Power Integrations Inc key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Power Integrations Inc had return on equity of 3.1%, an operating margin of 2.3%, debt equal to 0.0% of equity and a current ratio of 6.51. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2009Dec 2009 | 2010Dec 2010 | 2011Dec 2011 | 2012Dec 2012 | 2013Dec 2013 | 2014Dec 2014 | 2015Dec 2015 | 2016Dec 2016 | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 | LTMJun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 50.1% | 50.9% | 47.1% | 49.3% | 52.8% | 54.3% | 50.3% | 49.3% | 49.5% | 51.6% | 50.7% | 49.9% | 51.3% | 56.3% | 51.5% | 53.6% | 54.5% | 53.6% |
| Operating margin | 13.3% | 20.0% | 14.5% | 3.7% | 15.6% | 16.0% | 11.3% | 12.5% | 13.3% | 13.4% | 51.6% | 14.4% | 24.9% | 27.7% | 7.9% | 4.3% | 2.3% | 3.4% |
| Net margin | 10.8% | 16.5% | 11.5% | −11.3% | 16.5% | 17.1% | 11.4% | 12.5% | 6.4% | 16.8% | 46.0% | 14.6% | 23.4% | 26.2% | 12.5% | 7.7% | 5.0% | 5.6% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 14.2% | 9.8% | 15.4% | 11.6% | 24.4% | 17.9% | 23.5% | 22.0% | 11.5% | 14.3% | 47.6% | 11.3% | 26.1% | 27.0% | 10.1% | 15.3% | 19.6% | 17.6% |
| Return on equity | 8.2% | 15.6% | 9.6% | −9.8% | 14.7% | 13.7% | 9.0% | 10.3% | 5.3% | 13.0% | 30.9% | 9.3% | 19.1% | 20.5% | 7.4% | 4.3% | 3.1% | 3.7% |
| Return on assets | 6.8% | 12.7% | 7.9% | −8.3% | 12.7% | 12.0% | 8.0% | 9.4% | 4.7% | 11.6% | 27.8% | 8.3% | 17.1% | 18.4% | 6.7% | 3.9% | 2.8% | 3.2% |
| Asset turnover | 0.63 | 0.77 | 0.69 | 0.73 | 0.77 | 0.70 | 0.70 | 0.75 | 0.73 | 0.69 | 0.60 | 0.57 | 0.73 | 0.70 | 0.54 | 0.51 | 0.55 | 0.58 |
| Current ratio | 6.01 | 5.29 | 7.35 | 4.06 | 5.50 | 4.82 | 4.62 | 7.24 | 7.14 | 6.87 | 10.72 | 9.62 | 9.50 | 8.99 | 10.47 | 9.29 | 6.51 | 7.07 |
| Debt to equity | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Effective tax rate | 23.8% | 20.0% | 24.0% | — | −3.3% | −4.8% | 0.5% | 2.1% | 54.2% | −17.1% | 13.0% | 5.4% | 6.7% | 6.9% | −21.4% | −4.8% | −5.3% | −0.7% |
| R&D as % of revenue | 14.1% | 12.0% | 13.5% | 15.0% | 14.9% | 15.8% | 16.7% | 16.0% | 15.9% | 17.0% | 17.5% | 16.7% | 12.1% | 14.4% | 21.6% | 24.1% | 22.8% | 23.2% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 6.7% | 10.2% | 7.8% | 5.4% | 4.0% | 6.6% | 3.3% | 3.1% | 7.5% | 5.9% | 5.7% | 14.5% | 6.7% | 6.0% | 4.7% | 4.1% | 5.5% | 4.2% |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | 131.6% | 59.4% | 134.1% | — | 147.9% | 104.9% | 206.4% | 175.3% | 179.4% | 84.7% | 103.6% | 77.3% | 111.7% | 103.1% | 80.5% | 198.2% | 394.3% | 315.3% |
| Dividends ÷ net income | 11.6% | 11.3% | 16.7% | — | 16.5% | 22.1% | 35.5% | 30.8% | 60.2% | 26.9% | 10.6% | 35.2% | 19.8% | 24.3% | 79.0% | 142.8% | 213.5% | 188.5% |
| Dividends and buybacks ÷ free cash flow | 102.5% | 66.4% | 121.2% | 73.9% | 11.2% | 150.3% | 83.7% | 25.1% | 52.1% | 205.7% | 13.9% | 50.4% | 58.0% | 200.2% | 221.3% | 115.7% | 166.7% | 113.5% |
| Quarter | 2024 Q3Sept 2024 | 2024 Q4Dec 2024 | 2025 Q1Mar 2025 | 2025 Q2Jun 2025 | 2025 Q3Sept 2025 | 2025 Q4Dec 2025 | 2026 Q1Mar 2026 | 2026 Q2Jun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 54.5% | 54.4% | 55.2% | 55.2% | 54.5% | 52.9% | 52.6% | 54.3% |
| Operating margin | 10.0% | 3.7% | 6.4% | −1.2% | −3.3% | 8.5% | 1.3% | 7.5% |
| Net margin | 12.3% | 8.7% | 8.3% | 1.2% | −1.1% | 12.9% | 3.0% | 8.3% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 23.5% | 11.1% | 19.6% | 20.0% | 20.3% | 18.6% | 16.7% | 14.9% |
| Current ratio | 10.01 | 9.29 | 9.10 | 7.43 | 6.41 | 6.51 | 6.88 | 7.07 |
| R&D as % of revenue | 22.3% | 24.4% | 22.8% | 22.4% | 22.4% | 23.6% | 24.2% | 22.8% |
| SG&A as % of revenue | — | — | 26.0% | 26.0% | — | — | 22.6% | 23.6% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $471m of assets due within a year against $67m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $471m short-term assets against $32m of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Interest not separately reported. Not assessable.
Moat
Strong moat
How hard Power Integrations's competitive advantage looks for rivals to wear away, judged from 10 years of its own filings: returns on capital, pricing power, profit durability, cash conversion and discipline.
- Returns on capital 20 / 20
Cash operating profit has been a median 19.5% of total assets over 10 years.
- Pricing power 18 / 20
Gross margin has been a median 51.8%, moving by 2.1 percentage points (standard deviation) across 10 years.
- Durability 7 / 20
Operating margin has been a median 13.4%; its worst year was 3.4%.
- Cash conversion 19 / 20
Free cash flow was positive in 10 of 10 years, at a median 17.4% of revenue.
- Discipline 15 / 20
The diluted share count fell 8.4% over five years; stock-based pay has been a median 5.8% of revenue.
AI disruption exposure: Low. In this industry, the business rests on physical assets, regulated networks or products AI itself depends on.
Compare with peers
- Xperi Inc. statistics
- Sitime Corp statistics
- Toyo Co., Ltd statistics
- Ambarella Inc statistics
- Lattice Semiconductor Corp statistics
Head to head: POWI vs XPERPOWI vs SITMPOWI vs TOYOAMBA vs POWI
More: Semiconductors stocks compared, Technology sector, rankings of US companies