Retractable Technologies Inc key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Retractable Technologies Inc had return on equity of -15.6%, an operating margin of -55.3%, debt equal to 1.2% of equity and a current ratio of 6.57. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2009Dec 2009 | 2010Dec 2010 | 2011Dec 2011 | 2012Dec 2012 | 2013Dec 2013 | 2014Dec 2014 | 2015Dec 2015 | 2016Dec 2016 | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 | LTMJun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 34.7% | 34.6% | 34.0% | 33.2% | 33.5% | 34.8% | 35.8% | 34.7% | 28.9% | 30.7% | 33.8% | 45.2% | 50.6% | 29.8% | 20.9% | −3.1% | 0.1% | −1.4% |
| Operating margin | −34.1% | −18.4% | −12.7% | −11.7% | −19.3% | −6.3% | −10.9% | −11.8% | −11.0% | −4.0% | 7.1% | 29.4% | 38.5% | −0.9% | −26.4% | −63.9% | −55.3% | −66.9% |
| Net margin | −24.2% | 6.6% | 4.4% | −12.3% | −20.2% | −6.8% | 14.6% | −12.4% | −10.8% | −4.0% | 7.5% | 29.6% | 29.8% | 5.4% | −16.1% | −36.0% | −32.8% | −9.9% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | −37.7% | 23.6% | 14.6% | −1.0% | 8.6% | −14.1% | −16.0% | −9.2% | −8.7% | −4.7% | 3.7% | −2.5% | −13.6% | −0.1% | 4.4% | −39.3% | −18.5% | −14.6% |
| Return on equity | −26.2% | 6.4% | 3.7% | −11.1% | −19.3% | −8.5% | 15.0% | −12.5% | −13.5% | −5.1% | 11.6% | 61.8% | 75.2% | 4.9% | −6.8% | −12.7% | −15.6% | −4.6% |
| Return on assets | — | 4.5% | 2.8% | −8.6% | −12.8% | −5.0% | 9.8% | −9.1% | −9.7% | −3.6% | 8.3% | 33.6% | 36.0% | 2.5% | −3.7% | −7.0% | −8.3% | −2.4% |
| Asset turnover | — | 0.68 | 0.63 | 0.70 | 0.64 | 0.73 | 0.67 | 0.74 | 0.90 | 0.89 | 1.10 | 1.14 | 1.21 | 0.47 | 0.23 | 0.19 | 0.25 | 0.24 |
| Current ratio | — | 4.03 | 5.86 | 4.39 | 2.28 | 2.27 | 3.81 | 3.72 | 3.37 | 3.00 | 3.44 | 2.49 | 2.96 | 7.32 | 8.28 | 8.34 | 6.57 | 4.93 |
| Debt to equity | 0.0% | 12.4% | 12.3% | 11.6% | 13.3% | 13.4% | 11.9% | 14.0% | 12.9% | 11.9% | 9.2% | 7.5% | 2.1% | 1.7% | 1.5% | 1.4% | 1.2% | 1.2% |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | 17.8x | 92.5x | — | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m |
| Effective tax rate | — | −7.9% | 1.0% | — | — | — | 0.2% | — | — | — | 0.2% | 7.1% | 25.2% | 1.6% | — | — | — | — |
| R&D as % of revenue | 2.6% | 2.4% | 2.5% | 2.6% | 2.7% | 1.8% | 2.1% | 1.9% | 2.1% | 1.9% | 1.2% | 0.7% | 0.5% | 0.6% | 1.3% | 2.0% | 1.8% | 2.0% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 6.1% | 0.5% | 2.6% | 1.5% | 0.9% | 2.9% | 5.0% | 6.5% | 0.3% | 1.1% | 1.5% | 25.7% | 31.0% | 17.7% | 2.0% | 4.4% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | — | 356.6% | 330.5% | — | — | — | −109.3% | — | — | — | 49.6% | −8.5% | −45.6% | −1.2% | — | — | — | — |
| Dividends and buybacks ÷ free cash flow | — | — | — | — | 36.8% | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| Quarter | 2024 Q3Sept 2024 | 2024 Q4Dec 2024 | 2025 Q1Mar 2025 | 2025 Q2Jun 2025 | 2025 Q3Sept 2025 | 2025 Q4Dec 2025 | 2026 Q1Mar 2026 | 2026 Q2Jun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | −0.1% | −27.5% | −0.0% | −1.0% | 16.7% | −16.2% | −11.7% | 2.7% |
| Operating margin | −49.6% | −79.6% | −56.4% | −49.1% | −36.2% | −81.7% | −85.9% | −71.5% |
| Net margin | −18.6% | 41.6% | −126.6% | −0.8% | 3.7% | −24.9% | −58.9% | 39.3% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | −63.0% | −15.5% | −18.8% | −38.9% | −13.4% | — | −19.1% | −24.5% |
| Current ratio | 8.57 | 8.34 | 6.70 | 7.01 | 6.66 | 6.57 | 5.74 | 4.93 |
| Debt to equity | 1.6% | 1.4% | 1.5% | 1.4% | 1.3% | 1.2% | — | — |
| R&D as % of revenue | 1.7% | 1.7% | 2.3% | 1.5% | 2.0% | 1.3% | 2.4% | 2.6% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $66m of assets due within a year against $13m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $66m short-term assets against $55m of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Operating income of −$23m against $81,340 of interest.
Moat
Weak moat
How hard Retractable Technologies's competitive advantage looks for rivals to wear away, judged from 10 years of its own filings: returns on capital, pricing power, profit durability, cash conversion and discipline.
- Returns on capital 0 / 20
Cash operating profit has been a median -6.6% of total assets over 10 years.
- Pricing power 3 / 20
Gross margin has been a median 29.8%, moving by 17.2 percentage points (standard deviation) across 10 years.
- Durability 10 / 20
Operating margin has been a median -10.7%; its worst year was -66.9%.
- Cash conversion 2 / 20
Free cash flow was positive in 2 of 10 years, at a median -8.9% of revenue.
- Discipline 15 / 20
The diluted share count fell 12.1% over five years; stock-based pay has been a median 6.3% of revenue.
AI disruption exposure: Low. In this industry, the business rests on physical assets, regulated networks or products AI itself depends on.
Compare with peers
- Orchestra Biomed Holdings, Inc. statistics
- Utah Medical Products Inc statistics
- Precision Optics Corporation, Inc. statistics
- Electrocore, Inc. statistics
- Cytosorbents Corp statistics
Head to head: OBIO vs RVPRVP vs UTMDPOCI vs RVPECOR vs RVP
More: Health Care Equipment stocks compared, Health Care sector, rankings of US companies