Ispecimen Inc. key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Ispecimen Inc. had an operating margin of -465.4%, debt equal to 0.0% of equity and a current ratio of 1.12. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 | LTMJun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 56.2% | 52.9% | 54.3% | 51.9% | 45.0% | 11.2% | −98.0% |
| Operating margin | −29.4% | −53.2% | −97.9% | −112.5% | −137.0% | −465.4% | <−999% |
| Net margin | −56.8% | −80.5% | −98.5% | −111.8% | −134.5% | −543.7% | <−999% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | −3.5% | −95.8% | −58.0% | −58.7% | −89.3% | −219.9% | <−999% |
| Return on equity | — | — | −40.9% | −73.9% | −191.5% | — | — |
| Return on assets | −74.9% | −42.7% | −34.0% | −54.9% | −99.3% | −111.1% | −135.0% |
| Asset turnover | 1.32 | 0.53 | 0.34 | 0.49 | 0.74 | 0.20 | 0.06 |
| Current ratio | 0.16 | 13.15 | 4.60 | 1.36 | 0.62 | 1.12 | 0.82 |
| Debt to equity | — | 11.7% | 20.9% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | — |
| R&D as % of revenue | 3.9% | 7.9% | 14.2% | 16.3% | 16.1% | — | — |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 0.0% | 0.0% | 2.1% | 0.2% | 0.3% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Quarter | 2024 Q3Sept 2024 | 2024 Q4Dec 2024 | 2025 Q1Mar 2025 | 2025 Q2Jun 2025 | 2025 Q3Sept 2025 | 2025 Q4Dec 2025 | 2026 Q1Mar 2026 | 2026 Q2Jun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 41.6% | 13.5% | 42.4% | 37.7% | −91.9% | — | 45.9% | 45.2% |
| Operating margin | −64.1% | −395.8% | −154.9% | −255.4% | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | −897.1% |
| Net margin | −54.1% | −409.8% | −156.8% | −146.9% | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | −896.9% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | −41.1% | −242.7% | — | — | <−999% | <−999% | — | −453.9% |
| Current ratio | 0.74 | 0.62 | 0.31 | 0.23 | 0.63 | 1.12 | 0.62 | 0.82 |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $4m of assets due within a year against $5m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $4m short-term assets against $179,721 of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Operating income of −$9m against $1,949 of interest.
Moat
Weak moat
How hard Ispecimen's competitive advantage looks for rivals to wear away, judged from 6 years of its own filings: returns on capital, pricing power, profit durability, cash conversion and discipline.
- Returns on capital 0 / 20
Cash operating profit has been a median -25.4% of total assets over 5 years.
- Pricing power 9 / 20
Gross margin has been a median 49.8%, moving by 55.3 percentage points (standard deviation) across 6 years.
- Durability 10 / 20
Operating margin has been a median -104.8%; its worst year was -2020.0%.
AI disruption exposure: Medium. In this industry, AI could change how the product is made or sold, without replacing the core asset. The score above includes a 5-point deduction for that exposure (32 before it).
Compare with peers
- YD Bio Ltd statistics
- Quantum-si Inc statistics
- Aclarion, Inc. statistics
- Bionexus Gene Lab Corp statistics
- Seer, Inc. statistics
Head to head: ISPC vs YDESISPC vs QSIACON vs ISPC
More: Life Sciences Tools & Services stocks compared, Health Care sector, rankings of US companies