Hirequest, Inc. key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Hirequest, Inc. had return on equity of 9.5%, an operating margin of 20.5%, debt equal to 0.0% of equity and a current ratio of 3.15. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2010Dec 2010 | 2011Dec 2011 | 2012Dec 2012 | 2013Dec 2013 | 2014Dec 2014 | 2015Dec 2015 | 2016Dec 2016 | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 | LTMJun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 24.7% | 22.8% | 25.3% | 25.9% | 27.8% | 26.7% | 25.4% | 25.9% | — | — | 100.0% | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| Operating margin | 2.2% | 0.6% | 2.5% | 4.7% | 7.1% | 3.0% | 1.2% | 3.8% | 56.1% | 17.5% | 36.1% | 34.0% | 51.8% | 28.1% | 12.6% | 20.5% | 28.4% |
| Net margin | −2.2% | 1.0% | 1.6% | 3.1% | 9.9% | 1.8% | 0.6% | 1.7% | 57.7% | −1.8% | 38.8% | 52.6% | 40.2% | 16.2% | 10.6% | 20.7% | 27.1% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 3.7% | −1.6% | −2.2% | 5.5% | 8.2% | 3.6% | −0.6% | 4.7% | 37.8% | 28.0% | 68.5% | 70.9% | 54.2% | 27.8% | 34.6% | 39.1% | 31.4% |
| Return on equity | — | 107.6% | 54.0% | 51.5% | 69.7% | 8.3% | 3.0% | 11.6% | 65.5% | −1.4% | 15.8% | 28.5% | 23.7% | 10.1% | 5.8% | 9.5% | 11.9% |
| Return on assets | −16.8% | 7.1% | 8.5% | 12.9% | 35.1% | 5.7% | 2.2% | 6.8% | 28.6% | −0.8% | 11.2% | 18.7% | 13.8% | 5.9% | 3.7% | 6.9% | 9.0% |
| Asset turnover | 7.47 | 6.85 | 5.38 | 4.10 | 3.54 | 3.25 | 3.72 | 3.98 | 0.50 | 0.45 | 0.29 | 0.36 | 0.34 | 0.37 | 0.35 | 0.34 | 0.33 |
| Current ratio | 1.15 | 1.19 | 1.15 | 1.45 | 3.08 | 3.99 | 3.52 | 3.75 | 1.75 | 3.36 | 4.12 | 1.96 | 1.41 | 1.44 | 2.04 | 3.15 | 2.74 |
| Debt to equity | — | — | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | — | — | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 6.5% | 27.8% | 22.5% | 10.5% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | 1.5x | 0.7x | 3.1x | 8.7x | 26.1x | 32.1x | 44.1x | — | — | 5.0x | 100.3x | 48.7x | 43.6x | 7.7x | 4.7x | 20.5x | 65.5x |
| Effective tax rate | — | — | — | — | — | 39.1% | 48.4% | 54.4% | 0.3% | — | 12.1% | 5.1% | 13.7% | 17.3% | 5.3% | 1.5% | 8.9% |
| SG&A as % of revenue | 21.6% | 21.6% | 22.4% | 20.8% | 20.1% | 23.5% | 23.9% | 21.8% | 43.2% | 79.9% | 63.0% | 59.2% | 41.6% | 64.5% | 61.9% | 67.5% | 59.1% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 0.1% | 0.3% | 0.3% | 0.1% | 0.3% | 0.1% | 0.1% | 0.1% | 3.3% | 3.2% | 10.3% | 6.2% | 0.3% | 0.3% | 0.2% | 0.2% | 0.1% |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | — | −149.9% | −136.5% | 175.1% | 82.3% | 206.1% | −101.5% | 276.5% | 65.5% | — | 176.5% | 134.9% | 134.7% | 171.5% | 326.0% | 189.4% | 115.9% |
| Dividends ÷ net income | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | 25.3% | 26.5% | 26.6% | — | — | — | — |
| Dividends and buybacks ÷ free cash flow | — | — | — | — | 0.0% | 50.3% | — | 8.1% | 0.0% | 188.1% | 15.9% | 19.7% | 19.7% | — | 0.0% | 3.1% | — |
| Quarter | 2024 Q3Sept 2024 | 2024 Q4Dec 2024 | 2025 Q1Mar 2025 | 2025 Q2Jun 2025 | 2025 Q3Sept 2025 | 2025 Q4Dec 2025 | 2026 Q1Mar 2026 | 2026 Q2Jun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Operating margin | −28.6% | 28.0% | 19.8% | 13.7% | 28.8% | 18.7% | 22.6% | 41.3% |
| Net margin | −23.4% | 27.5% | 18.2% | 13.9% | 27.1% | 22.8% | 23.9% | 33.2% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 44.2% | 106.3% | 24.5% | 33.4% | 12.0% | 93.7% | 3.8% | 19.7% |
| Current ratio | 1.68 | 2.04 | 2.18 | 2.23 | 2.40 | 3.15 | 2.69 | 2.74 |
| SG&A as % of revenue | 57.1% | 63.3% | 70.3% | 76.7% | 59.7% | 63.8% | 65.4% | 49.3% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $55m of assets due within a year against $20m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $55m short-term assets against $4m of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Operating income of $9m against $131,000 of interest.
Moat
Weak moat
How hard Hirequest's competitive advantage looks for rivals to wear away, judged from 10 years of its own filings: returns on capital, pricing power, profit durability, cash conversion and discipline.
- Returns on capital 11 / 20
Cash operating profit has been a median 9.2% of total assets over 10 years.
- Pricing power 2 / 20
Gross margin has been a median 25.9%, moving by 22.9 percentage points (standard deviation) across 9 years.
- Durability 8 / 20
Operating margin has been a median 23.3%; its worst year was 0.3%.
- Cash conversion 20 / 20
Free cash flow was positive in 10 of 10 years, at a median 24.7% of revenue.
- Discipline 14 / 20
The diluted share count rose 1.2% over five years; stock-based pay has been a median 3.5% of revenue.
AI disruption exposure: High. In this industry, the core product is information work that AI systems increasingly perform. The score above includes a 15-point deduction for that exposure (55 before it).
Compare with peers
- Click Holdings Ltd. statistics
- Baiya International Group Inc. statistics
- GEE Group Inc. statistics
- Star Equity Holdings, Inc. statistics
- Galaxy Payroll Group Ltd statistics
Head to head: CLIK vs HQIBIYA vs HQIHQI vs JOBGLXG vs HQI
More: Human Resource & Employment Services stocks compared, Industrials sector, rankings of US companies