Vertex Pharmaceuticals key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Vertex Pharmaceuticals had return on equity of 22.5% and a net margin of 32.9%. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2009Dec 2009 | 2010Dec 2010 | 2011Dec 2011 | 2012Dec 2012 | 2013Dec 2013 | 2014Dec 2014 | 2015Dec 2015 | 2016Dec 2016 | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 | LTMJun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Net margin | −630.3% | −526.3% | 2.1% | −7.0% | −36.7% | −127.2% | −53.9% | −6.6% | 10.6% | 68.8% | 28.3% | 43.7% | 30.9% | 37.2% | 36.7% | −4.9% | 32.9% | 35.0% |
| Return on equity | −58.6% | −94.3% | 4.6% | −12.0% | −37.8% | −60.8% | −55.2% | −10.7% | 16.5% | 64.9% | 22.4% | 36.7% | 24.9% | 27.7% | 23.0% | −3.2% | 22.5% | 22.6% |
| Return on assets | −32.8% | −41.0% | 1.5% | −4.3% | −17.5% | −31.7% | −23.0% | −4.2% | 8.2% | 42.7% | 16.1% | 27.0% | 18.6% | 21.0% | 17.7% | −2.4% | 16.4% | 16.6% |
| Effective tax rate | — | — | 31.9% | −0.9% | — | — | — | — | — | — | 15.6% | 13.0% | 14.2% | 21.5% | 17.4% | — | 14.9% | 16.5% |
| R&D as % of revenue | 540.1% | 444.6% | 50.2% | 50.2% | 72.8% | 147.4% | 96.5% | 61.5% | 53.2% | 46.5% | 42.1% | 29.5% | 40.3% | 28.4% | 32.0% | 32.9% | 32.6% | 31.0% |
| SG&A as % of revenue | 127.8% | 131.0% | 28.4% | 28.3% | 29.4% | 52.6% | 36.5% | 25.4% | 19.9% | 18.3% | 15.8% | 12.4% | 11.1% | 10.6% | 11.5% | 13.3% | 14.6% | 16.0% |
| Quarter | 2024 Q3Sept 2024 | 2024 Q4Dec 2024 | 2025 Q1Mar 2025 | 2025 Q2Jun 2025 | 2025 Q3Sept 2025 | 2025 Q4Dec 2025 | 2026 Q1Mar 2026 | 2026 Q2Jun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Net margin | 37.7% | 31.4% | 23.3% | 34.8% | 35.2% | 37.3% | 34.5% | 33.0% |
| R&D as % of revenue | 31.6% | 34.3% | 35.4% | 33.0% | 31.8% | 30.5% | 32.2% | 29.8% |
| SG&A as % of revenue | 13.4% | 13.0% | 14.3% | 14.3% | 14.5% | 15.3% | 16.5% | 17.5% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $12.5bn of assets due within a year against $3.9bn of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $12.5bn short-term assets against $3.2bn of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Operating income of $4.8bn against $13m of interest.
Moat
Strong moat
How hard Vertex Pharmaceuticals's competitive advantage looks for rivals to wear away, judged from 10 years of its own filings: returns on capital, pricing power, profit durability, cash conversion and discipline.
- Returns on capital 20 / 20
Cash operating profit has been a median 37.3% of total assets over 9 years.
- Pricing power 20 / 20
Gross margin has been a median 87.3%, moving by 0.8 percentage points (standard deviation) across 9 years.
- Durability 10 / 20
Operating margin has been a median 34.1%; its worst year was -3.4%.
- Cash conversion 19 / 20
Free cash flow was positive in 9 of 10 years, at a median 31.4% of revenue.
- Discipline 12 / 20
The diluted share count fell 2.4% over five years; stock-based pay has been a median 6.4% of revenue.
AI disruption exposure: Medium. In this industry, AI could change how the product is made or sold, without replacing the core asset. The score above includes a 5-point deduction for that exposure (81 before it).
Compare with peers
- Biogen statistics
- Regeneron Pharmaceuticals statistics
- Incyte statistics
- Gilead Sciences statistics
- Amgen statistics
Head to head: BIIB vs VRTXREGN vs VRTXINCY vs VRTX
More: Biotechnology stocks compared, Health Care sector, rankings of US companies