Dorchester Minerals, L.p. key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Dorchester Minerals, L.p. had a net margin of 37.5% and a current ratio of 15.54. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2016Dec 2016 | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 | LTMJun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Operating margin | 55.8% | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| Net margin | 55.8% | 67.1% | 73.6% | 67.0% | 46.6% | 75.1% | 76.5% | 69.7% | 57.2% | 37.5% | 45.5% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | — | 75.0% | 85.3% | 83.9% | 84.0% | 75.3% | 86.1% | 85.4% | 82.1% | 86.7% | 81.5% |
| Return on assets | 31.2% | 48.3% | 59.9% | 51.5% | 21.3% | 59.7% | 80.9% | 62.1% | 33.1% | 17.0% | 28.0% |
| Asset turnover | 0.56 | 0.72 | 0.81 | 0.77 | 0.46 | 0.79 | 1.06 | 0.89 | 0.58 | 0.45 | 0.62 |
| Current ratio | 53.77 | 39.80 | 61.97 | 11.97 | 9.70 | 16.65 | 18.31 | 15.60 | 15.97 | 15.54 | 13.85 |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | — | 1.8% | 0.1% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | — | 111.8% | 115.9% | 125.3% | 180.2% | 100.2% | 112.6% | 122.5% | 143.5% | 231.0% | 179.3% |
| Quarter | 2024 Q3Sept 2024 | 2024 Q4Dec 2024 | 2025 Q1Mar 2025 | 2025 Q2Jun 2025 | 2025 Q3Sept 2025 | 2025 Q4Dec 2025 | 2026 Q1Mar 2026 | 2026 Q2Jun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Net margin | 68.1% | 35.9% | 40.9% | 38.1% | 31.5% | 38.7% | 49.5% | 55.1% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 81.8% | 79.4% | 77.4% | 94.2% | 96.7% | 82.0% | 40.6% | 114.5% |
| Current ratio | 14.21 | 15.97 | 13.19 | 11.61 | 10.05 | 15.54 | 16.61 | 13.85 |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $100m of assets due within a year against $7m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $100m short-term assets against $3m of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Interest not separately reported. Not assessable.
Moat
Strong moat
How hard Dorchester Minerals's competitive advantage looks for rivals to wear away, judged from 10 years of its own filings: returns on capital, pricing power, profit durability, cash conversion and discipline.
- Returns on capital 20 / 20
Net income has been a median 39.5% of total assets over 10 years.
- Durability 20 / 20
Net margin has been a median 67.0%; its worst year was 45.5%.
- Cash conversion 20 / 20
Free cash flow was positive in 9 of 9 years, at a median 81.5% of revenue.
- Discipline 5 / 20
The diluted share count rose 38.7% over five years.
AI disruption exposure: Low. In this industry, the business rests on physical assets, regulated networks or products AI itself depends on.
Compare with peers
- Sandridge Energy Inc statistics
- Primeenergy Resources Corp statistics
- Amplify Energy Corp. statistics
- Battalion OIL Corp statistics
- Vitesse Energy, Inc. statistics
Head to head: DMLP vs SDDMLP vs PNRGAMPY vs DMLPBATL vs DMLP
More: Oil & Gas Exploration & Production stocks compared, Energy sector, rankings of US companies