BHP Group Ltd key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2026, BHP Group Ltd had return on equity of 19.9%, an operating margin of 40.6%, debt equal to 46.4% of equity and a current ratio of 1.88. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2016Jun 2016 | 2017Jun 2017 | 2018Jun 2018 | 2019Jun 2019 | 2020Jun 2020 | 2021Jun 2021 | 2022Jun 2022 | 2023Jun 2023 | 2024Jun 2024 | 2025Jun 2025 | 2026Jun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Operating margin | 9.8% | 35.1% | 37.1% | 36.4% | 35.2% | 44.8% | 52.4% | 42.6% | 31.5% | 38.0% | 40.6% |
| Net margin | −22.4% | 16.5% | 8.6% | 18.8% | 20.4% | 19.9% | 47.5% | 24.0% | 14.2% | 17.6% | 16.7% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 17.2% | 36.7% | 31.3% | 26.2% | 25.0% | 38.0% | 40.4% | 22.2% | 21.3% | 18.1% | 20.3% |
| Return on equity | −10.6% | 10.0% | 6.6% | 16.2% | 16.7% | 22.8% | 64.2% | 28.9% | 17.7% | 19.5% | 19.9% |
| Return on assets | −5.4% | 5.0% | 3.2% | 7.8% | 7.7% | 10.5% | 30.3% | 13.2% | 7.8% | 8.5% | 8.5% |
| Asset turnover | 0.24 | 0.30 | 0.38 | 0.41 | 0.38 | 0.53 | 0.64 | 0.55 | 0.55 | 0.49 | 0.51 |
| Current ratio | — | 1.85 | 2.51 | 1.89 | 1.45 | 1.63 | 1.69 | 1.23 | 1.70 | 1.46 | 1.88 |
| Debt to equity | 0.0% | 51.7% | 46.8% | 51.0% | 49.3% | 33.3% | 30.8% | 43.4% | 39.3% | 45.2% | 46.4% |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | 2.9x | 11.1x | — | — | 166.9x | — | — | 176.4x | 96.9x | 115.2x | 123.0x |
| Effective tax rate | — | 39.9% | 47.5% | 36.7% | 32.7% | 43.7% | 32.4% | 33.1% | 40.2% | 39.3% | 41.9% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 20.0% | 10.3% | 11.5% | 14.1% | 15.4% | 9.9% | 9.0% | 12.5% | 15.8% | 18.3% | 16.8% |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | — | 222.5% | 363.9% | 139.9% | 122.1% | 191.3% | 85.2% | 92.6% | 150.0% | 103.0% | 121.3% |
| Dividends and buybacks ÷ free cash flow | 2.2% | 0.8% | 1.3% | 44.9% | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $31.0bn of assets due within a year against $16.5bn of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $31.0bn short-term assets against $48.6bn of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Operating income of $23.9bn against $194m of interest.
Moat
Not assessed: fewer than five years of comparable figures in the filings. AI disruption exposure for this industry: Low.
Compare with peers
- Sibanye Stillwater Ltd statistics
- Nexa Resources S.a. statistics
- Materion Corp statistics
- Ferroglobe PLC statistics
- Compass Minerals International Inc statistics
Head to head: BHP vs SBSWBHP vs NEXABHP vs MTRN
More: Diversified Metals & Mining stocks compared, Materials sector, rankings of US companies