Medicinova Inc key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Medicinova Inc had return on equity of -23.1%, an operating margin of -3242.5%, debt equal to 0.0% of equity and a current ratio of 8.16. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2012Dec 2012 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2025Dec 2025 | LTMJun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Operating margin | <−999% | −253.0% | −990.0% | <−999% | <−999% |
| Net margin | <−999% | −251.0% | −857.2% | <−999% | <−999% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | <−999% | −233.1% | −745.2% | <−999% | −991.2% |
| Return on equity | −73.7% | −20.6% | −11.7% | −23.1% | −27.3% |
| Return on assets | −56.0% | −18.9% | −11.2% | −21.4% | −25.0% |
| Asset turnover | 0.04 | 0.08 | 0.01 | 0.01 | 0.02 |
| Current ratio | 4.26 | 25.42 | 15.61 | 8.16 | 8.75 |
| Debt to equity | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| R&D as % of revenue | 560.7% | 200.6% | 530.0% | >999% | 543.2% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 10.4% | 0.7% | 2.1% | 0.7% | 1.5% |
| Quarter | 2021 Q4Dec 2021 | 2023 Q3Sept 2023 | 2023 Q4Dec 2023 | 2025 Q2Jun 2025 | 2025 Q3Sept 2025 | 2025 Q4Dec 2025 | 2026 Q1Mar 2026 | 2026 Q2Jun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Operating margin | — | −114.7% | — | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | −554.3% |
| Net margin | — | −72.3% | — | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | −504.8% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | — | −137.4% | — | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | −418.8% |
| Current ratio | 25.42 | 18.92 | 15.61 | 13.26 | 9.86 | 8.16 | 9.09 | 8.75 |
| R&D as % of revenue | — | 70.0% | — | >999% | >999% | 922.6% | 641.8% | 196.3% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $26m of assets due within a year against $3m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $26m short-term assets against $201,792 of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Interest not separately reported. Not assessable.
Moat
Not assessed: fewer than five years of comparable figures in the filings. AI disruption exposure for this industry: Medium.
Compare with peers
- Shattuck Labs, Inc. statistics
- Longeveron Inc. statistics
- Dare Bioscience, Inc. statistics
- Cartesian Therapeutics, Inc. statistics
- Absci Corp statistics
Head to head: MNOV vs STTKLGVN vs MNOVDARE vs MNOV
More: Biotechnology stocks compared, Health Care sector, rankings of US companies