Tantech Holdings LTD key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Tantech Holdings LTD had return on equity of -25.7%, an operating margin of -31.8% and a current ratio of 6.59. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2013Dec 2013 | 2014Dec 2014 | 2015Dec 2015 | 2016Dec 2016 | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 28.0% | 31.5% | 31.5% | 32.6% | 25.0% | 27.2% | 12.1% | 10.6% | 18.9% | 19.1% | 21.8% | 20.8% | 18.6% |
| Operating margin | 19.3% | 26.2% | 17.2% | 21.7% | 10.8% | 8.0% | −18.1% | −24.5% | −15.4% | 11.2% | 8.2% | 9.3% | −31.8% |
| Net margin | 15.7% | 21.3% | 18.0% | 10.8% | 8.9% | 6.7% | −12.9% | −15.4% | −15.1% | 4.9% | 12.5% | −7.5% | −80.9% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | −3.9% | 1.3% | 9.0% | −17.7% | 2.0% | 47.7% | 29.7% | 33.2% | −15.0% | 15.7% | 11.8% | 12.3% | −15.2% |
| Return on equity | 21.1% | 26.7% | 13.1% | 5.7% | 4.2% | 1.9% | −6.6% | −6.9% | −7.8% | 2.2% | 4.6% | −2.5% | −25.7% |
| Return on assets | 14.1% | 19.0% | 10.2% | 4.7% | 3.2% | 1.4% | −5.1% | −5.6% | −6.7% | 1.9% | 4.0% | −2.3% | −23.2% |
| Asset turnover | 0.90 | 0.89 | 0.56 | 0.44 | 0.36 | 0.22 | 0.39 | 0.36 | 0.44 | 0.39 | 0.32 | 0.30 | 0.29 |
| Current ratio | 2.42 | 3.68 | 4.55 | 4.52 | 3.33 | 3.17 | 3.56 | 4.87 | 4.86 | 7.88 | 6.57 | 10.02 | 6.59 |
| Debt to equity | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 1.4% | 0.3% | — |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | 13.6x | 31.4x | 19.7x | 18.4x | 8.3x | 3.8x | n/m | n/m | n/m | 12.5x | 12.1x | 13.7x | n/m |
| Effective tax rate | 15.3% | 16.2% | 23.1% | 16.4% | 34.1% | 50.9% | — | — | — | 43.8% | 25.5% | — | — |
| R&D as % of revenue | 1.2% | 1.1% | 2.3% | 0.3% | 1.5% | 1.3% | 0.7% | 2.1% | 14.6% | 0.0% | 0.1% | 0.1% | 0.2% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 0.7% | 2.4% | 0.5% | 0.0% | 3.1% | 1.9% | 0.2% | 0.3% | 0.4% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.2% | 0.0% |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | −24.6% | 6.2% | 49.9% | −164.6% | 22.5% | 713.6% | — | — | — | 320.6% | 94.2% | — | — |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $74m of assets due within a year against $11m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $74m short-term assets against $2m of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Operating income of −$12m against $279,564 of interest.
Moat
Not assessed: fewer than five years of comparable figures in the filings. AI disruption exposure for this industry: Low.
Compare with peers
- CN Energy Group. Inc. statistics
- ASP Isotopes Inc. statistics
- Bon Natural Life Ltd statistics
- Northern Technologies International Corp statistics
- PMA Graphene Technology Group Inc. statistics
Head to head: CNEY vs TANHASPI vs TANHBON vs TANH
More: Specialty Chemicals stocks compared, Materials sector, rankings of US companies