Scienture Holdings, Inc. key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Scienture Holdings, Inc. had return on equity of -55.6%, an operating margin of -9867.9%, debt equal to 2.9% of equity and a current ratio of 2.89. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2013Dec 2013 | 2014Dec 2014 | 2015Dec 2015 | 2016Dec 2016 | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 | LTMJun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 1.2% | 70.6% | 93.5% | 100.0% | 100.0% | 88.3% | 65.5% | 33.3% | 48.0% | 53.8% | 3.6% | 4.4% | 76.8% | 87.7% |
| Operating margin | −218.0% | −95.7% | −4.7% | −40.6% | 13.5% | −2.3% | 1.7% | −14.6% | −53.5% | −28.4% | −322.4% | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% |
| Net margin | −218.8% | −134.5% | −38.4% | −111.2% | 9.9% | 0.2% | −3.8% | −14.8% | −53.8% | −33.9% | <−999% | >999% | <−999% | <−999% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | −89.5% | — | — | — | — | — | — | −13.2% | −26.2% | — | — | <−999% | <−999% | — |
| Return on equity | — | — | — | — | — | 3.4% | −11.4% | −39.6% | −85.4% | −153.2% | — | 22.8% | −55.6% | −56.6% |
| Return on assets | −517.8% | −247.5% | −68.8% | −233.4% | 60.5% | 0.6% | −7.3% | −33.0% | −68.3% | −73.3% | −219.7% | 15.4% | −43.9% | −44.2% |
| Asset turnover | 2.37 | 1.84 | 1.79 | 2.10 | 6.14 | 2.69 | 1.91 | 2.23 | 1.27 | 2.16 | 0.17 | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.01 |
| Current ratio | 1.45 | 2.20 | 0.30 | 0.23 | 1.16 | 1.70 | 7.30 | 10.95 | 4.72 | 0.97 | 0.24 | 0.80 | 2.89 | 3.04 |
| Debt to equity | 14.8% | 0.0% | 88.0% | — | — | 61.8% | 5.4% | — | 0.0% | 65.5% | >999% | 7.2% | 2.9% | — |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | 2.5x | n/m | 2.4x | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m |
| R&D as % of revenue | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | >999% | 453.3% | 304.2% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 1.1% | — | — | — | — | — | — | 0.2% | 0.2% | — | — | 8.8% | 0.0% | — |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | −157.5% | — | — |
| Dividends ÷ net income | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | 163.9% | — | — |
| Quarter | 2024 Q3Sept 2024 | 2024 Q4Dec 2024 | 2025 Q1Mar 2025 | 2025 Q2Jun 2025 | 2025 Q3Sept 2025 | 2025 Q4Dec 2025 | 2026 Q1Mar 2026 | 2026 Q2Jun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 6.0% | 5.3% | 6.6% | — | 97.4% | — | 95.6% | 97.7% |
| Operating margin | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | — | −739.1% | — | <−999% | −785.6% |
| Net margin | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | — | −611.4% | — | <−999% | −821.3% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | — | <−999% | — | — | −544.6% | — | <−999% | −911.5% |
| Current ratio | 1.34 | 0.80 | 1.05 | 0.11 | 0.19 | 2.89 | 1.70 | 3.04 |
| Debt to equity | 2.6% | 3.7% | 3.8% | 4.6% | 2.4% | — | — | — |
| R&D as % of revenue | >999% | >999% | >999% | — | 28.7% | — | >999% | 339.5% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $9m of assets due within a year against $3m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $9m short-term assets against $21m of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Operating income of −$40m against $3m of interest.
Moat
Weak moat
How hard Scienture Holdings's competitive advantage looks for rivals to wear away, judged from 10 years of its own filings: returns on capital, pricing power, profit durability, cash conversion and discipline.
- Returns on capital 0 / 20
Net income has been a median -33.6% of total assets over 10 years.
- Pricing power 12 / 20
Gross margin has been a median 64.6%, moving by 28.0 percentage points (standard deviation) across 10 years.
- Durability 10 / 20
Operating margin has been a median -26.3%; its worst year was -12824.7%.
- Cash conversion 2 / 20
Free cash flow was positive in 2 of 9 years, at a median -29.4% of revenue.
- Discipline 10 / 20
The diluted share count rose 1267.4% over five years; stock-based pay has been a median 2.2% of revenue.
AI disruption exposure: Medium. In this industry, AI could change how the product is made or sold, without replacing the core asset. The score above includes a 5-point deduction for that exposure (34 before it).
Compare with peers
- 60 Degrees Pharmaceuticals, Inc. statistics
- China SXT Pharmaceuticals, Inc. statistics
- Lipocine Inc. statistics
- Nutriband Inc. statistics
- Akanda Corp. statistics
Head to head: SCNX vs SXTPSCNX vs SXTCLPCN vs SCNXAKAN vs SCNX
More: Pharmaceuticals stocks compared, Health Care sector, rankings of US companies