Organogenesis Holdings Inc. key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Organogenesis Holdings Inc. had return on equity of 13.2%, an operating margin of 7.9%, debt equal to 0.0% of equity and a current ratio of 3.62. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2016Dec 2016 | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 | LTMJun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 65.3% | 69.2% | 64.4% | 70.9% | 74.2% | 75.6% | 76.7% | 75.4% | 76.0% | — | — |
| Operating margin | −6.3% | −2.8% | −26.7% | −11.4% | 7.9% | 15.5% | 4.9% | 2.9% | −0.3% | 7.9% | −7.8% |
| Net margin | −12.2% | −4.2% | −33.5% | −14.8% | 5.1% | 20.2% | 3.4% | 1.1% | 0.2% | 6.6% | −18.4% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | −4.5% | −3.0% | −32.3% | −15.1% | −3.6% | 6.6% | −2.0% | 1.5% | 0.9% | −4.3% | 4.6% |
| Return on equity | — | — | — | −84.2% | 17.8% | 49.2% | 6.1% | 1.8% | 0.3% | 13.2% | −37.5% |
| Return on assets | −5.5% | −3.6% | −41.5% | −20.1% | 6.7% | 25.7% | 3.5% | 1.1% | 0.2% | 6.8% | −16.7% |
| Asset turnover | 0.45 | 0.86 | 1.24 | 1.36 | 1.32 | 1.27 | 1.01 | 0.95 | 1.01 | 1.03 | 0.91 |
| Current ratio | 3.00 | 0.96 | 1.27 | 2.10 | 2.56 | 2.74 | 2.97 | 2.80 | 3.69 | 3.62 | 3.52 |
| Debt to equity | — | — | 72.7% | 95.4% | 49.4% | 30.7% | 26.8% | 23.9% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | 2.4x | 10.0x | 11.1x | 5.7x | n/m | — | — |
| Effective tax rate | — | — | — | — | 3.0% | −49.3% | 23.4% | 52.4% | — | 21.2% | — |
| R&D as % of revenue | 4.5% | 4.6% | 5.6% | 5.7% | 5.9% | 6.6% | 8.8% | 10.2% | 10.4% | 7.9% | 12.5% |
| SG&A as % of revenue | 67.1% | 67.4% | 83.7% | 76.7% | 60.4% | 53.5% | 62.9% | 62.3% | 61.1% | 57.8% | 65.4% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 1.0% | 1.2% | 1.0% | 2.3% | 5.2% | 6.7% | 7.5% | 5.6% | 2.1% | 2.5% | 2.4% |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | — | — | — | — | −70.9% | 32.7% | −58.2% | 132.5% | 485.0% | −66.1% | — |
| Dividends and buybacks ÷ free cash flow | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | 0.0% | 610.1% | — | — |
| Quarter | 2024 Q3Sept 2024 | 2024 Q4Dec 2024 | 2025 Q1Mar 2025 | 2025 Q2Jun 2025 | 2025 Q3Sept 2025 | 2025 Q4Dec 2025 | 2026 Q1Mar 2026 | 2026 Q2Jun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 76.7% | 75.5% | 72.6% | — | — | — | — | — |
| Operating margin | 5.4% | 8.1% | −30.9% | −12.5% | 13.7% | 28.1% | −185.1% | −116.5% |
| Net margin | 10.7% | 6.1% | −21.7% | −9.3% | 14.3% | 19.4% | −142.8% | −220.0% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 5.3% | 6.0% | −27.2% | −36.1% | 0.6% | 15.4% | 48.3% | −74.9% |
| Current ratio | 3.09 | 3.69 | 4.12 | 3.95 | 3.32 | 3.62 | 3.53 | 3.52 |
| Debt to equity | 22.4% | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| R&D as % of revenue | 9.0% | 9.1% | 12.3% | 10.3% | 8.8% | 4.6% | 40.7% | 41.8% |
| SG&A as % of revenue | 62.3% | 58.3% | 83.6% | 73.1% | 52.9% | 44.4% | 175.1% | 123.3% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $200m of assets due within a year against $57m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $200m short-term assets against $61m of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Operating income of −$36m against −$1m of interest.
Moat
Moderate moat
How hard Organogenesis's competitive advantage looks for rivals to wear away, judged from 9 years of its own filings: returns on capital, pricing power, profit durability, cash conversion and discipline.
- Returns on capital 12 / 20
Cash operating profit has been a median 9.9% of total assets over 6 years.
- Pricing power 18 / 20
Gross margin has been a median 75.1%, moving by 3.7 percentage points (standard deviation) across 8 years.
- Durability 10 / 20
Operating margin has been a median -5.3%; its worst year was -22.9%.
- Cash conversion 5 / 20
Free cash flow was positive in 4 of 8 years, at a median -1.2% of revenue.
- Discipline 15 / 20
The diluted share count rose 4.1% over five years; stock-based pay has been a median 1.4% of revenue.
AI disruption exposure: Medium. In this industry, AI could change how the product is made or sold, without replacing the core asset. The score above includes a 5-point deduction for that exposure (61 before it).
Compare with peers
- UFP Technologies Inc statistics
- Mimedx Group, Inc. statistics
- Embecta Corp. statistics
- Orasure Technologies Inc statistics
- ICU Medical Inc statistics
Head to head: ORGO vs UFPTMDXG vs ORGOEMBC vs ORGOORGO vs OSUR
More: Health Care Supplies stocks compared, Health Care sector, rankings of US companies