Opera Ltd key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Opera Ltd had return on equity of 11.1%, an operating margin of 14.7%, debt equal to 0.0% of equity and a current ratio of 2.35. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 96.9% | 87.6% | 99.9% | 99.6% | 97.8% | 85.9% | 78.4% | — | — |
| Operating margin | 7.9% | 27.5% | −0.3% | −1.5% | −2.5% | 12.6% | 15.8% | 19.2% | 14.7% |
| Net margin | 4.7% | 21.8% | 32.7% | 108.6% | −17.5% | 4.5% | 38.6% | 16.8% | 17.6% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 6.3% | 19.3% | −30.1% | 55.0% | 10.2% | 16.2% | 20.4% | 17.0% | 18.2% |
| Return on equity | 1.0% | 5.2% | 6.9% | 18.3% | −4.3% | 1.6% | 17.0% | 8.7% | 11.1% |
| Return on assets | 1.0% | 4.8% | 6.1% | 16.5% | −4.0% | 1.5% | 15.5% | 7.8% | 9.8% |
| Asset turnover | 0.20 | 0.22 | 0.19 | 0.15 | 0.23 | 0.32 | 0.40 | 0.47 | 0.56 |
| Current ratio | 2.02 | 7.00 | 3.25 | 4.05 | 7.64 | 5.29 | 2.56 | 2.29 | 2.35 |
| Debt to equity | 0.7% | 0.6% | 6.1% | 0.9% | 1.3% | 0.9% | 1.1% | — | 0.0% |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | 43.0x | — | n/m | n/m | n/m | 148.3x | 176.7x | 178.1x | 195.4x |
| Effective tax rate | 19.2% | 15.9% | 6.1% | 0.2% | — | 37.0% | 4.2% | 17.9% | 13.5% |
| R&D as % of revenue | 18.1% | 16.4% | 19.3% | 23.5% | 17.6% | 13.2% | 11.6% | 11.3% | 9.7% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 2.7% | 1.6% | 5.0% | 1.5% | 0.4% | 1.0% | 0.5% | 4.9% | 0.9% |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | 134.1% | 88.8% | −92.1% | 50.7% | — | 355.7% | 52.8% | 101.1% | 103.6% |
| Dividends ÷ net income | — | — | — | — | — | 0.0% | 15.1% | 46.3% | 65.7% |
| Dividends and buybacks ÷ free cash flow | — | 15.6% | — | 54.0% | 2.9% | 273.2% | 69.0% | 45.9% | 63.4% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $279m of assets due within a year against $119m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $279m short-term assets against $14m of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Operating income of $90m against $461,000 of interest.
Moat
Not assessed: fewer than five years of comparable figures in the filings. AI disruption exposure for this industry: Medium.
Compare with peers
- Sohu.com Ltd statistics
- Genius Sports Ltd statistics
- Cars.com Inc. statistics
- Grindr Inc. statistics
- Everquote, Inc. statistics
Head to head: OPRA vs SOHUGENI vs OPRACARS vs OPRA
More: Interactive Media & Services stocks compared, Communication Services sector, rankings of US companies