BCE Inc key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, BCE Inc had return on equity of 32.6%, a net margin of 26.6%, debt equal to 151.6% of equity and a current ratio of 0.58. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2016Dec 2016 | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 69.1% | 69.1% | 68.7% | 69.1% | 69.6% | 68.9% | 68.4% | 67.9% | 68.4% | 68.4% |
| Net margin | 14.2% | 13.4% | 12.7% | 13.7% | 11.8% | 12.3% | 12.1% | 9.4% | 1.5% | 26.6% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 13.2% | 14.6% | 14.5% | 16.7% | 15.5% | 13.5% | 13.4% | 13.6% | 12.7% | 13.5% |
| Return on equity | 16.8% | 15.5% | 14.5% | 15.6% | 12.3% | 13.5% | 13.2% | 10.9% | 2.0% | 32.6% |
| Return on assets | 6.1% | 5.7% | 5.3% | 5.6% | 4.3% | 4.6% | 4.3% | 3.3% | 0.5% | 8.5% |
| Asset turnover | 0.43 | 0.42 | 0.42 | 0.41 | 0.36 | 0.38 | 0.36 | 0.35 | 0.34 | 0.32 |
| Current ratio | 0.57 | 0.53 | 0.56 | 0.56 | 0.69 | 0.68 | 0.57 | 0.65 | 0.60 | 0.58 |
| Debt to equity | 96.1% | 93.7% | 98.1% | 110.3% | 118.5% | 123.9% | 132.8% | 170.0% | 192.3% | 151.6% |
| Effective tax rate | 26.4% | 26.0% | 25.1% | 25.9% | 24.3% | 26.5% | 24.8% | 30.0% | 60.6% | 15.5% |
| R&D as % of revenue | 0.7% | 0.5% | 0.5% | 0.5% | 0.2% | 0.2% | 0.2% | 0.4% | 0.3% | 0.2% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 17.4% | 17.8% | 16.9% | 16.7% | 18.4% | 20.7% | 21.2% | 18.6% | 16.0% | 15.1% |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | 93.0% | 109.0% | 114.8% | 122.5% | 131.6% | 109.1% | 110.5% | 144.6% | 824.3% | 50.6% |
| Dividends and buybacks ÷ free cash flow | 3.7% | 6.7% | 6.5% | 3.6% | 7.4% | 9.4% | 7.9% | 6.6% | 7.6% | 6.6% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $5.4bn of assets due within a year against $9.4bn of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $5.4bn short-term assets against $32.1bn of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Debt is 152% of equity.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Debt to equity moved from 114% to 152% over five years.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt $5.0bn of operating cash flow against $25.5bn of debt.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Interest not separately reported. Not assessable.
Moat
Not assessed: fewer than five years of comparable figures in the filings. AI disruption exposure for this industry: Medium.
Compare with peers
- Telus Corp statistics
- Chunghwa Telecom Co LTD statistics
- America Movil SAB DE Cv/ statistics
- Millicom International Cellular SA statistics
- TIM S.a. statistics
Head to head: BCE vs TUBCE vs CHTAMX vs BCE
More: Integrated Telecommunication Services stocks compared, Communication Services sector, rankings of US companies