undamentalytics Newsletter

CN Energy Group. Inc. key statistics and ratios

In fiscal 2025, CN Energy Group. Inc. had return on equity of -11.2% and a net margin of -31.3%. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.

Financial ratios

US$ thousands unless shown otherwise. Fiscal years, plus the last twelve months (LTM) when newer.

CN Energy Group. Inc.: financial ratios, annual
Fiscal year2019Sept 20192020Sept 20202021Sept 20212022Sept 20222023Sept 20232024Sept 20242025Sept 2025
Net margin15.3%18.8%6.5%5.5%−9.7%−27.6%−31.3%
Return on equity9.3%11.4%3.0%3.5%−6.7%−14.0%−11.2%
Return on assets—7.5%2.6%2.7%−5.1%−12.5%−10.8%
Effective tax rate9.6%6.8%−25.2%−12.4%———
R&D as % of revenue5.5%2.3%1.9%2.6%1.7%0.3%0.0%

Returns use average equity or assets over the year. Return on equity is left blank when equity is negative or so small that the ratio says nothing (above ±200%); interest cover is left blank above 200 times. Price-based ratios such as P/E are on the valuation page.

Financial health

2 of 3 checks passed · September 30, 2025
What it owns · $107m
Short-term assets $66mLonger-term assets $42m
What it owes, and who funded it · $107m
Short-term liabilities $5mLonger-term liabilities $1mShareholders' equity $102m
  • Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $66m of assets due within a year against $5m of liabilities due within a year.
  • Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $66m short-term assets against $611,327 of longer-dated liabilities.
  • More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
  • Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
  • Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
  • A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
  • Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Operating income of −$11m against $168,183 of interest.

From CN Energy Group. Inc.'s latest balance sheet as filed. Checks are fixed, documented rules (methodology), counted only where the company reports the figures — a dot means the filing doesn't break the item out. Descriptions of reported data, not advice.

Moat

Not assessed: fewer than five years of comparable figures in the filings. AI disruption exposure for this industry: Low.

A rules-based reading of reported figures, not a forecast and not investment advice. How the score is built: methodology.

Compare with peers

Head to head: CNEY vs TANHASPI vs CNEYBON vs CNEY

More: Specialty Chemicals stocks compared, Materials sector, rankings of US companies

Figures from CN Energy Group. Inc.'s SEC filings (10-K and 10-Q). How we read and check them: methodology and data sources. Not investment advice. Back to CN Energy Group. Inc.