TAL Education Group key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2026, TAL Education Group had return on equity of 14.1%, an operating margin of 9.2%, debt equal to 0.0% of equity and a current ratio of 2.17. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2010Feb 2010 | 2011Feb 2011 | 2012Feb 2012 | 2013Feb 2013 | 2014Feb 2014 | 2015Feb 2015 | 2016Feb 2016 | 2017Feb 2017 | 2018Feb 2018 | 2019Feb 2019 | 2020Feb 2020 | 2021Feb 2021 | 2022Feb 2022 | 2023Feb 2023 | 2024Feb 2024 | 2025Feb 2025 | 2026Feb 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 46.0% | 49.2% | 46.2% | 48.8% | 51.7% | 53.2% | 51.0% | 49.9% | 48.6% | 54.6% | 55.1% | 54.4% | 49.8% | 57.2% | 54.1% | 53.3% | 55.4% |
| Operating margin | 22.2% | 23.1% | 11.8% | 13.9% | 18.3% | 15.5% | 13.7% | 12.9% | 12.2% | 13.3% | 4.2% | −9.7% | −14.0% | −8.9% | −4.6% | −0.1% | 9.2% |
| Net margin | 20.6% | 21.7% | 13.7% | 14.8% | 19.3% | 15.5% | 16.6% | 11.2% | 11.6% | 14.3% | −3.4% | −2.6% | −25.9% | −13.3% | −0.2% | 3.8% | 17.6% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 33.8% | 44.0% | 0.4% | 26.2% | 28.9% | 26.9% | 26.1% | 29.5% | 32.6% | 2.2% | 20.7% | 15.8% | −27.0% | −10.1% | 13.0% | 12.7% | 16.9% |
| Return on equity | 79.5% | 27.8% | 14.1% | 17.5% | 26.8% | 23.4% | 27.4% | 21.6% | 17.5% | 17.9% | −4.4% | −3.0% | −24.6% | −3.4% | −0.1% | 2.3% | 14.1% |
| Return on assets | — | 11.0% | 9.5% | 11.0% | 16.3% | 11.2% | 11.2% | 8.1% | 8.1% | 10.8% | −2.4% | −1.3% | −13.2% | −2.8% | −0.1% | 1.6% | 9.3% |
| Asset turnover | — | 0.51 | 0.69 | 0.74 | 0.84 | 0.72 | 0.68 | 0.72 | 0.70 | 0.76 | 0.70 | 0.51 | 0.51 | 0.21 | 0.31 | 0.43 | 0.53 |
| Current ratio | — | 3.28 | 2.01 | 1.82 | 1.80 | 2.32 | 1.35 | 1.31 | 1.47 | 1.47 | 1.38 | 2.42 | 4.02 | 4.42 | 3.42 | 2.86 | 2.17 |
| Debt to equity | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.3% | 72.2% | 52.1% | 34.9% | 14.6% | 8.5% | 10.4% | 5.2% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | — | — | — | — | — | 11.6x | 11.3x | 10.2x | 12.5x | 19.4x | 11.6x | n/m | n/m | — | — | — | — |
| Effective tax rate | 8.8% | 9.7% | 14.6% | 10.9% | 9.9% | 12.1% | 24.5% | 22.0% | 18.1% | 16.7% | — | — | — | — | 88.0% | 29.0% | 22.5% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 5.5% | 4.7% | 40.9% | 2.7% | 3.5% | 7.1% | 5.7% | 6.8% | 7.4% | 5.4% | 5.4% | 5.5% | 5.6% | 10.8% | 7.6% | 5.0% | 3.1% |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | 164.2% | 202.4% | 3.1% | 177.2% | 149.7% | 174.0% | 157.5% | 263.4% | 281.7% | 15.2% | — | — | — | — | — | 338.3% | 95.8% |
| Dividends ÷ net income | — | 124.8% | — | 116.7% | — | — | 0.0% | 0.0% | 20.7% | 0.0% | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| Dividends and buybacks ÷ free cash flow | — | 61.7% | — | 70.0% | — | — | 0.0% | 0.0% | 7.4% | 0.0% | — | 1.4% | — | — | 120.7% | 4.6% | 126.7% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $3.8bn of assets due within a year against $1.8bn of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $3.8bn short-term assets against $395m of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Interest not separately reported. Not assessable.
Moat
Moderate moat
How hard TAL Education Group's competitive advantage looks for rivals to wear away, judged from 5 years of its own filings: returns on capital, pricing power, profit durability, cash conversion and discipline.
- Pricing power 16 / 20
Gross margin has been a median 49.8%, moving by 3.1 percentage points (standard deviation) across 5 years.
- Durability 3 / 20
Operating margin has been a median 12.2%; its worst year was -14.0%.
- Cash conversion 18 / 20
Free cash flow was positive in 4 of 5 years, at a median 28.9% of revenue.
AI disruption exposure: Medium. In this industry, AI could change how the product is made or sold, without replacing the core asset. The score above includes a 5-point deduction for that exposure (61 before it).
Compare with peers
- Kindercare Learning Companies, Inc. statistics
- Stride, Inc. statistics
- Covista Inc. statistics
- Laureate Education, Inc. statistics
- New Oriental Education & Technology Group Inc. statistics
Head to head: KLC vs TALLRN vs TALCVSA vs TALEDU vs TAL
More: Education Services stocks compared, Consumer Discretionary sector, rankings of US companies