Vipshop Holdings Ltd key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Vipshop Holdings Ltd had return on equity of 17.8%, an operating margin of 7.7%, debt equal to 15.6% of equity and a current ratio of 1.28. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2010Dec 2010 | 2011Dec 2011 | 2012Dec 2012 | 2013Dec 2013 | 2014Dec 2014 | 2015Dec 2015 | 2016Dec 2016 | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 9.8% | 19.1% | 22.3% | 24.0% | 24.9% | 24.6% | 24.0% | 22.3% | 20.2% | 22.2% | 20.9% | 19.7% | 21.0% | 22.8% | 23.5% | 23.1% |
| Operating margin | −25.7% | −47.1% | −1.7% | 3.2% | 3.6% | 5.2% | 4.8% | 3.7% | 2.9% | 5.1% | 5.8% | 4.8% | 6.0% | 8.1% | 8.5% | 7.7% |
| Net margin | −25.7% | −47.2% | −1.4% | 3.1% | 3.3% | 3.8% | 3.6% | 2.7% | 2.5% | 4.3% | 5.8% | 4.0% | 6.1% | 7.2% | 7.1% | 6.8% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | −24.8% | −3.6% | 14.3% | 24.0% | 7.2% | −0.7% | 1.5% | −1.7% | 3.8% | 9.7% | 9.4% | 3.4% | 7.8% | 10.9% | 5.9% | 5.2% |
| Return on equity | — | — | −11.5% | 32.1% | 37.3% | 50.1% | 44.7% | 19.1% | 13.7% | 20.6% | 22.8% | 15.3% | 19.0% | 23.0% | 20.1% | 17.8% |
| Return on assets | — | — | — | — | 4.5% | 8.2% | 9.2% | 6.1% | 5.3% | 8.7% | 10.7% | 7.7% | 9.7% | 11.7% | 10.5% | 9.4% |
| Asset turnover | — | — | — | — | 1.37 | 2.20 | 2.54 | 2.28 | 2.10 | 2.02 | 1.84 | 1.93 | 1.59 | 1.62 | 1.47 | 1.37 |
| Current ratio | — | — | — | — | 1.30 | 1.00 | 1.00 | 1.35 | 1.05 | 0.96 | 1.17 | 1.27 | 1.18 | 1.23 | 1.26 | 1.28 |
| Debt to equity | — | — | — | 0.0% | 150.9% | 117.3% | 76.4% | 35.0% | 57.9% | 5.3% | 4.0% | 10.6% | 11.9% | 4.9% | 6.0% | 15.6% |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | — | — | — | — | 11.1x | 24.1x | 31.8x | 32.6x | 15.2x | 55.5x | 87.0x | — | — | — | 159.0x | 90.4x |
| Effective tax rate | — | — | — | 26.2% | 23.1% | 22.3% | 22.6% | 24.6% | 20.6% | 19.9% | 16.1% | 20.8% | 21.8% | 18.7% | 23.2% | 20.2% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 4.7% | 4.2% | 1.8% | 1.3% | 6.9% | 5.4% | 3.5% | 3.0% | 3.0% | 3.6% | 2.2% | 2.3% | 2.4% | 1.9% | 2.5% | 1.9% |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | — | — | — | 778.1% | 222.4% | −17.8% | 42.4% | −62.4% | 151.5% | 223.7% | 162.2% | 85.7% | 128.4% | 150.9% | 82.8% | 75.5% |
| Dividends ÷ net income | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | 21.8% | 24.8% |
| Dividends and buybacks ÷ free cash flow | — | — | — | — | — | — | 22.4% | — | — | — | — | 48.3% | 77.4% | 41.7% | 86.6% | 123.2% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $5.7bn of assets due within a year against $4.4bn of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $5.7bn short-term assets against $503m of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Operating income of $1.1bn against $13m of interest.
Moat
Not assessed: fewer than five years of comparable figures in the filings. AI disruption exposure for this industry: Medium.
Compare with peers
- Kohls Corp statistics
- eBay Inc. statistics
- Macy's, Inc. statistics
- Dillard's, Inc. statistics
- Coupang, Inc. statistics
Head to head: KSS vs VIPSEBAY vs VIPSM vs VIPSDDS vs VIPS
More: Broadline Retail stocks compared, Consumer Discretionary sector, rankings of US companies