TC Energy Corp key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, TC Energy Corp had return on equity of 12.9%, an operating margin of 52.7%, debt equal to 175.8% of equity and a current ratio of 0.63. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2010Dec 2010 | 2011Dec 2011 | 2012Dec 2012 | 2013Dec 2013 | 2014Dec 2014 | 2015Dec 2015 | 2016Dec 2016 | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | — | — | — | — | — | — | 82.7% | 82.3% | 89.1% | 97.2% | 100.0% | 99.4% | 99.8% | 99.4% | 98.4% | 98.6% |
| Operating margin | 34.8% | 40.4% | 35.3% | 39.5% | 38.6% | 0.9% | 18.4% | 34.8% | 42.1% | 49.7% | 52.1% | 30.3% | 19.9% | 38.4% | 57.8% | 52.7% |
| Net margin | 18.7% | 20.2% | 16.9% | 20.3% | 18.1% | −10.1% | 1.9% | 23.5% | 27.1% | 31.2% | 35.5% | 14.6% | 6.1% | 22.0% | 34.1% | 23.1% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | −21.9% | 15.0% | 12.2% | −6.7% | 7.2% | 4.1% | 0.5% | −16.0% | −20.9% | −3.0% | −14.2% | −1.8% | −21.0% | −37.9% | −1.5% | 13.6% |
| Return on equity | 7.1% | 9.4% | 8.1% | 10.1% | 9.8% | −6.3% | 1.2% | 12.8% | 13.8% | 13.8% | 14.2% | 6.2% | 2.2% | 9.1% | 16.5% | 12.9% |
| Return on assets | — | 3.4% | 2.8% | 3.5% | 3.3% | −1.9% | 0.3% | 3.6% | 4.0% | 4.2% | 4.4% | 1.9% | 0.7% | 2.4% | 3.9% | 3.0% |
| Asset turnover | — | 0.17 | 0.17 | 0.17 | 0.18 | 0.18 | 0.17 | 0.15 | 0.15 | 0.13 | 0.12 | 0.13 | 0.11 | 0.11 | 0.11 | 0.13 |
| Current ratio | — | 0.56 | 0.48 | 0.59 | 0.41 | 0.53 | 1.05 | 0.47 | 0.40 | 0.59 | 0.43 | 0.57 | 0.43 | 0.96 | 0.55 | 0.63 |
| Debt to equity | 0.0% | 122.2% | 125.3% | 133.4% | 142.8% | 198.8% | 168.7% | 145.8% | 145.7% | 134.2% | 130.8% | 131.7% | 140.6% | 179.7% | 175.1% | 175.8% |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | 3.4x | 3.4x | 2.9x | 3.5x | 3.3x | 0.1x | 1.2x | 2.3x | 2.5x | 2.8x | 3.0x | 1.7x | 0.9x | 1.6x | 2.6x | 2.4x |
| Effective tax rate | 21.7% | 25.2% | 24.0% | 24.2% | 29.4% | — | 42.1% | −2.7% | 10.9% | 14.5% | 3.8% | 5.5% | 67.9% | 25.5% | 15.6% | 20.9% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 63.9% | 32.1% | 32.4% | 48.5% | 34.3% | 34.5% | 39.9% | 54.9% | 68.9% | 56.4% | 68.5% | 53.3% | 72.8% | 92.7% | 57.4% | 34.6% |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | −117.4% | 74.2% | 72.1% | −33.0% | 40.1% | — | 26.6% | −68.2% | −77.3% | −9.5% | −39.9% | −12.5% | −345.7% | −172.1% | −4.4% | 59.0% |
| Dividends ÷ net income | 55.6% | 60.8% | 90.5% | 71.9% | 73.1% | — | 616.3% | 42.4% | 42.4% | 43.4% | 64.7% | 169.7% | 426.7% | 95.4% | 84.1% | 99.7% |
| Dividends and buybacks ÷ free cash flow | — | 81.9% | 125.6% | — | 182.5% | 373.4% | >999% | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | 168.9% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $4.6bn of assets due within a year against $7.3bn of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $4.6bn short-term assets against $52.4bn of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Operating income of $5.8bn against $2.4bn of interest.
Moat
Not assessed: fewer than five years of comparable figures in the filings. AI disruption exposure for this industry: Low.
Compare with peers
- Cheniere Energy Partners, L.p. statistics
- Williams Companies statistics
- Mplx LP statistics
- Targa Resources statistics
- Kinder Morgan statistics
Head to head: CQP vs TRPTRP vs WMBMPLX vs TRP
More: Oil & Gas Storage & Transportation stocks compared, Energy sector, rankings of US companies