Copart key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2026, Copart had return on equity of 16.2% and a net margin of 31.8%. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2010Jul 2010 | 2011Jul 2011 | 2012Jul 2012 | 2013Jul 2013 | 2014Jul 2014 | 2015Jul 2015 | 2016Jul 2016 | 2017Jul 2017 | 2018Jul 2018 | 2019Jul 2019 | 2020Jul 2020 | 2021Jul 2021 | 2022Jul 2022 | 2023Jul 2023 | 2024Jul 2024 | 2025Jul 2025 | 2026Jul 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Net margin | 19.6% | 19.1% | 19.7% | 17.2% | 15.4% | 19.2% | 21.3% | 27.2% | 23.1% | 29.0% | 31.7% | 34.8% | 31.1% | 32.0% | 32.2% | 33.4% | 31.8% |
| Return on equity | 13.9% | 20.3% | 32.6% | 27.2% | 20.2% | 22.3% | 31.1% | 42.1% | 77.7% | 67.4% | 32.8% | 31.1% | 26.7% | 23.3% | 20.2% | 18.6% | 16.2% |
| Return on assets | 12.3% | 14.4% | 16.3% | 14.5% | 12.6% | 13.3% | 15.7% | 21.7% | 19.5% | 24.4% | 23.3% | 23.4% | 22.1% | 20.5% | 18.0% | 16.8% | 14.8% |
| Effective tax rate | 36.7% | 36.9% | 34.5% | 35.0% | 33.8% | 33.8% | 31.7% | 10.4% | 25.7% | 16.1% | 12.6% | 16.5% | 18.7% | 20.4% | 20.5% | 18.3% | 19.3% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $5.6bn of assets due within a year against $704m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $5.6bn short-term assets against $210m of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Interest not separately reported. Not assessable.
Moat
Strong moat
How hard Copart's competitive advantage looks for rivals to wear away, judged from 10 years of its own filings: returns on capital, pricing power, profit durability, cash conversion and discipline.
- Returns on capital 20 / 20
Net income has been a median 19.1% of total assets over 10 years.
- Pricing power 15 / 20
Gross margin has been a median 42.6%, moving by 1.7 percentage points (standard deviation) across 8 years.
- Durability 20 / 20
Operating margin has been a median 36.8%; its worst year was 31.9%.
- Cash conversion 20 / 20
Free cash flow was positive in 10 of 10 years, at a median 21.7% of revenue.
- Discipline 20 / 20
The diluted share count fell 75.1% over five years; stock-based pay has been a median 1.1% of revenue.
AI disruption exposure: Medium. In this industry, AI could change how the product is made or sold, without replacing the core asset. The score above includes a 5-point deduction for that exposure (95 before it).
Compare with peers
- RB Global Inc. statistics
- Brinks Co statistics
- Rentokil Initial PLC statistics
- Thomson Reuters Corp statistics
- GEO Group Inc statistics
Head to head: CPRT vs RBABCO vs CPRTCPRT vs RTO
More: Diversified Support Services stocks compared, Industrials sector, rankings of US companies