Niu Technologies key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Niu Technologies had return on equity of -4.3%, an operating margin of -2.0%, debt equal to 43.6% of equity and a current ratio of 1.18. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2016Dec 2016 | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | −3.6% | 7.1% | 13.4% | 23.4% | 22.9% | 21.9% | 21.1% | 21.5% | 15.2% | 19.6% |
| Operating margin | −63.8% | −18.4% | −21.3% | 9.0% | 7.0% | 6.8% | −2.8% | −12.0% | −7.6% | −2.0% |
| Net margin | −65.6% | −24.0% | −23.6% | 9.2% | 6.9% | 6.1% | −1.6% | −10.3% | −5.9% | −0.9% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | −37.6% | 7.4% | −1.6% | — | — | 1.3% | −8.1% | 0.6% | −2.1% | 4.1% |
| Return on equity | — | — | — | 28.0% | 18.4% | 20.0% | −3.8% | −22.3% | −19.1% | −4.3% |
| Return on assets | — | −35.3% | −42.3% | 14.1% | 9.8% | 10.5% | −2.0% | −11.4% | −8.1% | −1.4% |
| Asset turnover | — | 1.47 | 1.79 | 1.54 | 1.42 | 1.72 | 1.26 | 1.11 | 1.37 | 1.54 |
| Current ratio | — | 0.70 | 1.88 | 1.89 | 1.88 | 1.68 | 1.69 | 1.64 | 1.31 | 1.18 |
| Debt to equity | — | — | 31.6% | 27.5% | 18.1% | 14.2% | 24.2% | 15.3% | 31.6% | 43.6% |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | n/m | n/m | n/m | 16.4x | 23.1x | 40.9x | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m |
| Effective tax rate | — | — | — | 4.1% | 11.1% | 17.2% | — | — | — | — |
| R&D as % of revenue | 9.3% | 5.1% | 6.2% | 3.2% | 4.3% | 3.7% | 5.6% | 5.7% | 4.0% | 3.9% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 2.9% | 3.0% | 2.2% | — | — | 7.7% | 4.3% | 3.0% | 3.6% | 4.1% |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | — | — | — | — | — | 21.4% | — | — | — | — |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $337m of assets due within a year against $286m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $337m short-term assets against $6m of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Operating income of −$12m against $853,033 of interest.
Moat
Not assessed: fewer than five years of comparable figures in the filings. AI disruption exposure for this industry: Medium.
Compare with peers
- Lotus Technology Inc. statistics
- Gogoro Inc. statistics
- Lucid Group, Inc. statistics
- Winnebago Industries Inc statistics
- Polestar Automotive Holding UK PLC statistics
Head to head: LOT vs NIUGGR vs NIULCID vs NIU
More: Automobile Manufacturers stocks compared, Consumer Discretionary sector, rankings of US companies