Sohu.com Ltd key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Sohu.com Ltd had return on equity of 35.8%, an operating margin of -16.1%, debt equal to 0.0% of equity and a current ratio of 2.90. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2016Dec 2016 | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 47.9% | 46.3% | 58.1% | 63.8% | 71.0% | 75.5% | 73.9% | 75.7% | 72.3% | 77.5% |
| Operating margin | −7.1% | −10.7% | −24.4% | −10.6% | 9.8% | 11.7% | −0.1% | −14.5% | −18.3% | −16.1% |
| Net margin | −13.6% | −31.3% | −23.2% | −22.2% | −11.5% | 111.0% | −2.4% | −5.1% | −16.8% | 67.4% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 8.2% | 6.2% | 8.5% | 29.0% | 11.9% | −8.3% | 3.2% | −4.8% | −8.2% | −0.9% |
| Return on equity | −14.4% | −48.0% | −23.9% | −29.4% | −22.2% | 113.3% | −1.4% | −2.8% | −10.1% | 35.8% |
| Return on assets | — | −16.4% | −4.7% | −4.9% | −3.1% | 36.6% | −0.8% | −1.6% | −5.5% | 23.4% |
| Asset turnover | — | 0.52 | 0.20 | 0.22 | 0.27 | 0.33 | 0.35 | 0.31 | 0.33 | 0.35 |
| Current ratio | — | 2.28 | 1.90 | 1.83 | 1.76 | 3.16 | 3.18 | 3.26 | 3.24 | 2.90 |
| Debt to equity | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | — | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | — | — | n/m | n/m | 11.8x | 13.0x | — | — | — | — |
| Effective tax rate | — | — | — | — | — | 47.3% | — | — | — | — |
| R&D as % of revenue | 21.4% | 23.3% | 35.7% | 34.9% | 32.3% | 32.2% | 35.5% | 46.6% | 42.7% | 42.4% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 6.4% | 4.4% | 3.7% | 2.2% | 0.8% | 0.8% | 1.2% | 0.5% | 0.2% | 0.1% |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | — | — | — | — | — | −7.4% | — | — | — | −1.4% |
| Dividends and buybacks ÷ free cash flow | — | — | — | 0.0% | 0.0% | — | 346.0% | — | — | — |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $968m of assets due within a year against $334m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $968m short-term assets against $24m of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Interest not separately reported. Not assessable.
Moat
Not assessed: fewer than five years of comparable figures in the filings. AI disruption exposure for this industry: Medium.
Compare with peers
- Opera Ltd statistics
- Genius Sports Ltd statistics
- Grindr Inc. statistics
- Groupon, Inc. statistics
- Techtarget, Inc. statistics
Head to head: OPRA vs SOHUGENI vs SOHUGRND vs SOHU
More: Interactive Media & Services stocks compared, Communication Services sector, rankings of US companies