Wheaton Precious Metals Corp. key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Wheaton Precious Metals Corp. had return on equity of 18.5%, an operating margin of 68.3%, debt equal to 0.0% of equity and a current ratio of 7.78. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2016Dec 2016 | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 36.8% | 40.0% | 37.3% | 40.2% | 53.4% | 54.8% | 53.1% | 56.4% | 62.5% | 72.2% |
| Operating margin | — | 8.7% | 30.8% | 14.6% | 47.4% | 62.8% | 48.1% | 49.7% | 48.3% | 68.3% |
| Net margin | 21.9% | 6.8% | 53.8% | 10.0% | 46.3% | 62.8% | 62.8% | 52.9% | 41.2% | 63.6% |
| Return on equity | 4.0% | 1.2% | 8.5% | 1.6% | 9.2% | 12.6% | 10.3% | 7.8% | 7.4% | 18.5% |
| Return on assets | 3.2% | 1.0% | 7.0% | 1.4% | 8.3% | 12.3% | 10.3% | 7.8% | 7.3% | 17.8% |
| Asset turnover | 0.14 | 0.14 | 0.13 | 0.14 | 0.18 | 0.20 | 0.16 | 0.15 | 0.18 | 0.28 |
| Current ratio | 6.72 | 8.52 | 2.76 | 2.39 | 6.48 | 8.41 | 23.44 | 21.76 | 28.07 | 7.78 |
| Debt to equity | 24.1% | 15.7% | 24.4% | 16.4% | 3.4% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | — | 2.9x | 6.8x | 2.8x | 42.5x | — | — | — | — | — |
| Effective tax rate | −0.7% | −1.6% | 3.6% | −11.8% | −0.5% | −0.0% | 0.1% | 0.3% | 17.9% | 13.3% |
| Dividends ÷ net income | 40.3% | 211.3% | 31.1% | 150.9% | 32.9% | 28.9% | 35.4% | 49.3% | 52.7% | 20.1% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $1.2bn of assets due within a year against $155m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $1.2bn short-term assets against $281m of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Operating income of $1.6bn against $429,000 of interest.
Moat
Not assessed: fewer than five years of comparable figures in the filings. AI disruption exposure for this industry: Low.
Compare with peers
- SSR Mining Inc. statistics
- Iamgold Corp statistics
- Franco Nevada Corp statistics
- Eldorado Gold Corp statistics
- Equinox Gold Corp. statistics
Head to head: SSRM vs WPMIAG vs WPMFNV vs WPM
More: Gold stocks compared, Materials sector, rankings of US companies