Perdoceo Education Corp key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Perdoceo Education Corp had return on equity of 16.6%, an operating margin of 23.2%, debt equal to 0.0% of equity and a current ratio of 5.06. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2009Dec 2009 | 2010Dec 2010 | 2011Dec 2011 | 2012Dec 2012 | 2013Dec 2013 | 2014Dec 2014 | 2015Dec 2015 | 2016Dec 2016 | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 | LTMJun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Operating margin | 12.5% | 11.7% | 0.7% | −6.8% | −15.9% | −15.2% | −10.9% | −4.6% | 5.7% | 12.3% | 13.8% | 20.8% | 21.5% | 18.6% | 21.2% | 25.6% | 23.2% | 24.6% |
| Net margin | 4.5% | 7.6% | 1.1% | −14.0% | −16.1% | −19.5% | 6.1% | −2.7% | −5.3% | 9.5% | 11.1% | 18.1% | 15.8% | 13.8% | 20.8% | 21.7% | 18.9% | 20.6% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 11.9% | 7.0% | 8.9% | −5.4% | −10.4% | −14.4% | −3.9% | 0.3% | −4.7% | 8.6% | 10.8% | 24.8% | 26.1% | 19.5% | 14.9% | 23.0% | 25.6% | 25.4% |
| Return on equity | 8.8% | 17.0% | 2.1% | −20.1% | −30.8% | −48.3% | 16.7% | −5.7% | −10.3% | 16.9% | 17.8% | 25.2% | 18.2% | 13.9% | 18.8% | 16.4% | 16.6% | 17.7% |
| Return on assets | 5.2% | 10.1% | 1.3% | −11.7% | −17.0% | −25.8% | 8.8% | −3.2% | −6.3% | 11.9% | 12.9% | 18.8% | 14.0% | 10.6% | 15.0% | 13.2% | 12.9% | 13.7% |
| Asset turnover | 1.15 | 1.32 | 1.18 | 0.84 | 1.06 | 1.33 | 1.43 | 1.20 | 1.18 | 1.25 | 1.16 | 1.04 | 0.88 | 0.77 | 0.72 | 0.61 | 0.68 | 0.67 |
| Current ratio | 1.42 | 1.37 | 1.85 | 1.54 | 2.22 | 1.76 | 1.50 | 1.47 | 1.87 | 2.78 | 3.47 | 4.50 | 3.95 | 3.52 | 5.90 | 4.84 | 5.06 | 4.69 |
| Debt to equity | 0.3% | 0.2% | 0.0% | 13.1% | — | 3.5% | 11.3% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | — | — | 72.4x | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | 75.7x | 104.7x | — | — | 162.0x | — | — | — | 30.3x | 34.1x |
| Effective tax rate | 35.2% | 32.5% | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 4.1% | 6.2% | 4.6% | 3.7% | 1.9% | 1.4% | 1.4% | 0.6% | 1.1% | 1.2% | 0.8% | 1.4% | 1.5% | 1.8% | 0.9% | 0.7% | 1.0% | 0.9% |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | 263.7% | 91.9% | 819.0% | — | — | — | −63.5% | — | — | 91.1% | 97.0% | 137.0% | 164.8% | 141.4% | 71.5% | 106.4% | 135.5% | 123.1% |
| Dividends ÷ net income | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | 9.8% | — | — | — |
| Dividends and buybacks ÷ free cash flow | 93.9% | 106.9% | 98.9% | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | 5.7% | 10.5% | 14.0% | 17.1% | 21.5% | 4.3% | 55.8% | 41.1% |
| Quarter | 2024 Q3Sept 2024 | 2024 Q4Dec 2024 | 2025 Q1Mar 2025 | 2025 Q2Jun 2025 | 2025 Q3Sept 2025 | 2025 Q4Dec 2025 | 2026 Q1Mar 2026 | 2026 Q2Jun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Operating margin | 26.4% | 21.1% | 24.3% | 24.5% | 24.1% | 19.8% | 28.5% | 25.7% |
| Net margin | 22.5% | 17.8% | 20.5% | 19.6% | 18.8% | 16.7% | 24.3% | 22.5% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 29.4% | 9.1% | 29.8% | 36.3% | 18.6% | 17.9% | 30.5% | 34.3% |
| Current ratio | 5.48 | 4.84 | 4.46 | 4.27 | 4.47 | 5.06 | 4.82 | 4.69 |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $803m of assets due within a year against $171m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities Not assessable from the reported split. Not assessable.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Operating income of $211m against $6m of interest.
Moat
Strong moat
How hard Perdoceo Education's competitive advantage looks for rivals to wear away, judged from 10 years of its own filings: returns on capital, pricing power, profit durability, cash conversion and discipline.
- Returns on capital 20 / 20
Net income has been a median 12.6% of total assets over 10 years.
- Durability 6 / 20
Operating margin has been a median 20.3%; its worst year was -6.0%.
- Cash conversion 19 / 20
Free cash flow was positive in 9 of 10 years, at a median 20.4% of revenue.
- Discipline 20 / 20
The diluted share count fell 9.6% over five years; stock-based pay has been a median 1.3% of revenue.
AI disruption exposure: Medium. In this industry, AI could change how the product is made or sold, without replacing the core asset. The score above includes a 5-point deduction for that exposure (81 before it).
Compare with peers
- Universal Technical Institute Inc statistics
- Afya Ltd statistics
- Grand Canyon Education, Inc. statistics
- Strategic Education, Inc. statistics
- Lincoln Educational Services Corp statistics
Head to head: PRDO vs UTIAFYA vs PRDOLOPE vs PRDOLINC vs PRDO
More: Education Services stocks compared, Consumer Discretionary sector, rankings of US companies