Summit Therapeutics Inc. key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2024, Summit Therapeutics Inc. had return on equity of -94.9%, debt equal to 0.0% of equity and a current ratio of 10.15. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2016Jan 2016 | 2017Jan 2017 | 2018Jan 2018 | 2019Jan 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Operating margin | — | — | — | 9.4% | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | — | — |
| Net margin | — | −927.6% | −79.3% | 19.0% | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | — | — |
| Free-cash-flow margin | — | 523.4% | −58.6% | −61.8% | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | — | — |
| Return on equity | — | — | — | 40.3% | −76.9% | −108.9% | −75.1% | — | −94.9% |
| Return on assets | — | — | — | — | −51.4% | −82.1% | −20.3% | −141.8% | −69.3% |
| Asset turnover | — | — | — | — | 0.01 | 0.02 | 0.00 | — | — |
| Current ratio | — | — | — | — | 4.41 | 3.80 | 16.93 | 9.30 | 10.15 |
| Debt to equity | — | — | — | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 406.1% | 128.7% | 0.0% |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | — | — | — | 8.7x | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m |
| Effective tax rate | — | — | — | −19.7% | — | — | — | — | — |
| R&D as % of revenue | — | — | — | 91.1% | >999% | >999% | >999% | — | — |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | — | 3.5% | 1.4% | 0.3% | 49.0% | 16.9% | 88.5% | — | — |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | — | — | — | −324.4% | — | — | — | — | — |
| Dividends ÷ net income | — | — | — | 0.0% | — | — | — | — | — |
| Quarter | 2022 Q3Sept 2022 | 2022 Q4Dec 2022 | 2023 Q1Mar 2023 | 2023 Q2Jun 2023 | 2023 Q3Sept 2023 | 2023 Q4Dec 2023 | 2024 Q3Sept 2024 | 2024 Q4Dec 2024 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Operating margin | <−999% | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| Net margin | <−999% | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| Free-cash-flow margin | <−999% | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| Current ratio | 8.22 | 16.93 | 14.22 | 19.07 | 1.80 | 9.30 | 8.31 | 10.15 |
| Debt to equity | — | 390.5% | — | 83.6% | 0.0% | 128.7% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| R&D as % of revenue | >999% | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $721m of assets due within a year against $104m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $721m short-term assets against $19m of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Interest not separately reported. Not assessable.
Moat
Not assessed: fewer than five years of comparable figures in the filings. AI disruption exposure for this industry: Medium.
More: Biotechnology stocks compared, Health Care sector, rankings of US companies