Deswell Industries Inc key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2026, Deswell Industries Inc had return on equity of 10.0%, an operating margin of 3.2%, debt equal to 0.0% of equity and a current ratio of 5.25. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2010Mar 2010 | 2011Mar 2011 | 2012Mar 2012 | 2013Mar 2013 | 2014Mar 2014 | 2015Mar 2015 | 2016Mar 2016 | 2017Mar 2017 | 2018Mar 2018 | 2019Mar 2019 | 2020Mar 2020 | 2021Mar 2021 | 2022Mar 2022 | 2023Mar 2023 | 2024Mar 2024 | 2025Mar 2025 | 2026Mar 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 15.5% | 11.4% | 14.6% | 13.5% | 8.9% | 11.1% | 10.8% | 16.7% | 16.0% | 15.4% | 18.1% | 20.3% | 16.2% | 16.6% | 20.0% | 20.2% | 22.4% |
| Operating margin | 2.1% | −10.5% | −3.3% | −6.1% | −16.7% | −12.6% | −12.0% | −4.7% | 3.0% | 0.8% | 2.2% | 5.0% | 3.2% | 3.7% | 5.5% | 4.9% | 3.2% |
| Net margin | 1.8% | −9.7% | −2.3% | −3.7% | −18.3% | −7.4% | −11.1% | 3.1% | 10.2% | 6.4% | −2.0% | 12.7% | 9.6% | 2.7% | 11.1% | 16.5% | 17.3% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 15.6% | −5.0% | 16.8% | 14.0% | −6.7% | −8.6% | −0.1% | −7.3% | 6.6% | 1.9% | 19.3% | 4.2% | −2.0% | 15.8% | 18.5% | 19.5% | 7.7% |
| Return on equity | 1.2% | −7.0% | −1.3% | −1.9% | −7.8% | −3.2% | −6.1% | 1.8% | 7.9% | 5.2% | −1.6% | 9.9% | 9.3% | 2.3% | 8.4% | 11.3% | 10.0% |
| Return on assets | — | −6.4% | −1.2% | −1.7% | −7.0% | −2.8% | −5.4% | 1.5% | 6.5% | 4.3% | −1.4% | 8.1% | 7.4% | 1.8% | 7.0% | 9.6% | 8.5% |
| Asset turnover | — | 0.66 | 0.52 | 0.46 | 0.38 | 0.39 | 0.48 | 0.50 | 0.63 | 0.66 | 0.67 | 0.64 | 0.77 | 0.69 | 0.63 | 0.58 | 0.49 |
| Current ratio | — | 4.76 | 5.27 | 6.31 | 5.61 | 4.71 | 4.71 | 3.79 | 3.60 | 4.32 | 4.57 | 3.71 | 3.66 | 4.01 | 5.07 | 5.45 | 5.25 |
| Debt to equity | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Effective tax rate | 31.5% | — | — | — | — | — | — | 13.2% | 0.1% | 3.3% | — | 5.5% | −2.0% | 11.0% | 1.4% | 1.4% | −3.5% |
| SG&A as % of revenue | 19.0% | 16.6% | 18.9% | 20.1% | 25.1% | 24.0% | 20.5% | 19.9% | 14.5% | 14.2% | 15.3% | 15.9% | 13.1% | 14.2% | 15.1% | 16.7% | 18.8% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 2.0% | 1.2% | 0.4% | 1.8% | 2.1% | 2.3% | 1.3% | 4.8% | 2.8% | 1.3% | 0.8% | 0.8% | 1.7% | 1.0% | 0.5% | 0.5% | 0.8% |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | 850.2% | — | — | — | — | — | — | −235.0% | 64.5% | 30.1% | — | 33.3% | −20.5% | 592.8% | 166.4% | 118.5% | 44.4% |
| Dividends ÷ net income | 108.0% | — | — | — | — | — | — | 163.4% | 18.0% | 37.2% | — | 34.8% | 38.7% | 154.8% | 41.4% | 28.6% | 30.0% |
| Dividends and buybacks ÷ free cash flow | 12.7% | — | 22.4% | 86.6% | — | — | — | — | 27.9% | 123.3% | 18.9% | 104.3% | — | 26.1% | 24.9% | 24.1% | 67.6% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $107m of assets due within a year against $20m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $107m short-term assets against $211,000 of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Interest not separately reported. Not assessable.
Moat
Weak moat
How hard Deswell Industries's competitive advantage looks for rivals to wear away, judged from 5 years of its own filings: returns on capital, pricing power, profit durability, cash conversion and discipline.
- Pricing power 6 / 20
Gross margin has been a median 16.0%, moving by 4.3 percentage points (standard deviation) across 5 years.
- Durability 0 / 20
Operating margin has been a median 3.0%; its worst year was -16.7%.
- Cash conversion 9 / 20
Free cash flow was positive in 3 of 5 years, at a median 6.6% of revenue.
AI disruption exposure: Medium. In this industry, AI could change how the product is made or sold, without replacing the core asset. The score above includes a 5-point deduction for that exposure (25 before it).
Compare with peers
- Nortech Systems Inc statistics
- KEY Tronic Corp statistics
- Kimball Electronics, Inc. statistics
- Benchmark Electronics Inc statistics
- Plexus Corp statistics
Head to head: DSWL vs NSYSDSWL vs KTCCDSWL vs KE
More: Electronic Manufacturing Services stocks compared, Technology sector, rankings of US companies