Ramaco Resources, Inc. key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Ramaco Resources, Inc. had return on equity of -12.2%, an operating margin of -10.4%, debt equal to 96.7% of equity and a current ratio of 5.46. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2016Dec 2016 | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 | LTMJun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | — | 0.8% | 22.4% | 3.8% | 13.9% | 31.0% | 41.1% | 28.8% | 20.0% | 15.5% | 13.5% |
| Operating margin | −144.4% | −26.0% | 10.6% | 17.5% | −11.3% | 13.9% | 26.6% | 13.7% | 2.5% | −10.4% | −14.1% |
| Net margin | −144.1% | −25.3% | 11.0% | 14.8% | −2.9% | 14.0% | 20.5% | 11.9% | 1.7% | −9.6% | −12.0% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | −394.6% | −136.8% | −5.3% | −2.0% | −6.8% | 8.4% | 11.5% | 11.3% | 8.6% | −11.3% | −22.2% |
| Return on equity | — | −28.4% | 19.7% | 16.0% | −2.9% | 20.9% | 44.6% | 24.3% | 3.1% | −12.2% | −14.4% |
| Return on assets | −6.3% | −11.5% | 14.9% | 12.0% | −2.2% | 14.3% | 25.1% | 13.0% | 1.7% | −5.7% | −5.7% |
| Asset turnover | 0.04 | 0.46 | 1.35 | 0.81 | 0.74 | 1.02 | 1.22 | 1.10 | 0.99 | 0.59 | 0.48 |
| Current ratio | 4.12 | 1.31 | 1.17 | 1.68 | 1.46 | 1.86 | 0.91 | 1.12 | 1.37 | 5.46 | 4.23 |
| Debt to equity | — | 0.0% | 6.7% | 7.6% | 10.3% | 21.6% | 41.7% | 24.7% | 24.4% | 96.7% | 120.4% |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | n/m | n/m | 16.9x | 24.8x | n/m | 15.5x | — | — | — | — | — |
| Effective tax rate | — | — | 0.4% | 17.2% | — | 10.5% | 20.6% | 21.4% | 25.0% | — | — |
| SG&A as % of revenue | 142.9% | 20.6% | 6.2% | 10.8% | 12.4% | 7.6% | 7.1% | 7.0% | 7.4% | 12.9% | 14.3% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 320.6% | 122.9% | 21.2% | 27.1% | 14.7% | 10.4% | 21.7% | 12.0% | 8.3% | 11.7% | 14.0% |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | — | — | −47.7% | −13.4% | — | 60.0% | 55.9% | 94.9% | 513.1% | — | — |
| Dividends ÷ net income | — | — | — | — | — | 50.3% | 17.3% | 31.4% | 219.8% | — | — |
| Dividends and buybacks ÷ free cash flow | — | — | — | — | — | 83.8% | 30.9% | 33.0% | 42.8% | — | — |
| Quarter | 2024 Q3Sept 2024 | 2024 Q4Dec 2024 | 2025 Q1Mar 2025 | 2025 Q2Jun 2025 | 2025 Q3Sept 2025 | 2025 Q4Dec 2025 | 2026 Q1Mar 2026 | 2026 Q2Jun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 19.5% | 20.4% | 15.2% | 12.3% | 15.8% | 16.4% | 10.8% | 11.5% |
| Operating margin | 1.0% | 3.7% | −8.9% | −9.1% | −12.0% | −12.2% | −20.0% | −12.6% |
| Net margin | −0.1% | 2.3% | −7.0% | −9.1% | −11.0% | −11.5% | −15.1% | −10.6% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 15.3% | 3.0% | 4.3% | −12.7% | −13.3% | −24.2% | −42.8% | −10.3% |
| Current ratio | 1.35 | 1.37 | 1.32 | 1.36 | 2.97 | 5.46 | 4.88 | 4.23 |
| Debt to equity | 12.0% | 0.1% | 0.1% | 0.1% | 22.1% | 96.7% | 0.0% | — |
| SG&A as % of revenue | 7.7% | 6.6% | 10.8% | 9.9% | 13.3% | 15.3% | 16.7% | 12.1% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $461m of assets due within a year against $109m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $461m short-term assets against $540m of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Operating income of −$73m against −$15m of interest.
Moat
Weak moat
How hard Ramaco Resources's competitive advantage looks for rivals to wear away, judged from 10 years of its own filings: returns on capital, pricing power, profit durability, cash conversion and discipline.
- Returns on capital 16 / 20
Cash operating profit has been a median 12.3% of total assets over 9 years.
- Pricing power 3 / 20
Gross margin has been a median 23.8%, moving by 8.5 percentage points (standard deviation) across 9 years.
- Durability 0 / 20
Operating margin has been a median 3.7%; its worst year was -35.9%.
- Cash conversion 7 / 20
Free cash flow was positive in 6 of 10 years, at a median 1.1% of revenue.
AI disruption exposure: Medium. In this industry, AI could change how the product is made or sold, without replacing the core asset. The score above includes a 5-point deduction for that exposure (31 before it).
Compare with peers
- Nacco Industries Inc statistics
- Warrior MET Coal, Inc. statistics
- Alpha Metallurgical Resources, Inc. statistics
- Alliance Resource Partners LP statistics
- Cameco Corp statistics
Head to head: METC vs NCHCC vs METCAMR vs METC
More: Coal & Consumable Fuels stocks compared, Energy sector, rankings of US companies