Biodexa Pharmaceuticals plc key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2023, Biodexa Pharmaceuticals plc had return on equity of -180.1%, an operating margin of -2103.4%, debt equal to 6.3% of equity and a current ratio of 1.26. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2015Dec 2015 | 2016Dec 2016 | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 94.9% | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| Operating margin | −939.5% | −729.6% | <−999% | −609.6% | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% |
| Net margin | −734.5% | <−999% | <−999% | −775.5% | <−999% | <−999% | −944.6% | <−999% | <−999% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | −970.4% | <−999% | <−999% | −706.6% | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% |
| Return on equity | −22.3% | −43.5% | −40.1% | −58.6% | −54.2% | −162.1% | −64.5% | −105.7% | −180.1% |
| Return on assets | −16.3% | −33.3% | −30.3% | −43.3% | −38.4% | −104.6% | −48.7% | −78.6% | −87.6% |
| Asset turnover | 0.02 | 0.02 | 0.02 | 0.06 | 0.03 | 0.02 | 0.05 | 0.07 | 0.05 |
| Current ratio | 2.23 | 2.39 | 2.22 | 2.27 | 2.42 | 3.10 | 6.39 | 2.47 | 1.26 |
| Debt to equity | 3.2% | 3.5% | 17.8% | 5.2% | 29.0% | 3.0% | 5.9% | 14.6% | 6.3% |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | — | — | — | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m |
| R&D as % of revenue | 633.5% | 584.3% | 842.2% | 482.9% | >999% | >999% | 805.2% | 731.2% | >999% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 67.1% | 101.8% | 71.5% | 12.6% | 46.0% | 60.9% | 55.4% | 8.9% | 6.8% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $17m of assets due within a year against $8m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $17m short-term assets against $867,332 of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Operating income of −$11m against $13,192 of interest.
Moat
Not assessed: fewer than five years of comparable figures in the filings. AI disruption exposure for this industry: Medium.
Compare with peers
More: Biotechnology stocks compared, Health Care sector, rankings of US companies