12.8% | −21.4% | −32.2% | −35.9% | 28.9% | −0.9% | −17.3% | −7.1% | −6.1% | 62.0% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 21.1% | 12.9% | −54.1% | −17.6% | 3.3% | 3.8% | 41.7% | −7.9% | −8.3% | −10.8% | −16.0% | −27.4% | −1.8% | −2.6% | −5.9% | −14.4% | 2.9% |
| Return on equity | 3.3% | 16.3% | 1.4% | −1.8% | −8.2% | 10.3% | −0.4% | 14.2% | −13.7% | −19.3% | −22.5% | 17.8% | −0.8% | −15.0% | −7.4% | −6.3% | 33.0% |
| Return on assets | 2.2% | 12.0% | 1.1% | −1.4% | −5.8% | 7.4% | −0.3% | 10.1% | −9.4% | −12.8% | −13.9% | 12.4% | −0.6% | −11.5% | −5.7% | −5.4% | 30.3% |
| Asset turnover | 0.67 | 0.99 | 0.55 | 0.44 | 0.66 | 0.90 | 0.48 | 0.79 | 0.44 | 0.40 | 0.39 | 0.43 | 0.70 | 0.66 | 0.81 | 0.87 | 0.49 |
| Current ratio | 3.36 | 4.95 | 6.04 | 6.34 | 2.34 | 5.29 | 3.41 | 5.13 | 4.78 | 2.63 | 3.18 | 3.64 | 2.90 | 2.67 | 3.26 | 6.06 | 11.52 |
| Debt to equity | 23.2% | 10.5% | 26.7% | 17.0% | 15.6% | 11.6% | 9.5% | 34.2% | 36.1% | 40.2% | 57.2% | 6.1% | 1.4% | 1.3% | 1.1% | 1.2% | — |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | 4.2x | 26.0x | 2.7x | n/m | n/m | 49.9x | n/m | 67.9x | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m |
| Effective tax rate | 28.3% | 21.1% | −8.9% | — | — | 28.3% | — | 26.9% | — | — | — | 0.6% | — | — | — | — | — |
| R&D as % of revenue | — | 3.1% | 1.8% | 5.7% | 3.1% | 1.6% | 2.1% | 1.1% | 2.5% | 3.0% | 2.2% | 10.9% | 7.4% | 10.8% | 9.8% | 10.8% | 16.9% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 2.3% | 0.7% | 53.2% | 11.6% | 2.2% | 0.6% | 0.5% | 2.2% | 10.4% | 13.7% | 9.3% | 1.4% | 2.6% | 1.7% | 0.4% | 0.2% | 0.1% |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | 645.7% | 105.4% | <−999% | — | — | 46.3% | — | −62.1% | — | — | — | −95.0% | — | — | — | — | 4.6% |
| Quarter | 2024 Q3Sept 2024 | 2024 Q4Dec 2024 | 2025 Q1Mar 2025 | 2025 Q2Jun 2025 | 2025 Q3Sept 2025 | 2025 Q4Dec 2025 | 2026 Q1Mar 2026 | 2026 Q2Jun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 21.5% | 26.4% | 27.4% | 14.1% | 32.7% | 22.2% | 8.0% | 16.8% |
| Operating margin | 0.9% | 0.5% | −5.1% | −40.3% | 4.2% | −27.2% | −97.4% | −79.8% |
| Net margin | 2.5% | 1.8% | 5.7% | −31.2% | 5.2% | −25.6% | −90.2% | 643.4% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | −0.1% | 31.9% | −36.4% | −93.2% | 18.3% | 8.0% | −46.9% | −21.8% |
| Current ratio | 2.99 | 3.26 | 3.95 | 4.00 | 4.76 | 6.06 | 5.35 | 11.52 |
| Debt to equity | 1.2% | 1.1% | 1.0% | 0.9% | 0.8% | 0.7% | — | — |
| R&D as % of revenue | 7.9% | 7.7% | 11.6% | 18.8% | 8.0% | 14.6% | 39.4% | 35.1% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $28m of assets due within a year against $2m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $28m short-term assets against $30,000 of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Operating income of −$4m against $7,000 of interest.
Moat
Weak moat
How hard CVD Equipment's competitive advantage looks for rivals to wear away, judged from 10 years of its own filings: returns on capital, pricing power, profit durability, cash conversion and discipline.
- Returns on capital 0 / 20
Net income has been a median 0.0% of total assets over 8 years.
- Pricing power 1 / 20
Gross margin has been a median 24.1%, moving by 11.0 percentage points (standard deviation) across 10 years.
- Durability 10 / 20
Operating margin has been a median -14.0%; its worst year was -65.2%.
- Cash conversion 3 / 20
Free cash flow was positive in 3 of 10 years, at a median -8.4% of revenue.
- Discipline 14 / 20
The diluted share count rose 4.6% over five years; stock-based pay has been a median 2.6% of revenue.
AI disruption exposure: Low. In this industry, the business rests on physical assets, regulated networks or products AI itself depends on.
Compare with peers
- Sono TEK Corp statistics
- Aehr Test Systems statistics
- Amtech Systems Inc statistics
- AXT Inc statistics
- Camtek LTD statistics
Head to head: CVV vs SOTKAEHR vs CVVASYS vs CVV
More: Semiconductor Materials & Equipment stocks compared, Technology sector, rankings of US companies