CPI Aerostructures Inc key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, CPI Aerostructures Inc had return on equity of -3.3%, an operating margin of -0.3%, debt equal to 38.7% of equity and a current ratio of 1.89. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2009Dec 2009 | 2010Dec 2010 | 2011Dec 2011 | 2012Dec 2012 | 2013Dec 2013 | 2014Dec 2014 | 2015Dec 2015 | 2016Dec 2016 | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 | LTMJun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 25.8% | 13.9% | 25.4% | 27.1% | 22.2% | −74.9% | 16.6% | 5.3% | 22.9% | 6.0% | 7.8% | 11.1% | 14.5% | 19.6% | 19.7% | 21.3% | 15.2% | 22.5% |
| Operating margin | 13.9% | 1.6% | 14.7% | 18.9% | 14.1% | −93.3% | 8.9% | −5.3% | 12.5% | −7.9% | −5.4% | −2.6% | 3.1% | 5.9% | 7.3% | 8.3% | −0.3% | 8.2% |
| Net margin | 9.0% | 1.2% | 10.0% | 12.3% | 9.3% | −63.5% | 5.0% | −4.4% | 7.1% | −10.7% | −7.7% | −4.2% | 6.6% | 11.0% | 19.9% | 4.1% | −1.2% | 5.1% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 1.2% | −9.7% | −20.6% | −25.7% | 3.2% | −10.0% | 1.8% | −8.3% | 1.6% | −4.6% | −0.9% | −2.0% | 2.7% | 1.1% | 4.4% | 3.9% | −7.6% | −3.2% |
| Return on equity | 10.2% | 1.3% | 15.0% | 16.4% | 9.1% | −32.8% | 7.4% | −5.2% | 21.2% | — | — | — | — | — | 130.9% | 13.7% | −3.3% | 13.8% |
| Return on assets | — | 0.9% | 10.2% | 10.3% | 6.2% | −22.1% | 4.6% | −3.1% | 4.8% | −8.8% | −14.9% | −8.1% | 13.4% | 16.0% | 25.7% | 4.6% | −1.2% | 4.8% |
| Asset turnover | — | 0.78 | 1.02 | 0.83 | 0.67 | 0.35 | 0.91 | 0.69 | 0.67 | 0.82 | 1.93 | 1.95 | 2.04 | 1.46 | 1.29 | 1.14 | 0.97 | 0.96 |
| Current ratio | — | 5.28 | 2.58 | 3.01 | 3.79 | 2.62 | 2.49 | 2.73 | 2.85 | 1.93 | 1.52 | 1.26 | 1.39 | 1.43 | 1.49 | 1.65 | 1.89 | 1.97 |
| Debt to equity | 0.0% | 6.0% | 33.1% | 34.4% | 27.6% | 42.3% | 35.7% | 48.3% | — | — | — | — | — | 503.6% | 91.0% | 67.2% | 38.7% | 35.4% |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | 24.2x | 4.4x | 31.7x | 40.6x | 17.9x | n/m | 9.8x | n/m | 6.0x | n/m | n/m | n/m | 2.8x | 2.2x | 2.6x | 2.9x | n/m | 4.3x |
| Effective tax rate | 32.7% | 2.4% | 29.6% | 33.4% | 30.6% | — | 37.4% | — | 32.0% | — | — | — | 0.2% | — | — | 25.7% | — | 19.9% |
| SG&A as % of revenue | 11.8% | 12.3% | 10.7% | 8.2% | 8.1% | 18.4% | 7.6% | 10.6% | 10.4% | 13.9% | 13.2% | 13.8% | 11.4% | 13.7% | 12.4% | 13.0% | 15.5% | 14.4% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 0.3% | 0.7% | 2.1% | 0.9% | 0.8% | 1.5% | 0.2% | 0.2% | 0.3% | 0.8% | 0.5% | 0.2% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.2% | 0.5% | 0.1% | 0.1% |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | 13.5% | −803.9% | −206.1% | −208.0% | 34.0% | — | 36.8% | — | 22.4% | — | — | — | 40.6% | 9.8% | 22.0% | 95.6% | — | −63.6% |
| Quarter | 2024 Q3Sept 2024 | 2024 Q4Dec 2024 | 2025 Q1Mar 2025 | 2025 Q2Jun 2025 | 2025 Q3Sept 2025 | 2025 Q4Dec 2025 | 2026 Q1Mar 2026 | 2026 Q2Jun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 21.7% | 20.0% | 10.7% | 4.4% | 22.3% | 20.3% | 25.8% | 22.0% |
| Operating margin | 7.6% | 9.5% | −7.7% | −13.1% | 9.1% | 6.4% | 10.5% | 6.8% |
| Net margin | 3.9% | 4.5% | −8.6% | −8.7% | 5.8% | 3.6% | 7.1% | 3.9% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 3.0% | 19.9% | −18.1% | −4.0% | 1.1% | −10.8% | −2.8% | −0.0% |
| Current ratio | 1.60 | 1.65 | 1.57 | 1.50 | 1.61 | 1.89 | 1.98 | 1.97 |
| Debt to equity | — | 0.1% | — | — | — | 38.7% | — | — |
| SG&A as % of revenue | 14.1% | 10.4% | 18.4% | 17.5% | 13.2% | 13.9% | 15.3% | 15.2% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $48m of assets due within a year against $24m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $48m short-term assets against $26m of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Operating income of $6m against $1m of interest.
Moat
Weak moat
How hard CPI Aerostructures's competitive advantage looks for rivals to wear away, judged from 10 years of its own filings: returns on capital, pricing power, profit durability, cash conversion and discipline.
- Returns on capital 8 / 20
Cash operating profit has been a median 7.1% of total assets over 10 years.
- Pricing power 4 / 20
Gross margin has been a median 16.0%, moving by 5.6 percentage points (standard deviation) across 10 years.
- Durability 0 / 20
Operating margin has been a median 4.4%; its worst year was -9.7%.
- Cash conversion 8 / 20
Free cash flow was positive in 7 of 10 years, at a median 1.0% of revenue.
- Discipline 14 / 20
The diluted share count rose 7.4% over five years; stock-based pay has been a median 0.9% of revenue.
AI disruption exposure: Low. In this industry, the business rests on physical assets, regulated networks or products AI itself depends on.
Compare with peers
- Park Aerospace Corp statistics
- XTI Aerospace, Inc. statistics
- Spire Global, Inc. statistics
- Innovative Solutions & Support Inc statistics
- Ehang Holdings Ltd statistics
Head to head: CVU vs PKECVU vs XTIACVU vs SPIRCVU vs EH
More: Aerospace & Defense stocks compared, Industrials sector, rankings of US companies