Strategic Education, Inc. key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Strategic Education, Inc. had return on equity of 7.7%, an operating margin of 13.7%, debt equal to 0.0% of equity and a current ratio of 1.27. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2016Dec 2016 | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 | LTMJun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Operating margin | 13.0% | 11.5% | −3.6% | 11.1% | 10.6% | 6.5% | 6.6% | 8.4% | 12.8% | 13.7% | 14.0% |
| Net margin | 7.9% | 4.5% | −2.5% | 8.1% | 8.4% | 4.9% | 4.4% | 6.2% | 9.2% | 10.0% | 10.5% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 7.1% | 8.4% | 3.0% | 16.4% | 9.4% | 11.6% | 7.8% | 7.1% | 10.6% | 12.1% | 13.1% |
| Return on equity | 18.5% | 10.4% | −1.9% | 5.6% | 5.4% | 3.2% | 2.8% | 4.2% | 6.8% | 7.7% | 8.2% |
| Return on assets | 11.7% | 6.6% | −1.6% | 4.7% | 4.2% | 2.4% | 2.1% | 3.3% | 5.4% | 6.2% | 6.5% |
| Asset turnover | 1.48 | 1.47 | 0.64 | 0.58 | 0.50 | 0.49 | 0.48 | 0.53 | 0.58 | 0.62 | 0.63 |
| Current ratio | 2.68 | 2.76 | 3.36 | 3.34 | 1.43 | 1.88 | 1.57 | 1.57 | 1.41 | 1.27 | 1.10 |
| Debt to equity | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 8.1% | 8.3% | 6.2% | 3.7% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | 89.5x | 81.3x | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| Effective tax rate | 39.3% | 60.8% | — | 34.4% | 24.3% | 28.1% | 32.9% | 30.7% | 30.2% | 28.6% | 26.9% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 3.0% | 4.0% | 4.3% | 3.9% | 4.6% | 4.4% | 4.1% | 3.3% | 3.3% | 3.5% | 3.7% |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | 90.1% | 184.9% | — | 201.5% | 111.4% | 238.0% | 177.6% | 114.9% | 114.3% | 121.6% | 125.3% |
| Dividends ÷ net income | — | 55.4% | — | 57.5% | 64.9% | 107.2% | 126.9% | 84.2% | 52.3% | 45.4% | 41.1% |
| Dividends and buybacks ÷ free cash flow | — | 30.0% | 144.1% | 28.5% | 58.5% | 49.5% | 119.9% | 85.8% | 54.7% | 127.6% | 122.7% |
| Quarter | 2024 Q3Sept 2024 | 2024 Q4Dec 2024 | 2025 Q1Mar 2025 | 2025 Q2Jun 2025 | 2025 Q3Sept 2025 | 2025 Q4Dec 2025 | 2026 Q1Mar 2026 | 2026 Q2Jun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Operating margin | 11.9% | 11.6% | 13.1% | 14.2% | 11.6% | 16.0% | 13.4% | 15.0% |
| Net margin | 9.1% | 8.1% | 9.8% | 10.1% | 8.3% | 11.7% | 10.7% | 11.0% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 13.8% | 1.5% | 18.9% | 6.3% | 15.4% | 8.3% | 25.3% | 4.5% |
| Current ratio | 1.34 | 1.41 | 1.27 | 1.26 | 1.22 | 1.27 | 1.16 | 1.10 |
| Debt to equity | 0.0% | 0.0% | — | — | — | — | — | — |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $290m of assets due within a year against $265m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $290m short-term assets against $170m of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Interest not separately reported. Not assessable.
Moat
Moderate moat
How hard Strategic Education's competitive advantage looks for rivals to wear away, judged from 10 years of its own filings: returns on capital, pricing power, profit durability, cash conversion and discipline.
- Returns on capital 6 / 20
Net income has been a median 4.8% of total assets over 10 years.
- Durability 4 / 20
Operating margin has been a median 7.7%; its worst year was 1.7%.
- Cash conversion 15 / 20
Free cash flow was positive in 9 of 9 years, at a median 10.0% of revenue.
- Discipline 19 / 20
The diluted share count fell 6.0% over five years; stock-based pay has been a median 1.8% of revenue.
AI disruption exposure: Medium. In this industry, AI could change how the product is made or sold, without replacing the core asset. The score above includes a 5-point deduction for that exposure (55 before it).
Compare with peers
- Grand Canyon Education, Inc. statistics
- Universal Technical Institute Inc statistics
- Laureate Education, Inc. statistics
- Perdoceo Education Corp statistics
- Covista Inc. statistics
Head to head: LOPE vs STRASTRA vs UTILAUR vs STRA
More: Education Services stocks compared, Consumer Discretionary sector, rankings of US companies