Spok Holdings, Inc key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Spok Holdings, Inc had return on equity of 10.5% and a net margin of 11.4%. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2009Dec 2009 | 2010Dec 2010 | 2011Dec 2011 | 2012Dec 2012 | 2013Dec 2013 | 2014Dec 2014 | 2015Dec 2015 | 2016Dec 2016 | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 | LTMSept 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Net margin | 23.3% | 33.4% | 35.9% | 12.3% | 13.1% | 10.4% | 42.3% | 7.8% | −8.9% | −0.9% | −6.7% | −29.8% | −15.6% | 16.2% | 11.3% | 10.9% | 11.4% | 13.9% |
| Return on equity | 42.5% | 45.4% | 38.8% | 10.8% | 10.6% | 7.6% | 26.4% | 4.3% | −5.0% | −0.5% | −4.1% | −19.7% | −11.9% | 12.7% | 9.4% | 9.4% | 10.5% | 12.9% |
| Return on assets | — | 33.8% | 28.6% | 8.0% | 8.5% | 6.2% | 22.2% | 3.6% | −4.2% | −0.4% | −3.3% | −14.8% | −8.4% | 8.9% | 6.6% | 6.7% | 7.5% | 9.3% |
| Effective tax rate | −16.5% | 29.8% | −45.7% | 41.4% | 39.3% | 24.1% | — | 39.1% | — | — | — | — | — | — | 29.8% | 25.3% | 25.9% | 27.4% |
| R&D as % of revenue | — | — | — | 4.1% | 4.1% | 4.7% | 5.4% | 7.5% | 10.9% | 14.4% | 17.2% | 10.6% | 12.3% | 10.1% | 7.7% | 8.5% | 8.7% | 9.6% |
| Dividends ÷ net income | 67.4% | 56.8% | 26.4% | 61.2% | 44.7% | 52.2% | 17.4% | 73.6% | — | — | — | — | — | 114.4% | 163.7% | 176.3% | 171.6% | 146.2% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $57m of assets due within a year against $44m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $57m short-term assets against $9m of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Interest not separately reported. Not assessable.
Moat
Moderate moat
How hard Spok Holdings's competitive advantage looks for rivals to wear away, judged from 10 years of its own filings: returns on capital, pricing power, profit durability, cash conversion and discipline.
- Returns on capital 20 / 20
Cash operating profit has been a median 21.1% of total assets over 10 years.
- Pricing power 20 / 20
Gross margin has been a median 79.2%, moving by 1.9 percentage points (standard deviation) across 10 years.
- Durability 0 / 20
Operating margin has been a median 3.5%; its worst year was -21.6%.
- Cash conversion 14 / 20
Free cash flow was positive in 9 of 10 years, at a median 9.9% of revenue.
- Discipline 12 / 20
The diluted share count rose 10.7% over five years; stock-based pay has been a median 3.3% of revenue.
AI disruption exposure: Medium. In this industry, AI could change how the product is made or sold, without replacing the core asset. The score above includes a 5-point deduction for that exposure (65 before it).
Compare with peers
- AST Spacemobile, Inc. statistics
- Surgepays, Inc. statistics
- Core AI Holdings, Inc. statistics
- EchoStar statistics
- Vodafone Group Public LTD Co statistics
Head to head: ASTS vs SPOKSPOK vs SURGCHAI vs SPOKECHO vs SPOK
More: Wireless Telecommunication Services stocks compared, Communication Services sector, rankings of US companies