Intrepid Potash, Inc. key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Intrepid Potash, Inc. had return on equity of 2.3%, an operating margin of 3.6%, debt equal to 0.0% of equity and a current ratio of 5.24. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 13.2% | 11.4% | 18.4% |
| Operating margin | −15.8% | −7.8% | 3.6% |
| Net margin | −12.8% | −83.6% | 3.7% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | −7.8% | 13.3% | 8.6% |
| Return on equity | −5.2% | −36.7% | 2.3% |
| Return on assets | −4.6% | −31.2% | 1.8% |
| Asset turnover | 0.36 | 0.37 | 0.49 |
| Current ratio | 3.27 | 4.84 | 5.24 |
| Debt to equity | 0.6% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | — | n/m | 46.0x |
| Effective tax rate | — | — | 4.6% |
| SG&A as % of revenue | 11.6% | 12.9% | 12.3% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 23.3% | 15.2% | 10.1% |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | — | — | 228.3% |
| Dividends and buybacks ÷ free cash flow | — | 0.0% | — |
| Quarter | 2017 Q3Sept 2017 | 2018 Q3Sept 2018 | 2025 Q1Mar 2025 | 2025 Q2Jun 2025 | 2026 Q1Mar 2026 | 2026 Q2Jun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 17.8% | 24.5% | 14.1% | 18.3% | 17.9% | 25.0% |
| Operating margin | −0.5% | 11.6% | 3.9% | 2.1% | 6.3% | 1.6% |
| Net margin | −5.6% | 9.2% | 4.9% | 4.8% | 7.5% | 23.4% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | −0.3% | 30.1% | 3.4% | 54.1% | 18.3% | 38.8% |
| Current ratio | 4.71 | 3.23 | 5.17 | 5.28 | 5.26 | 6.33 |
| Debt to equity | 14.7% | 14.5% | — | — | — | — |
| SG&A as % of revenue | 13.6% | 14.0% | 9.7% | 13.2% | 11.4% | 15.0% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $313m of assets due within a year against $49m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $313m short-term assets against $85m of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Operating income of $10m against $61,000 of interest.
Moat
Not assessed: fewer than five years of comparable figures in the filings. AI disruption exposure for this industry: Low.
More: Fertilizers & Agricultural Chemicals stocks compared, Materials sector, rankings of US companies