Cheetah Mobile Inc. key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Cheetah Mobile Inc. had return on equity of -14.6%, an operating margin of -15.6%, debt equal to 0.0% of equity and a current ratio of 1.27. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2016Dec 2016 | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 66.2% | 64.2% | 69.1% | 65.4% | 69.4% | 67.2% | 71.4% | 65.4% | 67.6% | 72.5% |
| Operating margin | −0.3% | 9.0% | 9.4% | −31.0% | −34.2% | −29.3% | −25.5% | −31.3% | −54.2% | −15.6% |
| Net margin | −1.8% | 27.1% | 23.4% | −8.8% | 26.8% | −44.8% | −58.1% | −90.1% | −76.5% | −22.4% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 7.0% | 12.2% | 6.9% | −6.7% | −3.0% | 13.1% | −48.0% | 82.2% | −29.5% | −15.0% |
| Return on equity | −2.8% | 36.5% | 24.3% | −6.0% | 9.4% | −10.0% | −16.0% | −21.7% | −28.3% | −14.6% |
| Return on assets | −1.5% | 20.5% | 15.0% | −4.1% | 6.5% | −6.6% | −10.0% | −11.1% | −11.1% | −5.0% |
| Asset turnover | 0.86 | 0.76 | 0.64 | 0.47 | 0.24 | 0.15 | 0.17 | 0.12 | 0.14 | 0.22 |
| Current ratio | 1.54 | 2.49 | 3.03 | 2.29 | 1.87 | 1.92 | 1.76 | 1.27 | 1.23 | 1.27 |
| Debt to equity | 5.0% | — | 1.1% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Effective tax rate | — | 4.0% | 9.2% | — | 19.1% | — | — | — | — | — |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 1.6% | 0.4% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | — | 45.0% | 29.6% | — | −11.1% | — | — | — | — | — |
| Dividends and buybacks ÷ free cash flow | 56.0% | — | 64.2% | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $462m of assets due within a year against $365m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $462m short-term assets against $25m of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Interest not separately reported. Not assessable.
Moat
Not assessed: fewer than five years of comparable figures in the filings. AI disruption exposure for this industry: Medium.
Compare with peers
- Buzzfeed, Inc. statistics
- Cheer Holding, Inc. statistics
- System1, Inc. statistics
- RUM Group Inc. statistics
- Phoenix New Media Ltd statistics
Head to head: BZFD vs CMCMCHR vs CMCMCMCM vs SSTCMCM vs RUM
More: Interactive Media & Services stocks compared, Communication Services sector, rankings of US companies