Descartes Systems Group Inc key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2026, Descartes Systems Group Inc had return on equity of 10.9%, an operating margin of 28.8%, debt equal to 0.0% of equity and a current ratio of 2.16. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2010Jan 2010 | 2011Jan 2011 | 2012Jan 2012 | 2013Jan 2013 | 2014Jan 2014 | 2015Jan 2015 | 2016Jan 2016 | 2017Jan 2017 | 2018Jan 2018 | 2019Jan 2019 | 2020Jan 2020 | 2021Jan 2021 | 2022Jan 2022 | 2024Jan 2024 | 2025Jan 2025 | 2026Jan 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 68.8% | 65.8% | 66.4% | 66.6% | 67.6% | 67.9% | 70.9% | 72.5% | 73.2% | 72.7% | 73.7% | 74.2% | 76.0% | 75.9% | 75.6% | 77.1% |
| Operating margin | 8.7% | 7.8% | 13.4% | 13.6% | 9.7% | 13.2% | 15.2% | 15.1% | 15.1% | 15.1% | 16.0% | 20.5% | 24.4% | 24.9% | 27.8% | 28.8% |
| Net margin | 19.5% | 11.6% | 10.6% | 12.6% | 6.4% | 8.8% | 11.1% | 11.7% | 11.3% | 11.4% | 11.4% | 14.9% | 20.3% | 20.2% | 22.0% | 22.5% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 20.2% | 18.4% | 16.8% | 21.2% | 26.6% | 27.4% | 27.0% | 33.2% | 28.2% | 26.5% | 30.5% | 36.6% | 40.3% | 35.3% | 32.6% | 35.7% |
| Return on equity | 7.6% | 5.9% | 5.7% | 7.0% | 3.9% | 4.7% | 5.2% | 5.7% | 5.8% | 6.1% | 5.5% | 6.0% | 9.0% | 10.4% | 10.9% | 10.9% |
| Return on assets | — | 4.8% | 4.8% | 6.0% | 3.1% | 3.8% | 4.6% | 5.0% | 4.8% | 4.9% | 4.6% | 5.2% | 7.7% | — | 8.7% | 9.2% |
| Asset turnover | — | 0.41 | 0.46 | 0.47 | 0.49 | 0.43 | 0.41 | 0.43 | 0.42 | 0.43 | 0.41 | 0.35 | 0.38 | — | 0.40 | 0.41 |
| Current ratio | — | 4.38 | 4.04 | 2.85 | 2.49 | 3.92 | 1.87 | 1.35 | 1.11 | 1.03 | 1.13 | 1.95 | 2.19 | — | 1.62 | 2.16 |
| Debt to equity | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 16.2% | — | 0.0% | 0.0% | 7.4% | 4.8% | — | 0.0% | 0.0% | — | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | — | — | — | — | 14.8x | 20.8x | 53.8x | 50.2x | 27.7x | 19.5x | 11.8x | 60.2x | 92.1x | 104.8x | 180.4x | — |
| Effective tax rate | — | −45.5% | 21.9% | 7.1% | 30.0% | 31.0% | 26.0% | 24.3% | 22.6% | 20.8% | 23.0% | 26.0% | 15.9% | 23.3% | 25.2% | 24.6% |
| R&D as % of revenue | 19.6% | 17.1% | 16.7% | 16.8% | 17.1% | 16.4% | 16.9% | 17.4% | 17.6% | 17.4% | 16.4% | 15.5% | 14.7% | 14.7% | 14.7% | 14.4% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 2.2% | 1.7% | 4.2% | 2.8% | 1.6% | 1.6% | 2.3% | 2.4% | 2.1% | 1.9% | 1.5% | 1.1% | 1.1% | 1.0% | 1.0% | 0.8% |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | 103.9% | 158.0% | 159.6% | 167.8% | 418.5% | 310.8% | 242.8% | 283.9% | 249.5% | 232.9% | 268.5% | 244.7% | 198.5% | 174.4% | 148.3% | 159.1% |
| Dividends and buybacks ÷ free cash flow | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | 0.3% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $482m of assets due within a year against $223m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $482m short-term assets against $54m of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Operating income of $210m against $967,000 of interest.
Moat
Not assessed: fewer than five years of comparable figures in the filings. AI disruption exposure for this industry: High.
Compare with peers
- Blackline, Inc. statistics
- 8x8 Inc statistics
- Qualys, Inc. statistics
- Varonis Systems Inc statistics
- SPS Commerce Inc statistics
Head to head: BL vs DSGXDSGX vs EGHTDSGX vs QLYSDSGX vs VRNS
More: Application Software stocks compared, Technology sector, rankings of US companies