Ideal Power Inc. key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Ideal Power Inc. had return on equity of -82.2% and a net margin of -28038.6%. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2012Dec 2012 | 2013Dec 2013 | 2014Dec 2014 | 2015Dec 2015 | 2016Dec 2016 | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 | LTMJun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Net margin | −412.4% | −504.7% | −384.6% | −245.1% | −674.2% | — | — | — | <−999% | −827.6% | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% | <−999% |
| Return on equity | — | −129.7% | −57.7% | −81.1% | −91.8% | −110.9% | −97.7% | −92.6% | — | −34.1% | −34.2% | −71.2% | −74.6% | −82.2% | −47.2% |
| Return on assets | −144.9% | −100.3% | −52.8% | −70.7% | −77.7% | −92.5% | −80.1% | −68.7% | −149.9% | −30.8% | −31.8% | −62.9% | −65.0% | −70.8% | −43.1% |
| R&D as % of revenue | 93.2% | 64.1% | 130.4% | 129.6% | 320.8% | — | — | — | 402.0% | 334.4% | >999% | >999% | >999% | >999% | >999% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $42m of assets due within a year against $1m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $42m short-term assets against $1m of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Interest not separately reported. Not assessable.
Moat
Weak moat
How hard Ideal Power's competitive advantage looks for rivals to wear away, judged from 10 years of its own filings: returns on capital, pricing power, profit durability, cash conversion and discipline.
- Returns on capital 0 / 20
Cash operating profit has been a median -25.0% of total assets over 10 years.
- Pricing power 0 / 20
Gross margin has been a median 0.0%, moving by 40.0 percentage points (standard deviation) across 10 years.
- Durability 10 / 20
Operating margin has been a median -3423.0%; its worst year was -60413.4%.
- Cash conversion 1 / 20
Free cash flow was positive in 1 of 10 years, at a median -2800.4% of revenue.
- Discipline 0 / 20
The diluted share count rose 136.1% over five years; stock-based pay has been a median 613.1% of revenue.
AI disruption exposure: Low. In this industry, the business rests on physical assets, regulated networks or products AI itself depends on.
Compare with peers
- Elong Power Holding Ltd. statistics
- Clean Energy Technologies, Inc. statistics
- Polar Power, Inc. statistics
- Linkers Industries Ltd statistics
- Novonix Ltd statistics
Head to head: ELPW vs IPWRCETY vs IPWRIPWR vs POLA
More: Electrical Components & Equipment stocks compared, Industrials sector, rankings of US companies