undamentalytics Newsletter

Joyy Inc. key statistics and ratios

In fiscal 2025, Joyy Inc. had return on equity of 37.3%, an operating margin of 2.6%, debt equal to 0.2% of equity and a current ratio of 1.85. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.

Financial ratios

US$ thousands unless shown otherwise. Fiscal years, plus the last twelve months (LTM) when newer.

Joyy Inc.: financial ratios, annual
Fiscal year2015Dec 20152016Dec 20162017Dec 20172018Dec 20182019Dec 20192020Dec 20202021Dec 20212022Dec 20222023Dec 20232024Dec 20242025Dec 2025
Gross margin39.3%37.8%39.4%36.5%6.6%26.6%32.0%35.3%35.8%36.0%35.9%
Operating margin19.7%21.6%23.3%16.7%−14.0%−20.1%−4.1%2.1%1.3%−18.1%2.6%
Net margin17.5%18.6%21.5%10.4%13.9%67.7%−3.1%5.3%13.3%−6.5%98.8%
Free-cash-flow margin27.2%27.5%28.6%26.2%14.8%17.0%5.3%10.3%9.4%10.1%7.5%
Return on equity31.9%35.8%32.5%11.0%13.7%25.0%−1.4%2.4%5.8%−3.0%37.3%
Return on assets14.1%17.3%21.1%8.0%9.1%17.6%−0.9%1.4%3.4%−1.8%27.8%
Asset turnover0.800.930.980.770.650.260.300.270.260.280.28
Current ratio2.621.273.224.283.774.132.021.511.320.961.85
Debt to equity80.2%54.9%5.6%0.0%16.8%14.3%16.7%16.9%1.0%0.7%0.2%
Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest)12.0x21.8x84.0x—n/mn/mn/m4.0x2.8xn/m108.2x
Effective tax rate15.3%15.7%14.4%18.8%———5.4%6.5%—7.6%
R&D as % of revenue9.3%8.2%6.7%7.6%6.4%14.9%10.7%10.9%13.0%12.5%11.6%
Capital spending as % of revenue3.7%2.0%3.4%2.1%3.4%7.4%2.7%2.9%3.6%3.7%6.7%
Free cash flow ÷ net income155.2%148.2%133.2%251.6%106.4%25.1%—192.0%70.9%—7.6%
Dividends ÷ net income————0.0%4.7%—113.2%27.9%—7.4%
Dividends and buybacks ÷ free cash flow65.0%—0.0%—4.5%49.6%400.3%114.8%167.3%115.3%181.1%

Returns use average equity or assets over the year. Return on equity is left blank when equity is negative or so small that the ratio says nothing (above ±200%); interest cover is left blank above 200 times. Price-based ratios such as P/E are on the valuation page.

Financial health

3 of 3 checks passed · December 31, 2025
What it owns · $7.6bn
Short-term assets $1.6bnLonger-term assets $5.9bn
What it owes, and who funded it · $7.5bn
Short-term liabilities $874mLonger-term liabilities $76mShareholders' equity $6.5bn
  • Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $1.6bn of assets due within a year against $874m of liabilities due within a year.
  • Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $1.6bn short-term assets against $76m of longer-dated liabilities.
  • More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
  • Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
  • Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
  • A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
  • Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Operating income of $56m against $516,000 of interest.

From Joyy Inc.'s latest balance sheet as filed. Checks are fixed, documented rules (methodology), counted only where the company reports the figures — a dot means the filing doesn't break the item out. Descriptions of reported data, not advice.

Moat

Not assessed: fewer than five years of comparable figures in the filings. AI disruption exposure for this industry: Medium.

A rules-based reading of reported figures, not a forecast and not investment advice. How the score is built: methodology.

Compare with peers

Head to head: JOYY vs TRIPJOYY vs WBJOYY vs MOMOJOYY vs RDDT

More: Interactive Media & Services stocks compared, Communication Services sector, rankings of US companies

Figures from Joyy Inc.'s SEC filings (10-K and 10-Q). How we read and check them: methodology and data sources. Not investment advice. Back to Joyy Inc.