Barrett Business Services Inc key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Barrett Business Services Inc had return on equity of 23.6%, an operating margin of 5.0%, debt equal to 0.0% of equity and a current ratio of 1.29. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2009Dec 2009 | 2010Dec 2010 | 2011Dec 2011 | 2012Dec 2012 | 2013Dec 2013 | 2014Dec 2014 | 2015Dec 2015 | 2016Dec 2016 | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 | LTMJun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 11.4% | 16.4% | 13.8% | 16.6% | 15.4% | 5.2% | 17.5% | 17.3% | 17.2% | 19.8% | 22.1% | 20.8% | 21.4% | 22.3% | 22.7% | 22.1% | 21.0% | 20.0% |
| Operating margin | −3.5% | 2.9% | 1.2% | 4.7% | 3.9% | −6.8% | 4.9% | 3.4% | 3.3% | 3.9% | 5.4% | 4.1% | 4.6% | 5.6% | 5.7% | 5.2% | 5.0% | 4.1% |
| Net margin | −1.7% | 2.7% | 4.5% | 3.3% | 2.9% | −4.0% | 3.4% | 2.2% | 2.7% | 4.0% | 5.1% | 3.8% | 4.0% | 4.5% | 4.7% | 4.6% | 4.4% | 2.8% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 0.9% | 6.0% | 9.6% | 10.4% | 12.3% | 10.2% | 13.2% | 8.7% | 11.9% | 6.8% | 7.0% | −4.1% | −2.3% | 1.1% | 5.2% | −0.4% | 3.8% | 1.2% |
| Return on equity | −4.2% | 7.7% | 14.5% | 17.5% | 27.5% | −52.1% | 58.4% | 30.3% | 31.8% | 36.6% | 33.2% | 18.2% | 18.7% | 24.5% | 26.9% | 25.2% | 23.6% | 15.8% |
| Return on assets | — | 3.9% | 7.0% | 5.8% | 5.8% | −6.7% | 5.4% | 3.5% | 4.0% | 5.3% | 6.0% | 4.1% | 5.0% | 6.6% | 7.2% | 7.2% | 7.1% | 4.7% |
| Asset turnover | — | 1.45 | 1.53 | 1.78 | 1.98 | 1.66 | 1.56 | 1.56 | 1.46 | 1.31 | 1.17 | 1.08 | 1.26 | 1.47 | 1.52 | 1.56 | 1.63 | 1.70 |
| Current ratio | — | 1.76 | 1.63 | 1.25 | 1.44 | 0.81 | 0.96 | 0.86 | 0.96 | 0.98 | 1.24 | 1.40 | 1.29 | 1.36 | 1.30 | 1.32 | 1.29 | 1.14 |
| Debt to equity | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 20.6% | 8.1% | 137.3% | 0.0% | 6.3% | 4.7% | 3.3% | 2.2% | 1.8% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | — | — | 157.4x | — | 88.3x | n/m | 18.5x | 35.9x | 95.7x | 35.2x | 28.2x | 29.1x | 118.1x | — | — | — | — | — |
| Effective tax rate | — | 25.9% | 5.5% | 32.5% | 26.5% | — | 27.5% | 26.5% | 26.8% | 15.0% | 21.0% | 20.7% | 24.8% | 27.6% | 26.6% | 25.2% | 23.7% | 42.0% |
| SG&A as % of revenue | 14.2% | 13.0% | 12.1% | 11.5% | 11.1% | 11.6% | 12.2% | 13.5% | 13.4% | 15.5% | 16.3% | 16.1% | 16.3% | 16.1% | 16.3% | 16.2% | 15.4% | 15.2% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 0.4% | 0.6% | 0.4% | 0.9% | 0.8% | 0.7% | 0.4% | 0.8% | 0.4% | 0.6% | 1.1% | 1.0% | 0.7% | 1.5% | 1.1% | 1.2% | 1.5% | 1.7% |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | — | 222.2% | 210.3% | 319.4% | 421.7% | — | 383.0% | 389.4% | 433.7% | 168.4% | 137.4% | −108.2% | −58.5% | 25.0% | 109.5% | −7.7% | 86.6% | 44.3% |
| Dividends ÷ net income | — | 46.3% | 26.8% | 27.0% | 25.9% | — | 24.8% | 33.8% | 28.9% | 19.3% | 17.0% | 27.0% | 23.8% | 18.0% | 16.0% | 15.3% | 15.0% | 22.8% |
| Dividends and buybacks ÷ free cash flow | 297.0% | 41.7% | 28.6% | 69.1% | 6.1% | 14.0% | 6.5% | 8.7% | 6.7% | 11.5% | 12.4% | — | — | 471.8% | 76.3% | — | 106.3% | 439.0% |
| Quarter | 2024 Q3Sept 2024 | 2024 Q4Dec 2024 | 2025 Q1Mar 2025 | 2025 Q2Jun 2025 | 2025 Q3Sept 2025 | 2025 Q4Dec 2025 | 2026 Q1Mar 2026 | 2026 Q2Jun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 25.3% | 23.4% | 14.6% | 23.8% | 24.1% | 21.3% | 14.1% | 20.3% |
| Operating margin | 8.0% | 6.8% | −1.4% | 7.5% | 7.8% | 5.8% | −2.1% | 4.8% |
| Net margin | 6.7% | 5.5% | −0.3% | 6.0% | 6.5% | 5.1% | −4.8% | 4.0% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | −1.4% | 16.5% | 0.2% | −18.9% | 10.7% | 22.0% | −9.1% | −19.2% |
| Current ratio | 1.31 | 1.32 | 1.21 | 1.25 | 1.27 | 1.29 | 1.16 | 1.14 |
| SG&A as % of revenue | 16.7% | 16.0% | 15.3% | 15.7% | 15.6% | 14.8% | 15.5% | 14.8% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $466m of assets due within a year against $408m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $466m short-term assets against $100m of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Operating income of $52m against $167,000 of interest.
Moat
Weak moat
How hard Barrett Business Services's competitive advantage looks for rivals to wear away, judged from 10 years of its own filings: returns on capital, pricing power, profit durability, cash conversion and discipline.
- Returns on capital 3 / 20
Cash operating profit has been a median 3.8% of total assets over 10 years.
- Pricing power 9 / 20
Gross margin has been a median 21.8%, moving by 1.9 percentage points (standard deviation) across 10 years.
- Durability 8 / 20
Operating margin has been a median 5.1%; its worst year was 3.0%.
- Cash conversion 9 / 20
Free cash flow was positive in 7 of 10 years, at a median 2.9% of revenue.
- Discipline 20 / 20
The diluted share count fell 16.7% over five years; stock-based pay has been a median 0.7% of revenue.
AI disruption exposure: High. In this industry, the core product is information work that AI systems increasingly perform. The score above includes a 15-point deduction for that exposure (48 before it).
Compare with peers
- Kforce Inc statistics
- First Advantage Corp statistics
- Trueblue, Inc. statistics
- Circle8 Group Inc statistics
- Korn Ferry statistics
Head to head: BBSI vs KFRCBBSI vs FABBSI vs TBIBBSI vs CIRC
More: Human Resource & Employment Services stocks compared, Industrials sector, rankings of US companies