NEW York Times Co key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, NEW York Times Co had return on equity of 17.3% and a net margin of 12.2%. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2009Dec 2009 | 2010Dec 2010 | 2011Dec 2011 | 2012Dec 2012 | 2013Dec 2013 | 2014Dec 2014 | 2015Dec 2015 | 2016Dec 2016 | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 | LTMJun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Net margin | 0.8% | 5.4% | −2.4% | 8.5% | 4.1% | 2.1% | 4.0% | 1.9% | 0.3% | 7.2% | 7.7% | 5.6% | 10.6% | 7.5% | 9.6% | 11.4% | 12.2% | 13.2% |
| Return on equity | 3.3% | 17.0% | −6.3% | 22.7% | 8.7% | 4.2% | 8.1% | 3.5% | 0.5% | 13.0% | 12.7% | 8.0% | 15.4% | 11.1% | 13.8% | 15.9% | 17.3% | 19.2% |
| Return on assets | 0.6% | 3.4% | −1.2% | 4.8% | 2.4% | 1.3% | 2.5% | 1.3% | 0.2% | 5.8% | 6.5% | 4.6% | 9.0% | 6.8% | 8.9% | 10.6% | 11.8% | 13.1% |
| Effective tax rate | 58.4% | 37.7% | 32.4% | 36.6% | 40.0% | −11.9% | 35.0% | 14.5% | 93.5% | 27.6% | 14.9% | 12.6% | 24.3% | 26.3% | 23.1% | 23.4% | 23.8% | 21.3% |
| R&D as % of revenue | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | 4.8% | 5.9% | 7.5% | 7.8% | 8.8% | 9.4% | 9.6% | 9.4% | 9.2% |
| SG&A as % of revenue | 47.2% | 45.9% | 44.2% | 44.6% | 44.8% | 47.9% | 45.2% | 46.8% | 48.6% | 0.0% | 0.0% | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| Dividends ÷ net income | — | — | — | 0.0% | 9.3% | 74.6% | 42.1% | 89.1% | 605.3% | 21.0% | 22.6% | 38.4% | 20.6% | 32.7% | 29.9% | 28.2% | 32.1% | 32.1% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $1.0bn of assets due within a year against $648m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities Not assessable from the reported split. Not assessable.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Interest not separately reported. Not assessable.
Moat
Moderate moat
How hard NEW York Times's competitive advantage looks for rivals to wear away, judged from 10 years of its own filings: returns on capital, pricing power, profit durability, cash conversion and discipline.
- Returns on capital 10 / 20
Net income has been a median 7.0% of total assets over 10 years.
- Durability 12 / 20
Operating margin has been a median 11.0%; its worst year was 7.4%.
- Cash conversion 14 / 20
Free cash flow was positive in 9 of 10 years, at a median 10.4% of revenue.
- Discipline 17 / 20
The diluted share count fell 2.3% over five years; stock-based pay has been a median 1.1% of revenue.
AI disruption exposure: High. In this industry, the core product is information work that AI systems increasingly perform. The score above includes a 15-point deduction for that exposure (67 before it).
Compare with peers
- USA Today Co., Inc. statistics
- John Wiley & Sons, Inc. statistics
- Scholastic Corp statistics
- News Corp (Class A) statistics
- LEE Enterprises, Inc statistics
Head to head: NYT vs TDAYNYT vs WLYNYT vs SCHLNWSA vs NYT
More: Publishing stocks compared, Communication Services sector, rankings of US companies