Franco Nevada Corp key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Franco Nevada Corp had return on equity of 16.3%, an operating margin of 74.3%, debt equal to 0.0% of equity and a current ratio of 8.30. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2016Dec 2016 | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 37.8% | 38.5% | 44.0% | 51.7% | 60.8% | 63.2% | 64.8% | 62.9% | 68.2% | 73.9% |
| Operating margin | 25.5% | 34.9% | 28.9% | 48.6% | 33.0% | 66.2% | 62.4% | −35.1% | 65.2% | 74.3% |
| Net margin | 20.0% | 28.8% | 21.3% | 40.8% | 32.0% | 56.4% | 53.2% | −38.3% | 49.6% | 61.0% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 77.2% | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | 74.5% | 81.8% |
| Return on equity | 2.9% | 4.4% | 3.0% | 7.1% | 6.2% | 12.8% | 11.3% | −7.7% | 9.4% | 16.3% |
| Return on assets | 2.9% | 4.3% | 2.9% | 6.7% | 6.0% | 12.4% | 10.9% | −7.4% | 9.0% | 15.3% |
| Asset turnover | 0.14 | 0.15 | 0.13 | 0.17 | 0.19 | 0.22 | 0.20 | 0.19 | 0.18 | 0.25 |
| Current ratio | 9.61 | 27.27 | 7.14 | 5.22 | 12.48 | 17.39 | 27.55 | 41.21 | 25.43 | 8.30 |
| Debt to equity | 0.0% | 0.0% | 4.5% | 1.6% | — | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | — | — | 125.9x | 55.4x | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| Effective tax rate | 27.2% | 17.5% | 26.5% | 15.2% | 3.9% | 14.5% | 16.0% | — | 27.7% | 21.5% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 0.0% | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | 0.0% | 0.1% |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | 385.3% | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | 150.2% | 134.1% |
| Dividends ÷ net income | 96.6% | 64.6% | 97.9% | 40.2% | 47.5% | 24.5% | 28.2% | — | 43.9% | 24.7% |
| Dividends and buybacks ÷ free cash flow | 25.1% | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | 29.2% | 18.4% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $1.0bn of assets due within a year against $123m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $1.0bn short-term assets against $483m of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Interest not separately reported. Not assessable.
Moat
Not assessed: fewer than five years of comparable figures in the filings. AI disruption exposure for this industry: Low.
Compare with peers
- Eldorado Gold Corp statistics
- Equinox Gold Corp. statistics
- Alamos Gold Inc statistics
- SSR Mining Inc. statistics
- Royal Gold Inc statistics
Head to head: EGO vs FNVEQX vs FNVAGI vs FNVFNV vs SSRM
More: Gold stocks compared, Materials sector, rankings of US companies