Smartkem, Inc. key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Smartkem, Inc. had an operating margin of -1841.5% and a current ratio of 0.25. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 | LTMJun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 41.5% | 55.6% | 17.5% | 14.8% | 61.0% | 61.0% | 62.7% |
| Operating margin | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% |
| Net margin | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | −756.5% |
| Return on equity | — | — | −118.5% | −121.4% | −140.5% | — | — |
| Return on assets | −784.4% | −190.2% | −101.8% | −90.4% | −102.4% | −187.8% | −452.4% |
| Asset turnover | 0.03 | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.01 | 0.12 | 0.10 |
| Current ratio | 1.88 | 9.34 | 4.59 | 5.95 | 3.72 | 0.25 | 15.34 |
| Debt to equity | 12.8% | — | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | — | 0.0% |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | n/m | n/m | — | — | — | — | — |
| R&D as % of revenue | >999% | >999% | >999% | >999% | >999% | >999% | 711.5% |
| SG&A as % of revenue | >999% | >999% | >999% | >999% | >999% | >999% | 822.4% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 125.5% | >999% | 197.5% | 66.7% | 91.5% | 17.6% | 0.0% |
| Quarter | 2024 Q3Sept 2024 | 2024 Q4Dec 2024 | 2025 Q1Mar 2025 | 2025 Q2Jun 2025 | 2025 Q3Sept 2025 | 2025 Q4Dec 2025 | 2026 Q1Mar 2026 | 2026 Q2Jun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | — | 100.0% | 95.7% | 12.5% | 93.8% | 57.6% | 80.0% | — |
| Operating margin | — | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | −380.7% | <−999% | — |
| Net margin | — | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | −366.3% | <−999% | — |
| Free-cash-flow margin | — | <−999% | — | — | — | −255.4% | — | — |
| Current ratio | 1.88 | 3.72 | 2.68 | 0.86 | 0.41 | 0.25 | 2.29 | 15.34 |
| R&D as % of revenue | — | >999% | >999% | >999% | >999% | 185.0% | >999% | — |
| SG&A as % of revenue | — | >999% | >999% | >999% | >999% | 297.9% | >999% | — |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $10m of assets due within a year against $675,000 of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $10m short-term assets against $0 of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Interest not separately reported. Not assessable.
Moat
Not assessed: fewer than five years of comparable figures in the filings. AI disruption exposure for this industry: Low.
Compare with peers
- Arbe Robotics Ltd. statistics
- Ascent Solar Technologies, Inc. statistics
- GCT Semiconductor Holding, Inc. statistics
- Aeluma, Inc. statistics
- Mobix Labs, Inc statistics
Head to head: ARBE vs SMTKASTI vs SMTKGCTS vs SMTK
More: Semiconductors stocks compared, Technology sector, rankings of US companies