Weyco Group Inc key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Weyco Group Inc had return on equity of 9.5%, an operating margin of 10.6%, debt equal to 0.0% of equity and a current ratio of 4.22. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2009Dec 2009 | 2010Dec 2010 | 2011Dec 2011 | 2012Dec 2012 | 2013Dec 2013 | 2014Dec 2014 | 2015Dec 2015 | 2016Dec 2016 | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 | LTMJun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 37.5% | 39.4% | 39.4% | 39.1% | 39.1% | 38.4% | 37.9% | 37.7% | 39.0% | 40.2% | 40.8% | 40.2% | 40.1% | 41.1% | 44.9% | 45.3% | 43.2% | 49.1% |
| Operating margin | 7.4% | 8.2% | 8.6% | 10.2% | 9.2% | 9.6% | 9.9% | 7.7% | 8.3% | 8.5% | 8.9% | −3.9% | 9.6% | 11.5% | 12.9% | 12.6% | 10.6% | 15.3% |
| Net margin | 5.7% | 6.0% | 5.6% | 6.5% | 5.9% | 5.9% | 5.7% | 5.5% | 5.8% | 6.9% | 6.9% | −4.3% | 7.7% | 8.4% | 9.5% | 10.4% | 8.4% | 12.4% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 16.2% | −0.6% | 3.3% | 2.9% | 9.0% | 4.7% | −2.5% | 13.8% | 11.3% | 3.9% | 0.7% | 18.7% | 2.0% | −9.2% | 30.0% | 12.5% | 12.9% | 16.2% |
| Return on equity | — | 7.9% | 9.0% | 11.1% | 9.7% | 10.0% | 9.4% | 8.2% | 8.2% | 10.1% | 10.0% | −4.3% | 10.6% | 13.9% | 12.9% | 12.4% | 9.5% | 14.0% |
| Return on assets | — | 6.1% | 6.1% | 6.8% | 6.4% | 7.0% | 6.3% | 5.8% | 6.2% | 7.7% | 7.4% | −3.1% | 7.7% | 9.8% | 9.5% | 9.6% | 7.2% | 11.0% |
| Asset turnover | — | 1.03 | 1.09 | 1.05 | 1.09 | 1.18 | 1.11 | 1.05 | 1.07 | 1.12 | 1.07 | 0.71 | 1.00 | 1.16 | 1.00 | 0.92 | 0.86 | 0.89 |
| Current ratio | — | 4.02 | 1.98 | 2.09 | 3.53 | 3.97 | 2.93 | 5.04 | 5.79 | 4.26 | 3.82 | 5.52 | 4.55 | 3.06 | 6.42 | 4.43 | 4.22 | 7.55 |
| Debt to equity | — | 2.9% | 22.3% | 25.8% | 6.3% | 2.8% | 13.4% | 2.1% | 0.0% | 2.8% | 3.4% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 13.9% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | — | 156.5x | 38.0x | 53.1x | 72.3x | 172.2x | 176.0x | 52.3x | — | — | 110.8x | n/m | — | 56.9x | 77.6x | — | — | — |
| Effective tax rate | 34.7% | 33.7% | 34.3% | 34.1% | 35.2% | 36.2% | 37.7% | 23.0% | 30.2% | 22.5% | 22.9% | — | 24.8% | 25.7% | 26.1% | 23.9% | 28.0% | 25.8% |
| SG&A as % of revenue | 30.0% | 31.2% | 30.8% | 29.0% | 29.8% | 28.8% | 28.0% | 30.1% | 30.8% | 31.7% | 31.9% | 44.1% | 30.5% | 29.6% | 32.0% | 32.7% | 32.6% | 33.8% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 0.6% | 0.7% | 3.0% | 3.3% | 0.9% | 0.9% | 0.8% | 2.0% | 0.6% | 0.5% | 2.4% | 1.7% | 0.4% | 0.7% | 1.0% | 0.5% | 0.6% | 0.9% |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | 285.4% | −10.3% | 58.8% | 44.6% | 154.1% | 78.6% | −43.3% | 248.2% | 193.7% | 56.8% | 9.6% | — | 26.2% | −109.2% | 315.8% | 119.9% | 153.8% | 131.1% |
| Dividends ÷ net income | 51.3% | 51.4% | 46.9% | 57.4% | 22.2% | 42.2% | 46.4% | 52.9% | 53.8% | 45.0% | 45.1% | — | 45.5% | 23.5% | 30.8% | 32.0% | 33.5% | 84.3% |
| Dividends and buybacks ÷ free cash flow | 25.2% | — | 225.0% | 206.4% | 31.4% | 107.1% | — | 48.1% | 75.4% | 177.2% | 754.7% | 37.8% | 220.4% | — | 14.3% | 28.3% | 36.6% | 69.0% |
| Quarter | 2024 Q3Sept 2024 | 2024 Q4Dec 2024 | 2025 Q1Mar 2025 | 2025 Q2Jun 2025 | 2025 Q3Sept 2025 | 2025 Q4Dec 2025 | 2026 Q1Mar 2026 | 2026 Q2Jun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 44.3% | 47.9% | 44.6% | 43.3% | 40.7% | 44.1% | 44.2% | 70.4% |
| Operating margin | 13.7% | 14.3% | 10.3% | 6.7% | 11.0% | 13.3% | 11.0% | 27.4% |
| Net margin | 10.8% | 12.4% | 8.1% | 3.9% | 9.0% | 11.3% | 9.0% | 21.4% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | −1.3% | 24.8% | 5.5% | 17.1% | −1.8% | 30.1% | 24.8% | 10.9% |
| Current ratio | 8.62 | 4.43 | 9.61 | 8.91 | 9.03 | 4.22 | 8.26 | 7.55 |
| SG&A as % of revenue | 30.6% | 33.5% | 34.3% | 36.6% | 29.7% | 30.8% | 33.2% | 43.0% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $199m of assets due within a year against $26m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $199m short-term assets against $30m of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Operating income of $43m against $4,000 of interest.
Moat
Moderate moat
How hard Weyco Group's competitive advantage looks for rivals to wear away, judged from 10 years of its own filings: returns on capital, pricing power, profit durability, cash conversion and discipline.
- Returns on capital 18 / 20
Cash operating profit has been a median 13.8% of total assets over 10 years.
- Pricing power 13 / 20
Gross margin has been a median 40.8%, moving by 3.3 percentage points (standard deviation) across 10 years.
- Durability 7 / 20
Operating margin has been a median 9.3%; its worst year was 3.3%.
- Cash conversion 13 / 20
Free cash flow was positive in 8 of 10 years, at a median 10.2% of revenue.
- Discipline 19 / 20
The diluted share count fell 6.5% over five years; stock-based pay has been a median 0.6% of revenue.
AI disruption exposure: Medium. In this industry, AI could change how the product is made or sold, without replacing the core asset. The score above includes a 5-point deduction for that exposure (70 before it).
Compare with peers
- Rocky Brands, Inc. statistics
- Wolverine World Wide Inc statistics
- Birkenstock Holding plc statistics
- Steven Madden, LTD. statistics
- Caleres Inc statistics
Head to head: RCKY vs WEYSWEYS vs WWWBIRK vs WEYS
More: Footwear stocks compared, Consumer Discretionary sector, rankings of US companies