Autolus Therapeutics plc key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Autolus Therapeutics plc had return on equity of -95.0%, an operating margin of -358.9%, debt equal to 0.0% of equity and a current ratio of 5.94. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2016Sept 2016 | 2017Sept 2017 | 2018Sept 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 | LTMJun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | — | — | — | — | 100.0% | −12.5% | −27.8% | 15.7% |
| Operating margin | — | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | −358.9% | −210.8% |
| Net margin | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | −381.4% | −238.7% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | −965.7% | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | −401.4% | −198.3% |
| Return on equity | −40.9% | −22.8% | −22.5% | −48.5% | −113.8% | −81.9% | −95.0% | — |
| Return on assets | — | −13.3% | −21.2% | −42.9% | −61.4% | −38.1% | −41.9% | −51.8% |
| Asset turnover | — | 0.01 | 0.01 | 0.01 | 0.01 | 0.02 | 0.11 | 0.22 |
| Current ratio | — | 28.31 | 15.13 | 9.98 | 6.15 | 10.88 | 5.94 | 4.89 |
| Debt to equity | 0.0% | 0.5% | 0.1% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | — | — | — | — | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m |
| R&D as % of revenue | 861.1% | 945.8% | >999% | >999% | >999% | >999% | 156.1% | 95.9% |
| SG&A as % of revenue | — | — | — | — | >999% | >999% | 174.9% | 130.5% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 153.1% | 169.9% | 648.1% | 630.7% | 647.0% | 218.1% | 25.3% | 6.1% |
| Quarter | 2024 Q3Sept 2024 | 2024 Q4Dec 2024 | 2025 Q1Mar 2025 | 2025 Q2Jun 2025 | 2025 Q3Sept 2025 | 2025 Q4Dec 2025 | 2026 Q1Mar 2026 | 2026 Q2Jun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | — | — | −99.9% | −16.8% | −35.1% | −4.3% | 6.3% | 55.2% |
| Operating margin | — | <−999% | −726.3% | −292.6% | −337.9% | −298.3% | −227.0% | −95.9% |
| Net margin | — | <−999% | −781.1% | −229.0% | −373.3% | −371.9% | −273.1% | −85.6% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | — | <−999% | −933.1% | −382.6% | −341.2% | −273.5% | −259.4% | −56.9% |
| Current ratio | 13.69 | 10.88 | 9.24 | 8.43 | 6.19 | 5.94 | 5.80 | 4.89 |
| R&D as % of revenue | — | >999% | 297.6% | 131.1% | 131.6% | 146.7% | 80.9% | 61.1% |
| SG&A as % of revenue | — | >999% | 328.8% | 144.6% | 171.2% | 147.4% | 152.4% | 90.1% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $336m of assets due within a year against $69m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $336m short-term assets against $350m of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Operating income of −$247m against $42m of interest.
Moat
Not assessed: fewer than five years of comparable figures in the filings. AI disruption exposure for this industry: Medium.
Compare with peers
- Arcus Biosciences, Inc. statistics
- ARS Pharmaceuticals, Inc. statistics
- Mesoblast LTD statistics
- Xencor Inc statistics
- Agenus Inc statistics
Head to head: AUTL vs RCUSAUTL vs SPRYAUTL vs MESO
More: Biotechnology stocks compared, Health Care sector, rankings of US companies