Blackline, Inc. key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Blackline, Inc. had return on equity of 6.3%, an operating margin of 3.6%, debt equal to 269.6% of equity and a current ratio of 1.47. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2014Dec 2014 | 2015Dec 2015 | 2016Dec 2016 | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 | LTMJun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 67.9% | 72.8% | 79.5% | 75.8% | 77.7% | 79.6% | 80.4% | 77.0% | 75.3% | 75.1% | 75.2% | 75.2% | 75.6% |
| Operating margin | −35.2% | −41.6% | −18.8% | −17.2% | −13.1% | −9.7% | −5.7% | −9.1% | −10.7% | 2.4% | 2.8% | 3.6% | 4.3% |
| Net margin | −32.4% | −29.6% | −21.4% | −18.9% | −12.6% | −11.3% | −13.3% | −27.1% | −5.6% | 9.0% | 24.7% | 3.5% | 4.7% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 14.5% | −10.9% | −5.3% | 1.4% | 4.3% | 8.7% | 13.7% | 16.8% | 8.6% | 20.5% | 28.9% | 23.1% | 24.1% |
| Return on equity | −9.1% | −13.9% | −11.0% | −10.7% | −9.0% | −9.1% | −11.4% | −30.8% | −13.5% | 28.3% | 45.6% | 6.3% | 10.7% |
| Return on assets | — | −8.6% | −7.4% | −7.6% | −6.0% | −4.3% | −4.4% | −7.9% | −1.6% | 2.6% | 8.2% | 1.4% | 2.2% |
| Asset turnover | — | 0.29 | 0.35 | 0.40 | 0.48 | 0.38 | 0.33 | 0.29 | 0.28 | 0.29 | 0.33 | 0.39 | 0.45 |
| Current ratio | — | 0.65 | 1.51 | 1.40 | 1.39 | 3.49 | 2.78 | 4.18 | 3.40 | 2.19 | 2.59 | 1.47 | 1.72 |
| Debt to equity | 0.0% | 17.3% | 21.6% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 96.4% | 96.4% | 342.8% | >999% | 532.7% | 199.9% | 269.6% | 211.1% |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | 2.4x | 2.1x | 2.5x | 3.2x |
| Effective tax rate | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | 2.4% | −34.5% | 43.5% | 41.3% |
| R&D as % of revenue | 18.8% | 21.8% | 17.2% | 13.5% | 13.5% | 14.9% | 16.1% | 18.2% | 20.8% | 17.5% | 15.5% | 15.6% | 16.0% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 2.8% | 12.1% | 1.4% | 2.3% | 2.8% | 1.6% | 1.9% | 2.1% | 2.1% | 1.0% | 0.3% | 1.2% | 0.7% |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | 228.4% | 117.1% | 658.7% | 507.7% |
| Dividends and buybacks ÷ free cash flow | 3.0% | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | 0.0% | 145.9% | 130.9% |
| Quarter | 2024 Q3Sept 2024 | 2024 Q4Dec 2024 | 2025 Q1Mar 2025 | 2025 Q2Jun 2025 | 2025 Q3Sept 2025 | 2025 Q4Dec 2025 | 2026 Q1Mar 2026 | 2026 Q2Jun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 75.2% | 75.6% | 75.5% | 75.2% | 75.1% | 75.2% | 76.0% | 76.0% |
| Operating margin | 5.0% | 3.7% | 2.1% | 4.4% | 4.3% | 3.7% | 3.4% | 5.9% |
| Net margin | 10.4% | 33.3% | 3.6% | 4.8% | 3.0% | 2.7% | 4.4% | 8.8% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 33.5% | 25.4% | 24.4% | 18.2% | 35.5% | 14.2% | 24.1% | 22.9% |
| Current ratio | 2.69 | 2.59 | 1.66 | 1.64 | 1.52 | 1.47 | 1.70 | 1.72 |
| R&D as % of revenue | 15.5% | 14.5% | 15.4% | 16.3% | 15.3% | 15.4% | 16.7% | 16.7% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $748m of assets due within a year against $435m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $748m short-term assets against $694m of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Operating income of $32m against $10m of interest.
Moat
Weak moat
How hard Blackline's competitive advantage looks for rivals to wear away, judged from 10 years of its own filings: returns on capital, pricing power, profit durability, cash conversion and discipline.
- Returns on capital 3 / 20
Cash operating profit has been a median 4.0% of total assets over 8 years.
- Pricing power 20 / 20
Gross margin has been a median 75.7%, moving by 1.7 percentage points (standard deviation) across 10 years.
- Durability 10 / 20
Operating margin has been a median -8.5%; its worst year was -16.2%.
- Cash conversion 16 / 20
Free cash flow was positive in 9 of 10 years, at a median 13.0% of revenue.
- Discipline 1 / 20
The diluted share count rose 18.5% over five years; stock-based pay has been a median 12.8% of revenue.
AI disruption exposure: High. In this industry, the core product is information work that AI systems increasingly perform. The score above includes a 15-point deduction for that exposure (49 before it).
Compare with peers
- Descartes Systems Group Inc statistics
- 8x8 Inc statistics
- Qualys, Inc. statistics
- Varonis Systems Inc statistics
- SPS Commerce Inc statistics
Head to head: BL vs DSGXBL vs EGHTBL vs QLYSBL vs VRNS
More: Application Software stocks compared, Technology sector, rankings of US companies