Barfresh Food Group Inc. key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Barfresh Food Group Inc. had an operating margin of -24.2%, debt equal to 285.5% of equity and a current ratio of 0.38. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2013Mar 2013 | 2014Mar 2014 | 2015Dec 2015 | 2016Dec 2016 | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 | LTMJun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 0.5% | 55.9% | 42.8% | 47.0% | 44.6% | 50.6% | 53.7% | 29.8% | 37.4% | 15.7% | 35.5% | 34.2% | 21.9% | 13.0% |
| Operating margin | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | −682.0% | −446.2% | −145.9% | −120.4% | −163.9% | −31.3% | −67.9% | −34.6% | −25.9% | −24.2% | −18.9% |
| Net margin | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | −699.2% | −446.2% | −172.9% | −129.9% | −161.7% | −18.9% | −67.0% | −34.7% | −26.4% | −19.0% | −17.9% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | — | — | — | — | −394.1% | −123.6% | −88.7% | −129.6% | −30.0% | −29.0% | — | −21.3% | −12.6% | −20.7% |
| Return on equity | — | −197.4% | — | −170.1% | −118.3% | — | — | — | −23.4% | −107.3% | −103.9% | −183.4% | — | — |
| Return on assets | −290.7% | −113.1% | −191.1% | −131.3% | −103.3% | −130.8% | −102.7% | −75.9% | −16.3% | −80.6% | −54.8% | −69.5% | −33.4% | −28.0% |
| Asset turnover | 0.01 | 0.05 | 0.13 | 0.19 | 0.23 | 0.76 | 0.79 | 0.47 | 0.86 | 1.20 | 1.58 | 2.64 | 1.76 | 1.56 |
| Current ratio | 0.44 | 2.89 | 0.92 | 10.68 | 2.40 | 1.31 | 1.08 | 1.57 | 5.13 | 1.70 | 1.80 | 1.04 | 0.38 | 0.71 |
| Debt to equity | — | 11.0% | 10.3% | 0.1% | 0.0% | — | 549.3% | 83.9% | 6.7% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 143.9% | 285.5% | — |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | — | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | — | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m |
| R&D as % of revenue | >999% | 42.7% | — | 29.6% | 28.8% | 15.9% | 12.5% | 20.1% | 3.7% | 4.2% | 1.4% | 1.2% | 0.9% | 0.7% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | — | — | — | — | 26.8% | 26.1% | 10.8% | 2.3% | 2.3% | 0.1% | — | 0.5% | 0.9% | 5.0% |
| Quarter | 2024 Q3Sept 2024 | 2024 Q4Dec 2024 | 2025 Q1Mar 2025 | 2025 Q2Jun 2025 | 2025 Q3Sept 2025 | 2025 Q4Dec 2025 | 2026 Q1Mar 2026 | 2026 Q2Jun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 34.6% | 26.2% | 30.7% | 31.1% | 36.7% | 2.9% | 18.3% | −3.2% |
| Operating margin | −13.7% | −29.6% | −25.2% | −53.4% | −6.1% | −28.9% | −7.7% | −32.2% |
| Net margin | −14.1% | −30.6% | −26.0% | −54.2% | −6.9% | −14.1% | −11.7% | −39.5% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | −1.4% | −24.3% | −18.2% | −69.8% | −12.9% | 7.9% | −53.8% | −20.9% |
| Current ratio | 1.39 | 1.04 | 1.96 | 1.97 | 1.25 | 0.38 | 1.07 | 0.71 |
| Debt to equity | 17.5% | 38.6% | 7.2% | 8.6% | 31.0% | 263.2% | 47.1% | — |
| R&D as % of revenue | 1.4% | 1.2% | 0.6% | 1.9% | 0.8% | 0.8% | 0.4% | 0.8% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $4m of assets due within a year against $5m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $4m short-term assets against $7m of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt −$3m of operating cash flow against $765,000 of debt.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Operating income of −$4m against $282,000 of interest.
Moat
Weak moat
How hard Barfresh Food Group's competitive advantage looks for rivals to wear away, judged from 10 years of its own filings: returns on capital, pricing power, profit durability, cash conversion and discipline.
- Returns on capital 0 / 20
Cash operating profit has been a median -76.9% of total assets over 5 years.
- Pricing power 5 / 20
Gross margin has been a median 35.0%, moving by 12.9 percentage points (standard deviation) across 10 years.
- Durability 10 / 20
Operating margin has been a median -118.6%; its worst year was -1239.0%.
- Cash conversion 0 / 20
Free cash flow was positive in 0 of 7 years, at a median -58.4% of revenue.
- Discipline 5 / 20
The diluted share count rose 68.9% over five years; stock-based pay has been a median 6.0% of revenue.
AI disruption exposure: Low. In this industry, the business rests on physical assets, regulated networks or products AI itself depends on.
Compare with peers
- Rocky Mountain Chocolate Factory, Inc. statistics
- Branchout Food Inc. statistics
- DDC Enterprise Ltd statistics
- Top Wealth Group Holding Ltd statistics
- Laird Superfood, Inc. statistics
Head to head: BRFH vs RMCFBOF vs BRFHBRFH vs DDCBRFH vs TWG
More: Packaged Foods & Meats stocks compared, Consumer Staples sector, rankings of US companies