New Oriental Education & Technology Group Inc. key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2026, New Oriental Education & Technology Group Inc. had return on equity of 12.4%, an operating margin of 11.4% and a current ratio of 1.50. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2010May 2010 | 2011May 2011 | 2012May 2012 | 2013May 2013 | 2014May 2014 | 2015May 2015 | 2016May 2016 | 2017May 2017 | 2018May 2018 | 2019May 2019 | 2020May 2020 | 2021May 2021 | 2022May 2022 | 2023May 2023 | 2024May 2024 | 2025May 2025 | 2026May 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 61.9% | 60.4% | 61.1% | 60.0% | 60.3% | 57.8% | 58.4% | 58.3% | 56.5% | 55.6% | 55.6% | 52.4% | 43.5% | 53.0% | 52.5% | 55.4% | 54.6% |
| Operating margin | 20.0% | 17.4% | 16.0% | 12.8% | 17.3% | 12.3% | 13.4% | 14.6% | 10.7% | 9.9% | 11.1% | 2.7% | −31.6% | 6.3% | 8.1% | 8.7% | 11.4% |
| Net margin | 20.1% | 18.9% | 17.6% | 14.2% | 18.9% | 15.5% | 15.2% | 15.3% | 12.1% | 7.7% | 11.5% | 7.8% | −38.2% | 5.9% | 7.2% | 7.6% | 8.4% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 31.7% | 30.9% | 23.6% | 23.1% | 28.9% | 25.6% | 31.1% | 28.7% | 23.2% | 17.3% | 13.8% | 16.4% | −46.1% | 27.6% | 20.2% | 13.4% | 13.8% |
| Return on equity | 18.2% | 20.3% | 21.0% | 17.6% | 22.9% | 17.2% | 17.1% | 17.8% | 16.1% | 10.9% | 16.2% | 8.7% | −27.6% | 4.9% | 8.4% | 10.0% | 12.4% |
| Return on assets | 13.0% | 13.9% | 13.3% | 11.0% | 14.6% | 10.9% | 10.4% | 10.4% | 8.6% | 5.5% | 7.4% | 4.0% | −14.7% | 2.9% | 4.4% | 4.8% | 5.7% |
| Asset turnover | 0.65 | 0.74 | 0.76 | 0.77 | 0.77 | 0.70 | 0.69 | 0.68 | 0.71 | 0.72 | 0.64 | 0.51 | 0.38 | 0.48 | 0.62 | 0.64 | 0.68 |
| Current ratio | 2.75 | 2.34 | 2.04 | 2.19 | 2.14 | 1.86 | 2.04 | 1.93 | 1.68 | 1.73 | 1.52 | 1.89 | 2.62 | 1.96 | 1.80 | 1.58 | 1.50 |
| Debt to equity | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 4.1% | 4.3% | 6.1% | 1.8% | 0.4% | 0.4% | 0.4% | — |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | 189.2x | 86.2x | 17.4x | n/m | — | — | — | — |
| Effective tax rate | 7.2% | 7.5% | 7.5% | 10.0% | 10.7% | 11.9% | 14.0% | 15.3% | 16.6% | 27.1% | 27.5% | 26.5% | — | 21.4% | 22.2% | 27.3% | 26.8% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 5.1% | 9.1% | 9.5% | 6.4% | 2.8% | 4.4% | 4.4% | 5.9% | 8.8% | 8.7% | 8.6% | 10.0% | 4.9% | 4.8% | 5.8% | 4.9% | 4.4% |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | 157.3% | 163.8% | 133.9% | 163.0% | 152.8% | 165.2% | 204.5% | 188.4% | 191.4% | 225.4% | 119.7% | 209.6% | — | 466.9% | 282.1% | 176.1% | 164.2% |
| Dividends ÷ net income | — | — | — | 34.5% | 25.3% | — | 27.9% | — | 24.0% | — | — | — | — | — | — | 26.4% | 20.3% |
| Dividends and buybacks ÷ free cash flow | 24.5% | — | — | 34.0% | 23.0% | 18.6% | 13.6% | — | 12.6% | 10.4% | — | — | — | 23.1% | 7.2% | 83.1% | 41.9% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $5.8bn of assets due within a year against $3.9bn of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $5.8bn short-term assets against $578m of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Operating income of $643m against $28,000 of interest.
Moat
Moderate moat
How hard New Oriental Education & Technology Group's competitive advantage looks for rivals to wear away, judged from 5 years of its own filings: returns on capital, pricing power, profit durability, cash conversion and discipline.
- Returns on capital 11 / 20
Net income has been a median 7.4% of total assets over 5 years.
- Pricing power 15 / 20
Gross margin has been a median 56.5%, moving by 6.5 percentage points (standard deviation) across 5 years.
- Durability 3 / 20
Operating margin has been a median 11.4%; its worst year was -31.6%.
- Cash conversion 18 / 20
Free cash flow was positive in 4 of 5 years, at a median 23.2% of revenue.
AI disruption exposure: Medium. In this industry, AI could change how the product is made or sold, without replacing the core asset. The score above includes a 5-point deduction for that exposure (57 before it).
Compare with peers
- TAL Education Group statistics
- Kindercare Learning Companies, Inc. statistics
- Stride, Inc. statistics
- Covista Inc. statistics
- Laureate Education, Inc. statistics
Head to head: EDU vs TALEDU vs KLCEDU vs LRN
More: Education Services stocks compared, Consumer Discretionary sector, rankings of US companies