Polar Power, Inc. key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Polar Power, Inc. had an operating margin of -133.6%, debt equal to 2802.8% of equity and a current ratio of 0.97. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2016Dec 2016 | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 | LTMJun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 44.7% | 33.0% | 30.9% | 19.8% | −62.3% | 20.4% | 13.2% | 4.5% | 9.4% | −50.1% | −78.1% |
| Operating margin | 32.5% | −5.6% | −4.6% | −16.1% | −143.6% | −18.3% | −34.5% | −39.2% | −31.3% | −133.6% | −191.7% |
| Net margin | 19.3% | −5.3% | −3.5% | −16.3% | −120.4% | −8.4% | −34.8% | −42.8% | −33.5% | −144.9% | −207.9% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 2.0% | −13.4% | −35.0% | −10.1% | −72.7% | −55.9% | −40.7% | −23.7% | −4.0% | −16.8% | −48.6% |
| Return on equity | 18.6% | −3.3% | −3.7% | −19.8% | −72.8% | −8.1% | −27.0% | −41.7% | −43.1% | — | — |
| Return on assets | 16.5% | −3.0% | −3.4% | −16.6% | −52.6% | −6.3% | −21.7% | −26.5% | −21.9% | −65.3% | −93.1% |
| Asset turnover | 0.86 | 0.56 | 0.97 | 1.02 | 0.44 | 0.75 | 0.63 | 0.62 | 0.65 | 0.45 | 0.45 |
| Current ratio | 9.37 | 15.80 | 11.91 | 6.98 | 3.24 | 7.41 | 3.92 | 2.15 | 1.82 | 0.97 | — |
| Debt to equity | 1.5% | 1.5% | 6.7% | 7.8% | 19.2% | 3.2% | 11.8% | 32.6% | — | >999% | 340.3% |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | 65.8x | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m |
| Effective tax rate | 39.4% | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| R&D as % of revenue | 0.9% | 9.3% | 7.9% | 9.2% | 19.1% | 11.8% | 9.1% | 8.0% | 5.5% | 10.2% | 13.8% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 0.7% | 2.4% | 2.4% | 1.4% | 0.2% | 0.4% | 0.2% | 1.3% | 0.1% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | 10.5% | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| Quarter | 2024 Q3Sept 2024 | 2024 Q4Dec 2024 | 2025 Q1Mar 2025 | 2025 Q2Jun 2025 | 2025 Q3Sept 2025 | 2025 Q4Dec 2025 | 2026 Q1Mar 2026 | 2026 Q2Jun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 29.0% | −58.7% | 18.6% | 34.3% | — | — | 65.7% | −33.1% |
| Operating margin | 0.8% | −110.5% | −63.9% | −4.1% | −304.6% | −555.7% | 1.4% | −164.0% |
| Net margin | 0.3% | −116.3% | −73.4% | −10.0% | −320.9% | −585.3% | −10.3% | −179.7% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | −12.0% | −5.2% | — | −14.9% | 31.3% | −78.7% | −126.8% | 2.0% |
| Current ratio | 2.19 | 1.82 | 1.64 | 1.61 | 1.25 | 0.97 | 1.23 | — |
| R&D as % of revenue | 3.5% | 7.1% | 9.3% | 5.4% | 12.3% | 30.5% | 9.8% | 12.6% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities The company doesn't report a short-term split. Not assessable.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities Not assessable from the reported split. Not assessable.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Operating income of −$9m against $1m of interest.
Moat
Weak moat
How hard Polar Power's competitive advantage looks for rivals to wear away, judged from 10 years of its own filings: returns on capital, pricing power, profit durability, cash conversion and discipline.
- Returns on capital 0 / 20
Cash operating profit has been a median -16.0% of total assets over 9 years.
- Pricing power 0 / 20
Gross margin has been a median 11.4%, moving by 34.5 percentage points (standard deviation) across 10 years.
- Durability 10 / 20
Operating margin has been a median -31.1%; its worst year was -191.7%.
- Cash conversion 1 / 20
Free cash flow was positive in 1 of 8 years, at a median -13.9% of revenue.
- Discipline 0 / 20
The diluted share count rose 113.5% over five years; stock-based pay has been a median 31.1% of revenue.
AI disruption exposure: Low. In this industry, the business rests on physical assets, regulated networks or products AI itself depends on.
Compare with peers
- Linkers Industries Ltd statistics
- Novonix Ltd statistics
- Laser Photonics Corp statistics
- Energy Focus, Inc statistics
- Clean Energy Technologies, Inc. statistics
Head to head: LNKS vs POLANVX vs POLALASE vs POLACETY vs POLA
More: Electrical Components & Equipment stocks compared, Industrials sector, rankings of US companies