Data I/o Corp key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Data I/o Corp had return on equity of -33.6%, an operating margin of -23.8%, debt equal to 0.0% of equity and a current ratio of 3.46. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2010Dec 2010 | 2011Dec 2011 | 2012Dec 2012 | 2013Dec 2013 | 2014Dec 2014 | 2015Dec 2015 | 2016Dec 2016 | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 | LTMJun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 58.1% | 57.1% | 50.6% | 50.8% | 53.9% | 52.4% | 55.0% | 58.9% | 59.4% | 58.2% | 53.2% | 57.0% | 54.5% | 57.7% | 53.3% | 49.3% | 50.6% |
| Operating margin | 13.3% | 5.5% | −40.6% | −14.3% | 5.0% | 4.5% | 6.1% | 14.8% | 5.9% | −5.9% | −15.1% | −1.1% | −3.1% | 1.6% | −14.0% | −23.8% | −43.7% |
| Net margin | 11.4% | 4.0% | −37.6% | −13.8% | 5.0% | 4.2% | 7.1% | 16.0% | 5.5% | −5.5% | −19.5% | −2.1% | −4.6% | 1.7% | −14.2% | −24.4% | −50.1% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 12.4% | 15.9% | −4.6% | 5.4% | −3.0% | 10.5% | 3.6% | 20.5% | 4.1% | −12.6% | −1.1% | 3.0% | −8.8% | 4.4% | −6.7% | −13.0% | −42.8% |
| Return on equity | 12.6% | 4.2% | −31.2% | −18.7% | 8.2% | 6.5% | 10.8% | 28.6% | 7.1% | −5.3% | −19.3% | −2.8% | −5.7% | 2.5% | −16.3% | −33.6% | −70.3% |
| Return on assets | 10.2% | 3.5% | −25.6% | −14.2% | 6.0% | 4.8% | 7.8% | 20.5% | 5.3% | −4.0% | −14.7% | −2.0% | −4.0% | 1.8% | −11.8% | −23.2% | −39.8% |
| Asset turnover | 0.90 | 0.88 | 0.68 | 1.03 | 1.19 | 1.13 | 1.10 | 1.28 | 0.96 | 0.73 | 0.75 | 0.95 | 0.86 | 1.03 | 0.83 | 0.95 | 0.79 |
| Current ratio | 5.18 | 5.84 | 4.59 | 3.83 | 3.48 | 4.06 | 3.33 | 3.53 | 4.07 | 4.37 | 4.48 | 3.72 | 3.78 | 3.98 | 4.17 | 3.46 | 1.93 |
| Debt to equity | 0.4% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | — | 104.4x | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| Effective tax rate | 8.3% | 18.0% | — | — | 0.6% | −0.5% | 2.1% | −5.6% | 15.3% | — | — | — | — | 28.5% | — | — | — |
| R&D as % of revenue | 15.8% | 20.5% | 32.6% | 24.5% | 21.5% | 21.4% | 21.6% | 20.3% | 25.2% | 29.9% | 31.3% | 25.7% | 25.1% | 23.2% | 28.7% | 30.4% | 33.9% |
| SG&A as % of revenue | 29.1% | 31.1% | 43.6% | 34.1% | 27.4% | 26.6% | 27.2% | 23.8% | 28.3% | 34.2% | 33.9% | 32.4% | 32.5% | 32.8% | 38.6% | 42.7% | 60.4% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 4.1% | −5.3% | −2.9% | −3.6% | 6.4% | 4.7% | 9.1% | 6.3% | 3.1% | 2.8% | 4.2% | 2.4% | 4.5% | 4.3% | 2.1% | 2.6% | 2.5% |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | 108.2% | 398.2% | — | — | −60.3% | 250.5% | 50.5% | 128.0% | 75.0% | — | — | — | — | 253.7% | — | — | — |
| Dividends and buybacks ÷ free cash flow | 0.0% | −6.0% | — | 0.0% | — | 0.0% | 22.8% | 0.0% | 0.0% | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| Quarter | 2024 Q3Sept 2024 | 2024 Q4Dec 2024 | 2025 Q1Mar 2025 | 2025 Q2Jun 2025 | 2025 Q3Sept 2025 | 2025 Q4Dec 2025 | 2026 Q1Mar 2026 | 2026 Q2Jun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 53.9% | 52.2% | 51.6% | 49.8% | 50.7% | 43.0% | 49.5% | 57.0% |
| Operating margin | −6.0% | −24.8% | −6.1% | −14.2% | −25.8% | −62.8% | −96.7% | −14.1% |
| Net margin | −5.7% | −22.8% | −6.2% | −12.5% | −25.3% | −69.0% | −97.5% | −31.6% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 13.4% | −33.5% | 0.9% | −10.6% | −6.5% | −46.6% | −68.8% | −61.4% |
| Current ratio | 4.87 | 4.17 | 4.20 | 4.06 | 3.84 | 3.46 | 2.64 | 1.93 |
| R&D as % of revenue | 28.5% | 32.8% | 24.5% | 27.9% | 31.7% | 41.3% | 39.7% | 26.8% |
| SG&A as % of revenue | 31.4% | 44.2% | 33.2% | 36.0% | 44.8% | 64.6% | 106.5% | 44.3% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $22m of assets due within a year against $11m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities Not assessable from the reported split. Not assessable.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Interest not separately reported. Not assessable.
Moat
Moderate moat
How hard Data I/o's competitive advantage looks for rivals to wear away, judged from 10 years of its own filings: returns on capital, pricing power, profit durability, cash conversion and discipline.
- Returns on capital 20 / 20
Cash operating profit has been a median 22.6% of total assets over 10 years.
- Pricing power 18 / 20
Gross margin has been a median 55.1%, moving by 3.0 percentage points (standard deviation) across 10 years.
- Durability 10 / 20
Operating margin has been a median -6.5%; its worst year was -43.7%.
- Cash conversion 4 / 20
Free cash flow was positive in 4 of 10 years, at a median -0.9% of revenue.
- Discipline 9 / 20
The diluted share count rose 13.4% over five years; stock-based pay has been a median 4.3% of revenue.
AI disruption exposure: Medium. In this industry, AI could change how the product is made or sold, without replacing the core asset. The score above includes a 5-point deduction for that exposure (61 before it).
Compare with peers
- Virtra, Inc statistics
- Birchtech Corp. statistics
- Knightscope, Inc. statistics
- Aeva Technologies, Inc. statistics
- Interlink Electronics Inc statistics
Head to head: DAIO vs VTSIBCHT vs DAIODAIO vs KSCPAEVA vs DAIO
More: Electronic Equipment & Instruments stocks compared, Technology sector, rankings of US companies